Investment Institute
建構投資組合

駕馭市場波動:一筆過投資抑或定期投資

  • 19 四月 2022 (7 分鐘閱讀)

過去數年,投資者的心情就像坐過山車般,金融市場的波幅創2008年環球金融危機以來的新高。

2020年初,新冠疫情導致環球股市遭大幅拋售。但政府和央行推出前所未見的刺激措施,加上疫苗造就的樂觀情緒提振了股市,帶動MSCI世界指數全年升15.9%。1

2021年,投資者再度經歷顛簸,但大部分市場最終擺脫疫情封鎖,成功達致復甦,MSCI世界指數在該年錄得了21.8%升幅。

然而,隨著俄羅斯入侵烏克蘭、油價飆升,加上各國央行開始收緊貨幣政策以應付世紀通脹,令看似平靜的2022年初,再度陷入新一輪動盪。

波動指數急升

我們開發出一項獨有的動盪指數,根據波動性和相關性追蹤數據變動——如指標急升,便代表市場正陷入避險情緒。我們的數據可以追溯至20多年前至2000年初,這讓我們可以分析當時的市場氣氛。

如預期所料,在新冠病毒宣佈為全球大流行後,投資者在2020年3月經歷了一段劇烈波動,指數高見88.44,為2008年金融危機以來最高水平。

但在整個2021年,波幅仍然相對溫和,我們的指數在年內有41周處於個位數區間。期間,市場仍在擔心疫情和經濟復甦步伐,且通脹處於歷史高位,短期內亦有其他干擾市場的事件(如美國總統大選及前總統特朗普拒絕承認落敗)。

截至最近,俄羅斯在3月初入侵烏克蘭,推動我們的波幅指數由前一周的8.79,躍升至21.65,反映了波幅在一夜之間飆升。

一筆過投資,還是定期投資?

市場波動期間,許多投資者總會問應該在何時入市。但嘗試捕捉市場時機是一種高風險策略,投資者需要推遲投入資金,期望價格會進一步下跌,或希望在賣出時期望能夠在周期低位再次買入,這可能會錯過一些最為強勁的潛在升幅。

雖然過去表現不應視為未來回報的指標,但如投資者在40年前將1,000美元投入MSCI世界指數,這項總投資將增長至22,039美元,截至2021年12月底,年化總回報相當於7.8%。但如投資者錯過期內五個最佳的交易日,其年化回報率將會是6.7%,回報遠低於前者,只有14,931美元。2

我們認為,與其嘗試尋找最佳入市時機,倒不如定期向市場注入資金,這才是大部分投資者的明智選擇。

當然,您可以選擇一筆過地投資。採取這種策略,代表您的資金將即時投入市場,您將可從任何價格上漲之中受益。但同樣地,您亦將面對任何下行趨勢,如在您投資後價格隨即下跌,您的投資價值便會減少。例如在2020年初投資環球股票的投資者,很快便感受到疫情爆發最初數月帶來的打擊。

但如採取定期投資,您便不必糾結於應該在甚麼時候投資,及嘗試「把握市場時機」。反之,不論價格升跌,您每個月都會把資金投入市場。

平均成本法的吸引力

當您向市場投入資金,便可以從「平均成本法」受惠,此策略有助您改善長遠投資回報,您可以在價格低時買入更多股票,並在價格昂貴時減少購買。

透過此策略,您最終支付的成本為該期間內的平均價格,有助降低市場波動的影響。因此,具有長遠目光及定期投資的投資者,波幅甚至可以構成潛在優勢。

例如您在10個月內每月向一隻基金投資100元。如投資組合在第一個月的單位價為10元,您投資的100元便可買入10股。

如價格在其後五個月跌至7元,相同投資額將可在每個月買入14股。如價格在餘下四個月回升至12元,同樣的100元投資額只可以在期內每個月買入8股。

如您每月投資100元,最終將可在10個月內買入合共112股。然而,如您在股價為10元時,在10個月期間之初一筆過投資1,000元,您只可以擁有100股。3

假設股價在10個月完結時回升至10元,您的一筆過投資仍然價值1,000元;對比之下,如您採取定期投資,112股股票的價值將達到1,120元,盈利為120元。

當然,也可以發生相反的情況,如股價在同一時期上漲,按月投資可以買入的股票會更少,令回報降低。不論您採用哪種方法,請緊記沒有人知道甚麼時候才是最佳投資時機——但致力於長期投資,將使您的資金得到最佳增長機會。

長期投資

雖然全球已經接種超過112.5億劑新冠疫苗4 ,但一些國家的個案再次增加,並實施了新一輪封鎖措施(如2022年3月/4月的中國),再次有數百萬人被限制留在家中——這可能對全球金融市場產生重大影響,而商業活動受限制或停止,或會使經濟收縮。5

過去數年,全球頻頻爆發地緣政治問題,由中美貿易戰以至俄羅斯入侵烏克蘭,均顯示了波幅有能力迅速恢復。

我們亦要考慮一些資產類別在市場不確定時往往更具相關性,這只會增加不穩定性。

沒有資產類別可以一直領先,因此,透過投資多元資產類別,並使潛在投資回報多元化,應可讓您做好準備,在任何時候迎接市場波動。

對長期投資的投資者而言,定期投資可幫助他們安然渡過市場波動——價格波動甚至可能有利這類投資者。

  • MSCI全球指數。以美元計。
  • * MSCI及安盛投資管理研究。所有計算以截至2021年12月止過去40年的MSCI指數為基礎
  • 安盛投資管理2021年
  • 世界衛生組織,數據截至2022年4月6日
  • China:Businesses shut as officials widen Covid lockdowns - BBC News

Related Articles

股票

股票展望:是時候回歸優質股和增長股

  • by Chris Iggo
  • 25 七月 2022 (7 分鐘閱讀)
CIO觀點

熱浪來襲 市場漸見光明

  • by Chris Iggo
  • 22 七月 2022 (5 分鐘閱讀)
固定收益

通脹見頂:投資者應怎樣部署

  • by Jonathan Baltora
  • 18 七月 2022 (7 分鐘閱讀)

    免責聲明

    本網站由已獲香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會 (以下簡稱「證監會」) 發牌的安盛投資管理亞洲有限公司(以下簡稱「安盛投資香港」)發布,內容僅供一般傳閱及資料參考之用。按照任何適用的法律或法規,本網站並不構成與金融工具交易相關的投資研究或財務分析,也不構成安盛投資管理公司或其關聯公司作出買賣任何投資、產品或服務或進行任何相關交易的要約,並不應被視為招攬或投資、法律、稅務或任何其他建議、投資策略建議或買賣證券的個人化建議。本網站的編寫沒有考慮任何特定人士的具體情況、投資目標、財務狀況、投資知識或特殊需要,亦有可能會隨時更改而恕不另行通知。要約僅會按照相關發行文件中所披露的資料作出。如果閣下不肯定本網站所載任何資訊的含義,請諮詢獨立財務顧問或其他專業顧問。

    由於本網站內容經過簡化,所載內容並不完整並屬於意見;文中的估計和預測具主觀性,如有更改,恕不另行通知,此等意見、估計及預測亦不保證會成真。實際營運結果及成果或存在重大差異。本網站內的資料、數字、聲明、分析、預測和其他資料乃根據我們在建立本網站時的知識狀態提供。本文所載的資訊從相信屬可靠之來源獲得。安盛投資香港有理由相信該等資訊為準確、完整及最新。在法律允許的最大範圍內,安盛投資香港、其關聯公司、董事、高級人員或僱員對第三方所提供的數據(包括該等數據的準確性)概不承擔任何責任。本文件並未載有足以支持作出投資決策的資訊。所提及的公司資料(如有)只供說明之用,並且不應被視作為投資建議或招攬。

    所有投資均涉及風險,包括損失資本。投資價值以及收益可升可跌,過往表現並不保證未來回報,投資者或會無法收回最初的投資金額。投資者不應僅根據本資料作出任何投資決定。 

    本網站列出的某些服務或不適用於零售投資者。

    本網站未經證監會審閱。© 2022年安盛投資管理公司。版權所有。

Investment Institute
Portfolio Construction

Riding out market volatility: Lump sum versus regular investing

  • 19 April 2022 (7 min read)

The past few years have been something of a rollercoaster for investors, with financial market volatility at its highest level since the 2008 global financial crisis.

The coronavirus pandemic promoted a sharp sell-off in global equity markets in early 2020. But unprecedented stimulus from governments and central banks and optimism over a vaccine for COVID-19 boosted stocks, helping the MSCI World Index end the year 15.9% higher.1

Investors subsequently endured another topsy-turvy year in 2021 but one that ultimately helped cement the recovery from pandemic-driven lockdowns in most major markets, as the MSCI World delivered a 21.8% gain over the year.

However, what looked like a potentially calmer start to 2022 gave way to renewed volatility as Russia invaded Ukraine, oil prices soared while central banks started tightening monetary policy in the face of record inflation.

Volatility index spikes

We have developed a proprietary turbulence index, which tracks the evolution of parameters based on volatility and correlation - if the measure jumps sharply, it implies that the market is entering a risk-off mood. Our data goes back more than 20 years, to the start of 2000, and allows us to analyse market sentiment over that time.

Unsurprisingly, in March 2020 after coronavirus was declared a global pandemic, investors endured a period of heavy volatility, with the index hitting 88.44, a level not reached since the 2008 financial crisis.

However, throughout 2021, volatility remained relatively benign with our index in single-digit territory for 41 weeks of the year. That was despite ongoing concerns over the path of the pandemic and economic recovery, coupled with inflation at historic highs, and other events that rattled markets in the short-term, such as the US Presidential election and former Donald Trump’s refusal to concede defeat.

More recently, Russia’s invasion of Ukraine at the beginning of March prompted our turbulence index to jump to 21.65 from 8.79 the week before – underlining the extent to which volatility can spike almost overnight.

Lump sum or regular investing?

One question many investors have during periods of market volatility is when to invest. But attempting to time the market is a risky strategy as investors who delay putting their capital to work in the hope that prices will fall further, or who sell in the hope that they will be able to buy again at the bottom of the cycle, risk missing out on some of the potentially best gains.

For example - and while past performance should not be viewed as a guide to future returns - if an investor put $1,000 into the MSCI World Index 40 years ago, they would since have seen that lump sum grow to $22,039, equivalent to an annualised total return of 7.8%, as at end December 2021. However, if they missed just five of the best days over that period, their annualised return would have been 6.7%, leaving them with a far lower $14,931.2

In our view, rather than trying to find the best possible entry point, drip-feeding money into the market on a regular basis is a sensible option for many investors.

Of course, you could invest a lump sum. By taking this route, it means your money will be put to work immediately, so you’ll benefit from any price increases. But equally, you’ll also be exposed to any downward movements, so if prices drop soon after you invest, your investment will fall in value too. For example, anyone who invested in global equities at the start of 2020 would have quickly felt the brunt of the market falls during the early months of the pandemic.

However, by investing regularly, it means you don’t have to face the decision of working out exactly when you should invest and trying to ‘time the market’. Instead, your money will go into the market every month, regardless of whether prices are falling or rising.

The draw of pound-cost averaging

By drip-feeding money into the market, it means you potentially benefit from ‘pound-cost averaging’, which helps to smooth out investment returns over time, as this means you purchase more shares when prices are low, and less when they are expensive.

Therefore, over time, you’ll end up paying the average price during that period, helping smooth out market volatility. As such, for investors with a long-term perspective, who are investing regularly, volatility can even be a potential advantage.

For example, if you invested €100 a month over a 10-month period in a fund. If the portfolio’s unit price is €10 in the first month, your €100 investment would buy you 10 shares.

If the price dropped to €7 for the next five months, your same investment would buy you 14 shares in each of these months. If it subsequently rose to €12 for the remaining four months, the same €100 investment would only buy you eight shares in each of these months.

In total, you’d end up buying 112 shares over the 10-month period if you invested €100 a month. If, however, you’d invested a lump sum of €1,000 at the start of the 10-month period when the share price was €10, you’d have 100 shares.3

Assuming the share price recovered to €10 at the end of the 10 months, your lump sum investment would still be worth €1,000, whereas if you’d invested regularly, your 112 shares would be worth €1,120, leaving you €120 better off.

Of course, the reverse could happen, and if share prices rose over the same period, your monthly investment would buy you fewer shares, leaving you worse off at the end. Whichever approach you take, bear in mind that no-one knows when the best time to invest will be - but committing to investing over the long term will give your money the best possible chance to grow.

Investing for the long term

While there have been over 11.25 billion vaccine doses administered4 against COVID-19, cases of the virus are on the rise again in some countries and new lockdowns – such as in China in March/April 2022, which saw millions confined to their homes once again – can have a significant impact on global financial markets, as business activity is restricted or halted causing economies to potentially contract.5

And geopolitical issues have flared up with unwelcome frequency over the past few years, from the US/China trade war to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, demonstrating the extent to which volatility can swiftly return.

Consider too that asset classes tend to be more correlated during periods of market uncertainty, which only serves to add to the instability.

No asset class is going to win out all the time, so by diversifying across multiple asset classes and sources of potential investment returns it means you should hopefully be suitably prepared for any market wobbles, whenever they arise.

For investors with a long-term approach, regular investments can potentially help them ride out periods of market volatility – and perhaps even mean price fluctuations work in their favour.

  • MSCI World Index. In US dollar terms.
  • * MSCI and AXA IM Research. All calculations done using MSCI indices over the last 40 years ending December 2021
  • AXA IM 2021
  • World Health Organization, data as of 6 April 2022
  • China: Businesses shut as officials widen Covid lockdowns - BBC News

Related Articles

Viewpoint CIO

Windmills of your mind

  • by Chris Iggo
  • 24 June 2022 (7 min read)
Viewpoint CIO

Introducing the AXA IM Investment Institute

  • by Chris Iggo
  • 10 June 2022 (7 min read)
Viewpoint CIO

Summer blooms or temporary displays?

  • by Chris Iggo
  • 27 May 2022 (7 min read)

    Disclaimer

    This website is published by AXA Investment Managers Asia Limited (“AXA IM HK”), an entity licensed by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (“SFC”), for general circulation and informational purposes only. It does not constitute investment research or financial analysis relating to transactions in financial instruments, nor does it constitute on the part of AXA Investment Managers or its affiliated companies an offer to buy, sell or enter into any transactions in respect of any investments, products or services, and should not be considered as solicitation or investment, legal, tax or any other advice, a recommendation for an investment strategy or a personalised recommendation to buy or sell securities under any applicable law or regulation. It has been prepared without taking into account the specific personal circumstances, investment objectives, financial situation, investment knowledge or particular needs of any particular person and may be subject to change at any time without notice. Offering may be made only on the basis of the information disclosed in the relevant offering documents. Please consult independent financial or other professional advisers if you are unsure about any information contained herein.

    Due to its simplification, this publication is partial and opinions, estimates and forecasts herein are subjective and subject to change without notice. There is no guarantee such opinions, estimates and forecasts made will come to pass. Actual results of operations and achievements may differ materially. Data, figures, declarations, analysis, predictions and other information in this publication is provided based on our state of knowledge at the time of creation of this publication. Information herein may be obtained from sources believed to be reliable. AXA IM HK has reasonable belief that such information is accurate, complete and up-to-date. To the maximum extent permitted by law, AXA IM HK, its affiliates, directors, officers or employees take no responsibility for the data provided by third party, including the accuracy of such data. This material does not contain sufficient information to support an investment decision. References to companies (if any) are for illustrative purposes only and should not be viewed as investment recommendations or solicitations.

    All investment involves risk, including the loss of capital. The value of investments and the income from them can fluctuate and that past performance is no guarantee of future returns, investors may not get back the amount originally invested. Investors should not make any investment decision based on this material alone. 

    Some of the services listed on this Website may not be available for offer to retail investors.

    This Website has not been reviewed by the SFC. © 2022 AXA Investment Managers. All rights reserved.