Investment Institute
宏觀市場觀點

每月中國及亞洲市場觀點:中國股市最壞情況已經過去?

  • 27 五月 2022 (5 分鐘閱讀)

在本月影片中,安盛投資管理新興亞洲高級經濟師姚遠邀請到中國股票投資組合經理莊瑋倫討論中國最新的股市及經濟情況。


完整字幕如下:

姚:大家好,歡迎收看我們的每月市場觀點。我是姚遠。

今天,我很高興能請到我們的中國股票投資組合經理莊瑋倫(William Chuang)來談談他的觀點,以及我們對中國經濟的最新看法。

Will,在過去十五個月,投資中國股票相當具挑戰,你認為是甚麼原因導致市場出現悲觀情緒及部分行業被大幅拋售?

莊:如果我們回看過去三年中國股市的表現,第一季的表現一直令人失望。中國於2020年爆發新冠肺炎疫情,但隨後出現驚人的復甦。在去年第一季和今年,我們看到非常相似的拋售模式。拋售源於投資者擔憂通脹和美聯儲收緊政策的步伐,以及這些事件對廣泛新興市場的影響,而中國正是當中最大的組成部分。

若我們深入探究與中國因素,大家別忘了,中國股市踏入2021年時估值極高,不料下半年卻出現增長減速、揮之不去的監管不利因素(尤其是互聯網行業),以及房地產行業償付能力因融資條件收緊而出現問題。  因此,在某程度上,估值下降的風險一直存在。

俄烏局勢令情況加劇,導致全球風險下降,投資者套現中國資產作為資金來源。 

此外,從四月份的宏觀數據來看,上海嚴格的封鎖措施不僅對國內經濟造成破壞,亦導致全球各地出現的物流問題加劇。 

Aidan,總結上述這些問題,在增長減速加上政策收緊下,宏觀基本面未有為股市帶來支持,你認爲經濟狀況有任何正面的變化嗎?

姚:與去年相比,2022年到目前為止,中國經濟狀況轉差。背後的原因眾所周知—— Omicron病例再次急增,加上北京堅持「清零」方針,已令中國經濟陷入癱瘓。根據我們的第三方數據及估計,目前的增長衝擊約為新冠肺炎疫情爆發初期的30%,這與我們對本季國內生產總值(GDP)收縮3%的預測相符。

同樣值得注意的是,勞動力市場迅速惡化,失業率升至接近歷史高位,青年失業率超過18%。我們認為,這或將成為一種強而有力的催化劑,促使政府作出更有力的政策回應。

所以,簡而言之,目前的經濟狀況欠佳,但最壞的時期似乎已經過去,我們看到恰當的政策回應正在逐步形成。但我們需要北京方面採取更多、更快的行動,真正為經濟帶來支持。

那麼Will,在中國政府高級領導層發表安撫言論後,股市最近有一些復甦跡象。你認為3月15日是市場觸底之日,還是另一個假象?

莊:此時此刻,要推動經濟持續復甦,光派「定心丸」並不足夠。  但沒錯,我認為偏重在美國以ADR形式上市的互聯網平台的MSCI中國指數可能已在3月份觸底,  而代表在岸A股的滬深300指數則可能已在4月下旬觸底。  因此,我認為最壞的情況已經過去。

如果你還記得,當我們以20年為時間框架,將滬深300的長期股票表現與美國標準普爾500指數作比較,結果顯示中國公司增長較快,表現較優勝。  因此,從長期和不同週期來看,投資中國以實現增長的論點相當站得住。

我們都知道,儘管中國有結構性增長,但當中亦有週期性因素。  目前的估值比歷史平均水平低一個標準差以上,反映我們所探討的多項壞消息已被消化,意味市場或許會對遞增的好消息作出積極的回應。

我們在中國投資了很長時間,成功的關鍵在於敢於逆向行動。  關鍵是要在這些週期性轉變前行動。把目光擴闊至多個週期對我們的決策過程有很大幫助,為我們帶來了安全邊際,讓我們在市場波動時仍能入眠。  總括而言,投資中國股市有時可能牽涉令人不安的決定,但在投資方面,這些決定也可能是最有利可圖的。

我認為中國經濟將出現週期性回升的看法,與你對今年餘下時間中國經濟前景的看法有何異同之處?封鎖措施會持續多久?

姚:這是個舉足輕重的問題。坦白說,目前影響中國經濟的因素中,沒有甚麼比新冠肺炎疫情和北京的應對措施更重要。我們認為,過去兩個月的事態發展揭示出「清零」政策的一個關鍵斷層線,即中國無法在遏制病毒和穩定經濟之間實現可持續的平衡。

因此,我們認為,北京方面必須逐步放棄目前過度依賴封鎖的做法,轉向另一種做法,但距離全面開放仍遠。換言之,我們正在尋找「清零」和「與病毒共存」之間的溫和路線,這可能包括具針對性的遏制、閉環操作、更快的檢測和疫苗接種等,儘管該方針的整體名稱仍將是「動態清零」。因此,我們預計應對新冠病毒的政策將出現改變,但考慮到其背後的政治意義,我們相信中國不會改變政策的名稱。

最近,上海和北京出現了一些變化。如果中國政府能夠繼續進行政策微調,加上被壓抑的需求和政策刺激,我們認為,第二季可能會是今年小週期的谷底,經濟增長將在下半年反彈。這可能帶動全年經濟增長超過4%,但鑒於要在抗疫和保經濟之間找到適當的平衡可能非常具挑戰性,因此這基本情境存在明顯的風險。

Will,非常感謝你參與,亦十分感謝觀眾們收看。願大家安好。

    免責聲明

    本網站由已獲香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會 (以下簡稱「證監會」) 發牌的安盛投資管理亞洲有限公司(以下簡稱「安盛投資香港」)發布,內容僅供一般傳閱及資料參考之用。按照任何適用的法律或法規,本網站並不構成與金融工具交易相關的投資研究或財務分析,也不構成安盛投資管理公司或其關聯公司作出買賣任何投資、產品或服務或進行任何相關交易的要約,並不應被視為招攬或投資、法律、稅務或任何其他建議、投資策略建議或買賣證券的個人化建議。本網站的編寫沒有考慮任何特定人士的具體情況、投資目標、財務狀況、投資知識或特殊需要,亦有可能會隨時更改而恕不另行通知。要約僅會按照相關發行文件中所披露的資料作出。如果閣下不肯定本網站所載任何資訊的含義,請諮詢獨立財務顧問或其他專業顧問。

    由於本網站內容經過簡化,所載內容並不完整並屬於意見;文中的估計和預測具主觀性,如有更改,恕不另行通知,此等意見、估計及預測亦不保證會成真。實際營運結果及成果或存在重大差異。本網站內的資料、數字、聲明、分析、預測和其他資料乃根據我們在建立本網站時的知識狀態提供。本文所載的資訊從相信屬可靠之來源獲得。安盛投資香港有理由相信該等資訊為準確、完整及最新。在法律允許的最大範圍內,安盛投資香港、其關聯公司、董事、高級人員或僱員對第三方所提供的數據(包括該等數據的準確性)概不承擔任何責任。本文件並未載有足以支持作出投資決策的資訊。所提及的公司資料(如有)只供說明之用,並且不應被視作為投資建議或招攬。

    所有投資均涉及風險,包括損失資本。投資價值以及收益可升可跌,過往表現並不保證未來回報,投資者或會無法收回最初的投資金額。投資者不應僅根據本資料作出任何投資決定。 

    本網站列出的某些服務或不適用於零售投資者。

    本網站未經證監會審閱。© 2023年安盛投資管理公司。版權所有。

Investment Institute
Macroeconomics

Monthly update on Asia & China Market: Is the worst behind us?

  • 27 May 2022 (5 min read)

In this video, our Senior Emerging Asia Economist Aidan Yao and China Equity Portfolio William Chuang discusses our latest thinking on the Chinese economy and equity market.


Full transcript:

Aidan: Hello, welcome to our monthly video. My name is Aidan Yao.

Today I’m delighted to have William Chuang, our China equity portfolio manager, on the show to talk about his view as well as our latest thinking on the Chinese economy.

So Will, investing in China equity has been pretty challenging in the last 15 months, what in your view has been the key source of the bearish sentiment and the brutal selling in some sectors?

Will: If we look at Chinese equity performance over the last 3 years, the first quarter performances have been consistently disappointing. In 2020 you had the COVID outbreak but that was followed by a spectacular recovery.  In the first quarter of last year and this year, we’ve seen a very similar pattern with selloffs initiated by concern around inflation and the pace of Fed tightening and how that will impact emerging markets broadly, of which China is the largest component.

If we drill further down on China specific factors, remember, you entered 2021 with sky high valuations only to face decelerating growth in the 2H, persistent regulatory headwind, particularly in the internet sector, and a tightening of financial conditions that lead to solvency issues in the property sector.  So to some extent, de-rating risk was always there.

These were compounded by the Russia/Ukraine situation, which led to global risk off and investors using China as a source of fund. 

Then of course, the strict lockdown measures in Shanghai wreaked havoc, on not just the domestic economy as seen in April macro data, but also made worse the logistics issues popping up around the world. 

So Aidan, summing all of those troubles up, the macro fundamental has not been supportive to equity markets given the growth declines and policy tightening, are you seeing any positive changes in the state of the economy?

Aidan: So, relative to last year, seeing a turn for the worse for the Chinese economy so far in 2022. And the driver is well known – a vicious resurgence of Omicron cases, combined with Beijing’s insistence on the ‘Zero Covid’ strategy, has paralyzed the Chinese economy. Based on our 3rd-party data, as well as we estimate the current growth shock is tracking at around 30% of that in the initial wave of the COVID flare-up, which is consistent with our forecast of GDP contracting by 3% in the current quarter.

What is also quite alarming is the rapid deterioration in the labour market, with the unemployment rate rising to near-record high and youth unemployment at above 18%. This should serve as a strong catalyst in our view for more forceful policy response

So in short, the economy is not in a great shape right now. However, it does appear that the worst is behind, and we are seeing the right policy response trickling through. We just need Beijing to do more, and fast, to truly put a floor under the economy.

So Will, the equity market has seen some signs of life lately after the soothing words from the senior leadership. Do you see March-15 as marking the bottom of the market or is it another false dawn?

Will: At this point, it will take more than soothing words to drive a sustained recovery.  But yes, I think MSCI China, which is heavy on internet platforms listed as ADRs in the US, probably bottomed in March.  And the CSI 300, which represents on-shore A-shares, probably bottomed in late April.  So with that, I do think the worst is behind us.

If you recall when we ran the numbers comparing the long term equity performance of CSI300 with its US comparable, the S&P500, on a 20 year time frame, it showed that the faster growth of Chinese companies did deliver outperformance.  So the thesis of investing in China for growth holds up quite well over the long term and through cycles.

Now, we both know that even though China is a structural growth story, there is a cyclical element to this.  With the current valuation trending more than 1 standard deviation below historical average, the market is telling us that a lot of the bad news we discussed are priced in, meaning the market is likely to respond positively to incremental good news.

We’ve been investing in China for a long time, and the key to being successful really comes down to having the stomach to be a little contrarian.  The most important thing is to be positioned ahead of these cyclical turns. It helps a great deal in our decision making process when we are looking at a trough multiple, which gives us a margin of safety so we can sleep at night.  It comes down to making, perhaps, uncomfortable decisions at times, but in investing, those can be the most profitable ones as well.

How does my view of a cyclical upturn mesh with your outlook of the Chinese economy for the remainder of this year. How long is the lockdown going to be with us?

Aidan: That is a million-dollar question – there are, quite frankly, there are no other drivers of the Chinese economy that are more important right now, right now, than the COVID situation and Beijing’s response to it. We think the development over the past two months have revealed a critical fault line of the ‘Zero Covid’ policy, which is its inability to strike a sustainable balance between virus containment and economic stability.

Hence, we think Beijing has to move gradually away from the current approach, which relies excessively on lockdowns, towards something that is also far from full liberalisation. In other words, we are looking for a middle-of-the-road approach – in between “Zero Covid” and “living with Covid” – is likely, which could feature targeted containment, closed-loop operation, faster testing and vaccination and so on – even though the overall name of the strategy will remain “Dynamic Zero Covid”. Hence, we expect changes to the implementation of COVID policy, but not the name given its political significance.

Some of these changes have already occurred in Shanghai and Beijing lately. And if the authorities can continue the policy fine-tuning, in conjunction with pent-up demand and policy stimulus, we think Q2 could mark the trough of this year’s mini-cycle with growth rebounding healthily in the 2nd half. This could bring full year growth to above 4%, although there are clear risks to that base case given that finding the right balance between containing COVID and saving the economy could prove pretty challenging.

Thank you very much Will for coming on the show, and to our viewers, thank you very much for watching and take care.

    Disclaimer

    This website is published by AXA Investment Managers Asia Limited (“AXA IM HK”), an entity licensed by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (“SFC”), for general circulation and informational purposes only. It does not constitute investment research or financial analysis relating to transactions in financial instruments, nor does it constitute on the part of AXA Investment Managers or its affiliated companies an offer to buy, sell or enter into any transactions in respect of any investments, products or services, and should not be considered as solicitation or investment, legal, tax or any other advice, a recommendation for an investment strategy or a personalised recommendation to buy or sell securities under any applicable law or regulation. It has been prepared without taking into account the specific personal circumstances, investment objectives, financial situation, investment knowledge or particular needs of any particular person and may be subject to change at any time without notice. Offering may be made only on the basis of the information disclosed in the relevant offering documents. Please consult independent financial or other professional advisers if you are unsure about any information contained herein.

    Due to its simplification, this publication is partial and opinions, estimates and forecasts herein are subjective and subject to change without notice. There is no guarantee such opinions, estimates and forecasts made will come to pass. Actual results of operations and achievements may differ materially. Data, figures, declarations, analysis, predictions and other information in this publication is provided based on our state of knowledge at the time of creation of this publication. Information herein may be obtained from sources believed to be reliable. AXA IM HK has reasonable belief that such information is accurate, complete and up-to-date. To the maximum extent permitted by law, AXA IM HK, its affiliates, directors, officers or employees take no responsibility for the data provided by third party, including the accuracy of such data. This material does not contain sufficient information to support an investment decision. References to companies (if any) are for illustrative purposes only and should not be viewed as investment recommendations or solicitations.

    All investment involves risk, including the loss of capital. The value of investments and the income from them can fluctuate and that past performance is no guarantee of future returns, investors may not get back the amount originally invested. Investors should not make any investment decision based on this material alone. 

    Some of the services listed on this Website may not be available for offer to retail investors.

    This Website has not been reviewed by the SFC. © 2022 AXA Investment Managers. All rights reserved.