最新欺詐警告(於2023年4月更新)。如要了解更多資料及如何保障自己,請按

技術創新如何幫助預防全球水資源危機

  • 19 三月 2021 (5 分鐘閱讀)

  • 世界各地人口增長與高速城市化進程使得水資源供不應求
  • 到2050年,全球淡水需求量預計將比現在增加三分之一,形勢嚴峻,宜早行動
  • 新技術正在創建涵蓋水循環各個環節的解決方案

3月22日星期一是世界水資源日,其設立旨在提高公眾對全球水資源危機的意識。安盛投資管理投資組合經理Amanda O’Toole希望藉此機會深入探討與獲取水資源有關的幾個主要問題,並就技術如何創建真正能夠預防全球水資源短缺的解決方案提出自己的看法。

何為水資源短缺挑戰?

水資源對於滿足生活的基本需求至關重要,從居家到建築物供暖,從工廠生產工藝到醫療保健,可謂不可或缺。但人口增長,尤其是世界各地高速城市化進程使得水資源供不應求。不幸的是,約40億人一年中至少有一個月生活在沒有可靠供水的環境中。1

氣候變化的影響真實存在:天氣模式正在急劇變化,導致乾旱等極端天氣事件頻發,繼而加劇水資源短缺及水源污染。

普遍存在的水污染問題進一步加劇該等挑戰:全球約80%的廢水大部分未經處理便排放2 並回到自然環境,污染河流、湖泊及海洋,從而導致約18億迫不得已而飲用該等水源的人口出現潛在健康問題。3

倘若我們繼續袖手旁觀,無疑會給原本有限的自然資源帶來巨大壓力,恐會給社會留下後患。到2050年,全球淡水需求量預計將比現在增加三分之一,形勢嚴峻,宜早行動。4

水資源部門為何會給投資者帶來機會?

聯合國(UN)已認識到事態緊急,其可持續發展目標(SDG) 6 承諾人人享有清潔飲水及衛生設施,儘管估計每年需要耗資1,140億美元才能實現該目標。5 這需要政府及私營部門鼎力相助、慷慨解囊。這一趨勢為該領域企業提供商機,可透過開發創新解決方案作出積極貢獻,以實現該等全球目標。

公司又該如何提供水資源部門創新技術?

聯合國稱,地球僅0.25%的水資源可飲用。6 其餘為鹽水,或被污染,或被極地冰冠、冰川及永凍層封存。依當前趨勢判斷,到2030年,家庭、工業及農業用水需求量預計將超過供應量的40%。7 集水、海水淡化/淨化、抽水、維修及更換老化基建、物流及分配,甚至包括監控用水量以計量、計費及提高效率在內的整條價值鏈應運而生。

在水循環各個環節營運的各類公司正在開發最新技術,以應對水資源短缺挑戰,我們認為這一趨勢正在創造引人注目的投資機會。以下是在水資源部門引領創新的公司示例:

  • 水資源及廢水管理

Xylem*製造並提供涵蓋集水、配水及用水到水回流至自然環境各個環節的水資源及廢水應用解決方案。  其產品包括水泵及廢水泵、處理及測試裝置、工業泵、閥門、熱交換器及分配裝置。

  • 水處理

Evoqua Water*可滿足各行各業客戶的關鍵用水需求,包括能源發電、食品及飲料安全與生產、醫療保健及製造業。其解決方案包括消毒、過濾及高純水系統。

Thermo Fisher*製造一系列水質產品,包括水淨化系統、電化學分析儀(查看pH值及離子濃度)、儀表及配件。  

Danaher*提供高階淨化技術,以幫助分析、處理及管理從政府及廢水處理設施到湖泊、溪流及海洋的全球水資源。

  • 監控用水量

Itron*是一間致力於有效利用公用設施的技術服務公司。其智慧設備及分析解決方案可提供水計量及用水量、配水及漏水等領域的智慧技術。

是否還有支持水資源部門的其他相關領域?

由於全球人口增長,財富隨之增加,許多人沉迷於大量食肉的飲食習慣。牛肉等紅肉生產所需水量大約比豬肉或雞肉多11倍。8 但是,堅持純素食、素食或「彈性素食」飲食習慣的消費者——據報導,全球70%的人口已減少或消減其肉類攝入量9 ——可幫助節約水資源並限制碳足跡。

新技術正在提供相應的解決方案,以滿足更加可持續的農業及糧食生產需求,進一步提高節水及用水效率。

  • TWVrb25uZW7lj4pIb2Vrc3RyYe+8jOOAjDQw5YSE5Lq65q2j6Z2i6Ieo5Zq06YeN5rC06LOH5rqQ55+t57y65ZWP6aGMKEZvdXIgYmlsbGlvbiBwZW9wbGUgZmFjaW5nIHNldmVyZSB3YXRlciBzY2FyY2l0eSnjgI3vvIwyMDE25bm044CCU2NpZW5jZSBBZHZhbmNlZO+8jOesrDLmnJ/nrKwy5Y23
  • 44CKMjAxN+W5tOiBr+WQiOWci+S4lueVjOawtOizh+a6kOeZvOWxleWgseWRiuOAiw==
  • 44CKMjAxNeW5tOiBr+WQiOWci+S4lueVjOawtOizh+a6kOeZvOWxleWgseWRiuOAiw==
  • 44CKMjAxOeW5tOiBr+WQiOWci+S4lueVjOawtOizh+a6kOeZvOWxleWgseWRiuOAiw==
  • 5pWZ56eR5paH57WE57mU
  • 5pWZ56eR5paH57WE57mU
  • 5LiW55WM6YqA6KGM5Lyw6KiI77yMMjAxNeW5tDLmnIg=
  • 6IGU5ZCI5Zu9546v5aKD6KaP5YiS572y77yMMjAxNuW5tDPmnIgyMeaXpQ==
  • 5oiS5o6J54mb6IKJ5bCH5q+U5pS+5qOE5rG96LuK5rib5bCR5pu05aSa56Kz6Laz6LehKEdpdmluZyB1cCBiZWVmIHdpbGwgcmVkdWNlIGNhcmJvbiBmb290cHJpbnQgbW9yZSB0aGFuIGNhcnMp77yM44CK6KGb5aCx44CL77yMMjAxNOW5tDfmnIg=
  • 5Y2D56an5LiA5Luj5q2j5Zyo5o6o5YuV5YWo55CD5oiS6IKJ6KGM5YuVKE1pbGxlbm5pYWxzIGFyZSBkcml2aW5nIHRoZSB3b3JsZHdpZGUgc2hpZnQgYXdheSBmcm9tIG1lYXQp77yM44CK56aP5biD5pav44CL77yMMjAxOOW5tDPmnIg=

    免責聲明

    本網站由已獲香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會 (以下簡稱「證監會」) 發牌的安盛投資管理亞洲有限公司(以下簡稱「安盛投資香港」)發布,內容僅供一般傳閱及資料參考之用。按照任何適用的法律或法規,本網站並不構成與金融工具交易相關的投資研究或財務分析,也不構成安盛投資管理公司或其關聯公司作出買賣任何投資、產品或服務或進行任何相關交易的要約,並不應被視為招攬或投資、法律、稅務或任何其他建議、投資策略建議或買賣證券的個人化建議。本網站的編寫沒有考慮任何特定人士的具體情況、投資目標、財務狀況、投資知識或特殊需要,亦有可能會隨時更改而恕不另行通知。要約僅會按照相關發行文件中所披露的資料作出。如果閣下不肯定本網站所載任何資訊的含義,請諮詢獨立財務顧問或其他專業顧問。

    由於本網站內容經過簡化,所載內容並不完整並屬於意見;文中的估計和預測具主觀性,如有更改,恕不另行通知,此等意見、估計及預測亦不保證會成真。實際營運結果及成果或存在重大差異。本網站內的資料、數字、聲明、分析、預測和其他資料乃根據我們在建立本網站時的知識狀態提供。本文所載的資訊從相信屬可靠之來源獲得。安盛投資香港有理由相信該等資訊為準確、完整及最新。在法律允許的最大範圍內,安盛投資香港、其關聯公司、董事、高級人員或僱員對第三方所提供的數據(包括該等數據的準確性)概不承擔任何責任。本文件並未載有足以支持作出投資決策的資訊。所提及的公司資料(如有)只供說明之用,並且不應被視作為投資建議或招攬。

    所有投資均涉及風險,包括損失資本。投資價值以及收益可升可跌,過往表現並不保證未來回報,投資者或會無法收回最初的投資金額。投資者不應僅根據本資料作出任何投資決定。 

    本網站列出的某些服務或不適用於零售投資者。

    本網站未經證監會審閱。© 2024年安盛投資管理公司。版權所有。

• AXA IM
  • How new innovations in technology could help prevent a global water crisis

How new innovations in technology could help prevent a global water crisis

  • 19 March 2021 (5 min read)

  • Population growth and increasing urbanisation around the world are outpacing water supply
  • By 2050, global demand for freshwater is expected to be one-third greater than it is today, emphasising the urgent action needed
  • New technologies are creating solutions across the entire water cycle

On Monday 22nd March, World Water Day will be celebrated as a way of raising awareness of the global water crisis. To mark this occasion, Amanda O’Toole, Portfolio Manager at AXA Investment Managers, delves into some of the main issues surrounding access to water, and provides her thoughts on how technology is creating genuine solutions that could play a part in preventing a worldwide water shortage.

What is the water scarcity challenge?

Water is fundamental to meeting life’s basic needs – from uses in homes to heating buildings, aiding in factory production processes and healthcare. But population growth – and particularly increasing urbanisation around the world – is outpacing water supply. Sadly, around 4bn people live without a reliable water supply during at least one month of the year.1

The effects of climate change are real: weather patterns are drastically changing, leading to extreme weather events such as droughts, which, in turn, is exacerbating water scarcity and contaminating water supplies.

Further compounding these challenges is the widespread problem of water pollution: around 80% of the world’s wastewater is dumped2  – largely untreated – back into the environment, polluting rivers, lakes and oceans, and creating potential health problems for around 1.8bn people whose situations force them to use such water.3

If nothing changes, this will undoubtedly put a huge strain on what is already a finite amount of natural resources – and the longer-term costs to society could be even more severe. By 2050, global demand for freshwater is expected to be one-third greater than it is today, emphasising the urgent action needed.4

Why could the water sector be an opportunity for investors?

In recognition of the need for action, The United Nations’ (UN) Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) 6 pledges to provide clean water and sanitation for all, although an estimated $114bn per year to 2030 is needed in order to achieve this goal.5  This will require support and funding from both governments and the private sector. This creates the opportunity for businesses in this field to make positive contributions through developing innovative solutions in an effort to reach these global targets.

So, how are companies providing innovation in the water sector?

According to the UN, only 0.25% of the planet’s water is usable.6  The rest is salt water, polluted or locked up in polar ice caps, glaciers and permafrost. Under current trends, demand for water for domestic, industrial and agricultural use is expected to exceed supply by 40% by 2030.7  This creates a whole value chain across water collection, desalination/purification, pumping, repairing and replacing ageing infrastructure, logistics and distribution, and even monitoring water usage for metering, billing and efficiency.

A diverse universe of companies operating across the entire water cycle are developing exciting technologies to address the water scarcity challenge, which we believe is creating compelling investment opportunities. Below are some examples of companies leading innovation in the water sector:

  • Water and wastewater management

Xylem* manufactures and provides solutions for water and wastewater applications across the cycle from collection, distribution and use to the return of water to the environment. Its products include water and wastewater pumps, treatment and testing equipment, industrial pumps, valves, heat exchangers and dispensing equipment.

  •  Water treatment

Evoqua Water* provides customers with critical water needs for a variety of industries including energy generation, food & beverage safety and production, healthcare, and manufacturing. Its solutions include disinfection, filtration and high purity water systems.

Thermo Fisher* manufactures a range of water quality products including water purification systems, electrochemistry analysers (looking at pH and ion concentration), meters and accessories.   

Danaher* provides advanced purification technology to help analyse, treat and manage the world’s water from government and wastewater treatment facilities to lakes, streams and oceans.

  • Monitoring water usage

Itron* is a technology and services company dedicated to the effective use of utility services. Its smart device and analytics solutions provide intelligence around areas such as water metering and use, water distribution and water leakages.

Are there other related areas supporting the water sector?

Alongside a growing population worldwide is increasing wealth, with many people indulging in more meat-intensive diets. Red meat like beef, for example, requires roughly 11 times more water to produce than pork or chicken.8  However, consumers who embrace vegan, vegetarian or ‘flexitarian’ diets –70% of the world’s population have reportedly reduced or cut out their meat intake9  – can help contribute to conserving water resources and limiting carbon footprint.

New technologies are providing solutions to address the need for more sustainable farming and food production, which could create further efficiencies around water preservation and use.

  • Mekonnen and Hoekstra, Four billion people facing severe water scarcity, 2016. Science Advanced, Vol. 2, No. 2
  • United Nations, World Water Development Report, 2017
  • United Nations, World Water Development Report, 2015
  • United Nations, World Water Development Report, 2019
  • Educational, Scientific & Cultural Organization
  • Educational, Scientific & Cultural Organization
  • World Bank estimates, February 2015
  • UN Environment Programme, 21 March 2016
  • Giving up beef will reduce carbon footprint more than cars, The Guardian, July 2014
  • Millennials are driving the worldwide shift away from meat, Forbes, March 2018

    Not for Retail distribution

    This document is intended exclusively for Professional, Institutional, Qualified or Wholesale Clients / Investors only, as defined by applicable local laws and regulation. Circulation must be restricted accordingly.

    This promotional communication does not constitute investment research or financial analysis relating to transactions in financial instruments as per MIF Directive (2014/65/EU), nor does it constitute on the part of AXA Investment Managers or its affiliated companies an offer to buy or sell any investments, products or services, and should not be considered as solicitation or investment, legal or tax advice, a recommendation for an investment strategy or a personalized recommendation to buy or sell securities.

    Due to its simplification, this document is partial and opinions, estimates and forecasts herein are subjective and subject to change without notice. There is no guarantee that forecasts made will come to pass. Data, figures, declarations, analysis, predictions and other information in this document is provided based on our state of knowledge at the time of creation of this document. Whilst every care is taken, no representation or warranty (including liability towards third parties), express or implied, is made as to the accuracy, reliability or completeness of the information contained herein. Reliance upon information in this material is at the sole discretion of the recipient. This material does not contain sufficient information to support an investment decision.

    Before making an investment, investors should read the relevant Prospectus and the Key Investor Information Document / scheme documents, which provide full product details including investment charges and risks. The information contained herein is not a substitute for those documents or for professional external advice.

    The products or strategies discussed in this document may not be registered nor available in your jurisdiction. Please check the countries of registration with the asset manager, or on the web site https://www.axa-im.com/en/registration-map, where a fund registration map is available. In particular units of the funds may not be offered, sold or delivered to U.S. Persons within the meaning of Regulation S of the U.S. Securities Act of 1933. The tax treatment relating to the holding, acquisition or disposal of shares or units in the fund depends on each investor’s tax status or treatment and may be subject to change. Any potential investor is strongly encouraged to seek advice from its own tax advisors.

    Past performance is not a guide to current or future performance, and any performance or return data displayed does not take into account commissions and costs incurred when issuing or redeeming units. The value of investments, and the income from them, can fall as well as rise and investors may not get back the amount originally invested. Exchange-rate fluctuations may also affect the value of their investment. Due to this and the initial charge that is usually made, an investment is not usually suitable as a short term holding.

    Disclaimer

    This website is published by AXA Investment Managers Asia Limited (“AXA IM HK”), an entity licensed by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (“SFC”), for general circulation and informational purposes only. It does not constitute investment research or financial analysis relating to transactions in financial instruments, nor does it constitute on the part of AXA Investment Managers or its affiliated companies an offer to buy, sell or enter into any transactions in respect of any investments, products or services, and should not be considered as solicitation or investment, legal, tax or any other advice, a recommendation for an investment strategy or a personalised recommendation to buy or sell securities under any applicable law or regulation. It has been prepared without taking into account the specific personal circumstances, investment objectives, financial situation, investment knowledge or particular needs of any particular person and may be subject to change at any time without notice. Offering may be made only on the basis of the information disclosed in the relevant offering documents. Please consult independent financial or other professional advisers if you are unsure about any information contained herein.

    Due to its simplification, this publication is partial and opinions, estimates and forecasts herein are subjective and subject to change without notice. There is no guarantee such opinions, estimates and forecasts made will come to pass. Actual results of operations and achievements may differ materially. Data, figures, declarations, analysis, predictions and other information in this publication is provided based on our state of knowledge at the time of creation of this publication. Information herein may be obtained from sources believed to be reliable. AXA IM HK has reasonable belief that such information is accurate, complete and up-to-date. To the maximum extent permitted by law, AXA IM HK, its affiliates, directors, officers or employees take no responsibility for the data provided by third party, including the accuracy of such data. This material does not contain sufficient information to support an investment decision. References to companies (if any) are for illustrative purposes only and should not be viewed as investment recommendations or solicitations.

    All investment involves risk, including the loss of capital. The value of investments and the income from them can fluctuate and that past performance is no guarantee of future returns, investors may not get back the amount originally invested. Investors should not make any investment decision based on this material alone. 

    Some of the services listed on this Website may not be available for offer to retail investors.

    This Website has not been reviewed by the SFC. © 2022 AXA Investment Managers. All rights reserved.