• 首頁
  • 亞洲信貸熱潮來襲 短存續期債券乘風而起

亞洲信貸熱潮來襲 短存續期債券乘風而起

  • 13 九月 2021 (5 分鐘閱讀)

疫苗接種於去年底開始推行,激發投資者對經濟復甦的樂觀情緒。不過,經濟復甦顯然並不平衡,因而衍生出各種風險,從影響融資渠道的高債務水平,到潛在的加息和通脹升溫,以至全球經濟增長放緩。

這些風險在固定收益領域造成投資窘境,任何投資者腦海中都會閃現三道問題:

  • 在零利率環境下,我該如何創造理想回報?
  • 宏觀前景日趨動盪不穩,我該如何做好準備?
  • 在美國和其他許多市場,加息似乎勢在必行,我該如何對沖加息風險?

面對收益不足、緊縮政策步步逼近、增長態勢難以捉摸,要達成上述目標,需要因時制宜。

緩解下行風險、分散投資和套息都是滿足特定投資需要的方法。其中,亞洲短存續期債券可望為固定收益投資者現時的窘境,提供強而有力的解決辦法。

三管齊下

亞洲短存續期債券投資組合的首要任務應包括:分散投資不同的國家和行業,同時採用信貸紀律、不受追求收益的誘惑。

在當前的投資背景下,這些目標使策略能夠釋除投資者對收益率、不確定性和對沖的擔憂。

解決收益率問題的方法有二,一是投資者可以延長存續期,沿着收益率曲線下移 (但在加息環境中,此舉是有風險的),二是他們可以沿着信貸曲線下移,例如從政府債券轉移至信貸,又或是從發達國家轉移至新興市場。

在新興市場領域,亞洲繼續吸引資本流入,原因是收益率向來較可觀、宏觀基本面不俗且信貸特徵良好。因此,投資於這個高收益地區可以為投資者提供急需的較高收益率。

當說到應對難以預測的高風險市場環境時,投資者需要一個靈活有彈性的策略,務求在回落時蒙受較少的損失,在升市時又不會犧牲太多上升空間。

在市場受壓時期,短存續期債券投資組合的波動性通常較低,流動性則相對較高。這是因為定期到期債券佔整體投資組合的比例較高,因此有潛力提供定期現金流,避免被迫拋售。

為緩解加息影響,短存續期債券投資組合會有系統地將風險預算從利率風險重新配置到信貸風險 (若採用主動完善的信貸分析,後者屬於較容易管理的風險)。

簡而言之,此舉使它們比長存續期債券更不容易受利率和信貸息差變動的影響。

鑑於利率和債券價格的變動通常呈相反方向,加息環境或會重創長存續期債券,對其構成挑戰。與此同時,由於接近到期的債券能更有把握地估算付息和資本支出,其價格往往比存續期較長的債券更貼近票面價格。

有效的亞洲短存續期投資組合應具備的主要特徵:

  • 靈活配置,投資於投資級和高收益債券,可酌情決定冒險/避險環境下的配置。
  • 存續期不超過3年,藉以防範加息,並可能使到期債券的現金流以較高利率再投資於市場
  • 把握中國市場,並對其他新興市場進行必要的分散投資,以充分把握亞洲區的增長走勢
  • 將ESG因素納入投資決策,過濾掉重大ESG風險

充分利用亞洲的信貸資質

綜觀市場前景,能夠把握亞洲信貸投資機遇的短期策略,對於投資者的投資組合格外具吸引力。

畢竟,該區擁有持久的相對價值,尤其是在固定收益領域。

舉例來說,亞洲匯聚高增長經濟體,而且發債規模迅速擴大、種類不斷增加。此外,區內的信貸風險概況良好,亞洲強勢貨幣信貸市場的評級高於全球同類市場,評級趨勢呈正偏態。

收益率亦明顯較高。例如,亞洲信貸的息差溢價向來遠高於全球信貸,因此在信貸風險相若下,收益率有可能更高。將同等信貸評級的亞洲信貸與全球信貸相比較,即可見一班,前者的收益率不但較高,而且波動性較低。

中國扮演的重要角色亦不容忽視。中國是全球第二大的固定收益市場,市場規模約為17萬億美元1,由於中國國債獲納入債券指數,不斷推動中國加快融入全球市場,其固定收益市場還有很長的增長之路。

值得注意的是,較高的政府債券名義收益率、信貸息差的重大相對價值,以及在強勢貨幣投資組合中持人民幣倉位的分散投資好處,都可以提高表現。

另外,中國債券市場包括離岸美元和離岸人民幣債券,它們的收益率往往比在岸同類債券高,只要對信貸做足功課,便可望創造額外的超額收益來源。

亞洲市場充滿活力、瞬息萬變,投資種類多元化,要充分利用中國乃至全亞洲的機遇,嚴格篩選是關鍵。不過,採取主動只是一個開始,投資者還必須專注於應付不斷變化的利率和通脹環境,同時尋求回報。

    免責聲明

    本網站由已獲香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會 (以下簡稱「證監會」) 發牌的安盛投資管理亞洲有限公司(以下簡稱「安盛投資香港」)發布,內容僅供一般傳閱及資料參考之用。按照任何適用的法律或法規,本網站並不構成與金融工具交易相關的投資研究或財務分析,也不構成安盛投資管理公司或其關聯公司作出買賣任何投資、產品或服務或進行任何相關交易的要約,並不應被視為招攬或投資、法律、稅務或任何其他建議、投資策略建議或買賣證券的個人化建議。本網站的編寫沒有考慮任何特定人士的具體情況、投資目標、財務狀況、投資知識或特殊需要,亦有可能會隨時更改而恕不另行通知。要約僅會按照相關發行文件中所披露的資料作出。如果閣下不肯定本網站所載任何資訊的含義,請諮詢獨立財務顧問或其他專業顧問。

    由於本網站內容經過簡化,所載內容並不完整並屬於意見;文中的估計和預測具主觀性,如有更改,恕不另行通知,此等意見、估計及預測亦不保證會成真。實際營運結果及成果或存在重大差異。本網站內的資料、數字、聲明、分析、預測和其他資料乃根據我們在建立本網站時的知識狀態提供。本文所載的資訊從相信屬可靠之來源獲得。安盛投資香港有理由相信該等資訊為準確、完整及最新。在法律允許的最大範圍內,安盛投資香港、其關聯公司、董事、高級人員或僱員對第三方所提供的數據(包括該等數據的準確性)概不承擔任何責任。本文件並未載有足以支持作出投資決策的資訊。所提及的公司資料(如有)只供說明之用,並且不應被視作為投資建議或招攬。

    所有投資均涉及風險,包括損失資本。投資價值以及收益可升可跌,過往表現並不保證未來回報,投資者或會無法收回最初的投資金額。投資者不應僅根據本資料作出任何投資決定。 

    本網站列出的某些服務或不適用於零售投資者。

    本網站未經證監會審閱。© 2022年安盛投資管理公司。版權所有。

• AXA IM
  • A short duration ride on Asia’s robust credit wave

A short duration ride on Asia’s robust credit wave

  • 13 September 2021 (5 min read)

The start of vaccine rollouts late last year triggered optimism about a rebound in economies. Yet recovery is clearly uneven, in turn breeding a range of risks from high debt levels impacting access to funding, to likely rises in interest rates and inflation, to a slower pace of growth globally.

Within fixed income, this has created an investment dilemma. Three immediate questions jump to mind for any investor:

  • How do I generate desired returns in a zero rate environment? 
  • How do I prepare for an increasingly volatile and uncertain macro outlook?
  • How do I hedge against rising rates, which seem inevitable in the US along with many other markets?

Achieving these goals requires an approach that is well-suited for a world of scarce yield, looming policy tightening and elusive growth momentum.

Downside mitigation, diversification and carry are all options to address a specific investment need. Within these, short duration Asian bonds offer a potentially compelling answer to the current predicament for fixed income investors.

A three-pronged solution

The priorities for a short duration Asian bonds portfolio should include country and sector diversification while applying credit discipline, removing the temptation to chase yield.

Against today’s investment backdrop, these objectives enable such a portfolio to address concerns over yield, uncertainty and hedging.

There are two ways to tackle the yield issue. First, investors can migrate down the yield curve by extending duration – although this is risky in a rising rate environment. Secondly, they can migrate down the credit curve, for example moving from government bonds to credit, or from developed to emerging markets (EM).

Within the EM universe, Asia continues to lure capital flows due to historically more attractive yields, good macro fundamentals and favourable credit characteristics. Investing in this high-yielding region, therefore, can deliver the much-needed yield pick-up to investors.

When it comes to managing an unpredictable – and risky – market environment, a flexible and resilient strategy is needed, which would potentially suffer less during drawdowns without sacrificing much of the upside during the rally.

A short duration bonds portfolio typically has lower volatility and relatively high liquidity during stressed periods. This is a result of having a larger percentage of an overall portfolio in bonds that mature regularly and, therefore, offer potential for regular cashflow that could alleviate the need for forced selling.

To buffer against rising rates, meanwhile, a short duration bonds portfolio systematically reallocates the risk budget from interest rate risk to credit risk – a risk more manageable with active and robust credit analysis.

Put simply, this creates less sensitivity to rate and credit spread movements compared with debt that has a longer duration.

Given that rates and bond prices typically move in opposite directions, an environment of rising rates is challenging for long duration bonds, which might face significant losses. At the same time, the price of bonds nearer maturity tends to be closer to par than longer duration bonds, due to an ability to estimate coupon and capital payments with greater certainty.

Key features of an effective short duration portfolio

A short duration Asian bond portfolio with specific characteristics may offer investors the potential for outperformance:

  • Flexible allocation to offer exposure to investment grade and high yield bonds, enabling discretion to position for both risk-on and risk-off environments
  • Duration of less than 3 years to guard against rising rates – and potentially enabling cashflows from maturing bonds to be reinvested at higher rates in the market
  • A focused exposure in China with important diversification into other emerging markets  to capitalise on the region’s growth trajectory
  • Being ESG integrated into the investment decision-making to filter out major ESG risks

Capitalising on Asia’s credit credentials

A short duration approach that can tap into the Asian credit story is particularly appealing for investor portfolios amid the wider market landscape.

Ultimately, there is persistent relative value in the region, especially in fixed income.

For example, Asia is populated by high-growth economies coupled with rapidly expanding and diversifying debt issuance. The region also has a favourable credit risk profile; the Asian hard currency credit market is more highly rated than its global counterparts and rating trends are positively skewed.

Higher yields are apparent, too. For instance, Asian credits have historically offered a meaningful spread premium over their global peers, which allows potential yield enhancement for similar credit risk. This has been seen in terms of Asian credit providing a yield pick-up versus global credit for an equivalent credit rating, and with lower volatility.

The role of China is also too big to ignore. As the world’s second-largest fixed income market at around US$17 trillion[1], the market’s growth has a long way to develop further, fuelled by the ongoing boost from bond index inclusion in accelerating integration into global markets.

Notably, high nominal government bond yields, significant relative value in credit spreads and diversification benefits of RMB exposure in hard currency portfolios can enhance performance.

Further, China’s bond markets include offshore USD and CNH issues, which often offer higher yields compared with onshore counterparts. This creates a potential additional alpha source for the right credit research.

Selectivity is the key to making the most of these opportunities, not just in China, but also across Asia, given the diversity in the region’s dynamic and ever-evolving markets. But being active is just the starting point; investors must also seek yield while staying focused on managing a changing environment in rates and inflation.

    Disclaimer

    This website is published by AXA Investment Managers Asia Limited (“AXA IM HK”), an entity licensed by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (“SFC”), for general circulation and informational purposes only. It does not constitute investment research or financial analysis relating to transactions in financial instruments, nor does it constitute on the part of AXA Investment Managers or its affiliated companies an offer to buy, sell or enter into any transactions in respect of any investments, products or services, and should not be considered as solicitation or investment, legal, tax or any other advice, a recommendation for an investment strategy or a personalised recommendation to buy or sell securities under any applicable law or regulation. It has been prepared without taking into account the specific personal circumstances, investment objectives, financial situation, investment knowledge or particular needs of any particular person and may be subject to change at any time without notice. Offering may be made only on the basis of the information disclosed in the relevant offering documents. Please consult independent financial or other professional advisers if you are unsure about any information contained herein.

    Due to its simplification, this publication is partial and opinions, estimates and forecasts herein are subjective and subject to change without notice. There is no guarantee such opinions, estimates and forecasts made will come to pass. Actual results of operations and achievements may differ materially. Data, figures, declarations, analysis, predictions and other information in this publication is provided based on our state of knowledge at the time of creation of this publication. Information herein may be obtained from sources believed to be reliable. AXA IM HK has reasonable belief that such information is accurate, complete and up-to-date. To the maximum extent permitted by law, AXA IM HK, its affiliates, directors, officers or employees take no responsibility for the data provided by third party, including the accuracy of such data. This material does not contain sufficient information to support an investment decision. References to companies (if any) are for illustrative purposes only and should not be viewed as investment recommendations or solicitations.

    All investment involves risk, including the loss of capital. The value of investments and the income from them can fluctuate and that past performance is no guarantee of future returns, investors may not get back the amount originally invested. Investors should not make any investment decision based on this material alone. 

    Some of the services listed on this Website may not be available for offer to retail investors.

    This Website has not been reviewed by the SFC. © 2022 AXA Investment Managers. All rights reserved.