• 首頁
  • 展望2022:利率──上行壓力
Investment Institute
年度展望

展望2022:利率──上行壓力

  • 16 十二月 2021 (5 分鐘閱讀)

要點

  • 由於美國聯儲局仍然控制着市場波動和期限溢價,2021年利率及通脹預期對10年期美國國債孳息率的影響相當溫和。
  • 然而,若通脹更具結構性,其動態可能會加快貨幣政策正常化的過程,不但對政府債券市場有影響,還會對風險較高的資產類別和貨幣產生影響
  • 總括而言,我們的分析顯示有若干因素可導致2022年美國國債孳息率上升。

最後一道防線:期限溢價

在2021年期間,我們看到利率和通脹預期對美國國債孳息率作出正面貢獻,而期限溢價僅略微上升。圖 1顯示,10年期盈虧平衡通脹率和美國聯儲局(Fed)利率預期均上升75個基點。事後回溯,實質均衡利率(R-star/中性利率,無法直接觀察到)亦可能有所上升,反映有助提高生產力的公共投資。結果,美國國債年初至今的表現為-2.9%,而美國通脹保值債券指數的回報率為6.2%。

圖1:推動美國國債孳息的因素

Image

資料來源:彭博、安盛投資管理研究,截至2021年11月15日

期限溢價值得我們的特別關注,尤其是因為它對非常規貨幣政策的敏感性。長久以來,市場參與者都認為聯儲局可能是全球最大的波動性賣家。依我們所見,這是量化寬鬆(QE)的長期功能,也就是說聯儲局透過防止期限溢價再膨脹至歷史平均水平,暗中實施某程形式的孳息曲線控制。美元掉期期權隱含波動率與美國國債期限溢價(圖 2)之間的關係為我們提供了債券風險溢價理論基礎的經驗實證。有理由預期聯儲局將平穩地縮減買債,從而避免市場波動以至期限溢價曲線迅速正常化。

圖2:波動率與孳息率之間的關係

Image

資料來源:彭博、安盛投資管理研究,截至2021年11月15日

環球量化寬鬆:離懸崖又近了一步

縮減購債過程絕非聯儲局獨有,除了日本央行外,目前所有系統性央行都正在討論以自己的方式走向輕微量化寬鬆環境。宏觀審慎政策、貨幣政策和財政政策之間的同步達到前所未見的水平,對各國央行的資產負債表規模產生了影響(圖 3)。與因應環球金融危機而實施的政策組合不同,為應對新冠肺炎疫情而推行的策略旨在局部繞過銀行業接觸實體經濟,從而直接觸及企業和家庭,對通脹產生更直接的影響。

圖3:前所未見的政策協調

Image

資料來源:彭博、安盛投資管理研究,截至2021年11月15日

我們強調,工資至今為止對促成整體物價壓力的作用不大,而有關推動通脹的各種因素,在此恕不詳述。當然,有調查表示部分地區的工資壓力正在迅速增強,並可能經由物價途徑傳遞。各國央行可能必須在達到政策正常化的標準後盡快加息,從而縮小工資與政策利率之間的差距(圖 4)。風險在於,它們看似落後於通脹曲線的時間愈長(目前有些政策策略明確要求如此),就必須愈快解除寬鬆政策立場。

圖4:工資壓力上升

Image

資料來源:彭博、安盛投資管理研究,截至2021年11月15日

歐洲政府債券市場的結構改變

鑑於央行資產負債表相對於經濟的規模,認為非常規貨幣政策有時會歪曲債券市場的價格訊號功能不無道理。在歐元區亦可看到量化寬鬆對債券市場的影響,歐洲央行的公營機構購買計劃和新冠疫情緊急資產購買計劃合共去除了政府債券市場大約55%的存續期風險(圖 5)。

圖5:存續期風險去除過度?

Image

資料來源:歐洲央行、IHS Markit、安盛投資管理研究,截至2021年11月15日

不幸地,歐洲央行資產負債表的巨大規模可能會給歐元區政府債券市場帶來一種與流動性相關的新風險。因此,我們無法排除未來幾個月更頻繁地出現抵押品短缺的可能性,歐洲央行可能需干預回購市場,這種情況在年底時有發生。這些事件某程度上亦與一級市場和投資者風險管理需求之間的相互作用有關。

總結

在本篇利率概述及展望的最後部分,我們列出了決定我們對美國國債孳息率走向看法的主要因素(圖 6):考慮到當前的市況和宏觀格局,中期來看,美國國債孳息率傾向上升多於下降。

圖6:美國國債孳息率質化計分卡

Image

我們以三個額外的觀察結果來作結:

  1. 絕對孳息水平與受規管債券需求(即產自遵守金融條例的資金流動)有關,例子之一是,資產/負債估值與保險公司對政府債券的需求之間存在複雜的關係。因此,我們認為這類需求充其量會交錯出現,而不會成為影響債券價格的長期因素。
  2. 孳息率上升的速度與整體風險偏好/避險亦有關。聯儲局2013年的縮減買債、德國國債2015年的風險價值衝擊,正是速動市場影響交易商倉庫和處理風險能力的絕佳例子。即使投資期更長,類似規模變化亦可能只對其他資產類別產生有限的影響。
  3. 幾乎按定義就能夠知道,央行之間的時間差將影響跨市場息差,以及貨幣估值和對沖成本。我們已觀察到兩年期國債對德國短期公債(Schatz)息差擴大與歐元/美元匯率下降之間有密切關聯。因此,各國央行提高利率下限的準確順序和時間,是理解和把握2022年國際債券市場間相對價值的關鍵。

    免責聲明

    本網站由已獲香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會 (以下簡稱「證監會」) 發牌的安盛投資管理亞洲有限公司(以下簡稱「安盛投資香港」)發布,內容僅供一般傳閱及資料參考之用。按照任何適用的法律或法規,本網站並不構成與金融工具交易相關的投資研究或財務分析,也不構成安盛投資管理公司或其關聯公司作出買賣任何投資、產品或服務或進行任何相關交易的要約,並不應被視為招攬或投資、法律、稅務或任何其他建議、投資策略建議或買賣證券的個人化建議。本網站的編寫沒有考慮任何特定人士的具體情況、投資目標、財務狀況、投資知識或特殊需要,亦有可能會隨時更改而恕不另行通知。要約僅會按照相關發行文件中所披露的資料作出。如果閣下不肯定本網站所載任何資訊的含義,請諮詢獨立財務顧問或其他專業顧問。

    由於本網站內容經過簡化,所載內容並不完整並屬於意見;文中的估計和預測具主觀性,如有更改,恕不另行通知,此等意見、估計及預測亦不保證會成真。實際營運結果及成果或存在重大差異。本網站內的資料、數字、聲明、分析、預測和其他資料乃根據我們在建立本網站時的知識狀態提供。本文所載的資訊從相信屬可靠之來源獲得。安盛投資香港有理由相信該等資訊為準確、完整及最新。在法律允許的最大範圍內,安盛投資香港、其關聯公司、董事、高級人員或僱員對第三方所提供的數據(包括該等數據的準確性)概不承擔任何責任。本文件並未載有足以支持作出投資決策的資訊。所提及的公司資料(如有)只供說明之用,並且不應被視作為投資建議或招攬。

    所有投資均涉及風險,包括損失資本。投資價值以及收益可升可跌,過往表現並不保證未來回報,投資者或會無法收回最初的投資金額。投資者不應僅根據本資料作出任何投資決定。 

    本網站列出的某些服務或不適用於零售投資者。

    本網站未經證監會審閱。© 2022年安盛投資管理公司。版權所有。

• AXA IM
  • Outlook 2022: Rates – Upward Pressure
Investment Institute
Annual Outlook

Outlook 2022: Rates – Upward Pressure

  • 16 December 2021 (5 min read)

Key points

  • The effect of interest rate and inflation expectations on 10-year US Treasury yields has been rather modest in 2021, as the Federal Reserve remains in control of market volatility and the term premium
  • However, inflation dynamics could – if proven more structural – accelerate the process of monetary policy normalisation, with consequences not only for government bond markets, but also for riskier asset classes and currencies
  • Overall, our analysis suggests that several factors might contribute to higher Treasury yields over the course of 2022.

The last line of defence: The term premium

During 2021 we have seen a positive contribution to US Treasury yields both from interest rate and inflation expectations, while the term premium is only marginally higher. Exhibit 1 shows the 75 basis-point rise in both 10-year breakevens and Federal Reserve (Fed) rate expectations. Ex-post, the real equilibrium rate (R-star, which cannot be observed directly) may also have risen somewhat, reflecting productivity-augmenting public investments. As a result, US Treasuries have delivered a -2.9% performance year-to-date, against a 6.2% return for the Treasury Inflation-Protected Security index.

Exhibit 1: Factors driving Treasury yields

Image

Source: Bloomberg and AXA IM Research, 15 November 2021

The term premium merits our special attention, not least because of its sensitivity to unconventional monetary policy. Market participants have long shared the view that the Fed might be the largest seller of volatility in the world. In our view, this is the longer-term function of quantitative easing (QE), equivalent to saying that the Fed is implicitly conducting a form of yield curve control by preventing the term premium from reflating back to its historical averages. The relationship between US dollar swap option implied volatility and the Treasury term premium (Exhibit 2) provides us with an empirical validation of the theoretical foundations of bond risk premia. It is reasonable to expect the Fed to conduct a smooth tapering in order to avoid a quick normalisation of market volatility and hence of term premia across the curve.

Exhibit 2: The relationship between volatility and yields

Image

Source: Bloomberg and AXA IM Research, 15 November 2021

Global QE: One step closer to the cliff

The process of tapering is by no means unique to the Fed, as all systemic central banks – except the Bank of Japan – are currently discussing their own form of transitioning to a lesser QE world. The unprecedented level of synchronisation between macroprudential, monetary and fiscal policies has had its effect on the size of central banks’ balance sheets (Exhibit 3). In contrast to the policy mix put in place in response to the global financial crisis, the strategies implemented to cope with COVID-19 have been designed to partially bypass the banking sector in reaching out to the real economy, thus reaching firms and households directly with more direct consequences on inflation.

Exhibit 3: Unprecedented policy co-ordination

Image

Source: Bloomberg and AXA IM Research, 15 November 2021

Without entering into a lengthy discussion on the various drivers of inflation, we stress that the contribution of wages to overall price pressure has been modest so far. Of course, surveys suggest that wage pressure is building rapidly in some regions and might pass through the price pipeline. Central banks might have to hike rates as soon as policy normalisation criteria are met, thus narrowing the gap between wages and policy rates (Exhibit 4). The risk is that the longer they appear to fall behind the inflation curve, as now explicitly required by some policy strategies, the faster they might have to unwind accommodative policy stances.

Exhibit 4: Wage pressure mounting

Image

Source: Bloomberg and AXA IM Research, 15 November 2021

The changing structure of the European government bonds market

It is not unreasonable to believe that unconventional monetary policy may at times distort bond markets’ price signalling function, given the size of central banks’ balance sheets relative to the economy. The effect of QE on the bond markets can also be seen in the Eurozone, where the combination of the European Central Bank’s (ECB) Public Sector Purchase Programme and the Pandemic Emergency Purchase Programme has extracted something like 55% of the government bond market’s duration risk (Exhibit 5).

Exhibit 5: Duration extraction going too far?

Image

Source: ECB, IHS Markit and AXA IM Research, 15 November 2021

Unfortunately, the ECB balance sheet’s extraordinary size might introduce a new breed of risks linked to liquidity into euro government bond markets. Therefore, we cannot rule out more frequent collateral scarcity episodes in the months to come, which could require the ECB to intervene on repo markets, as is often the case going into year-end. These events are partly also related to the interplay between the primary market and investors’ risk management needs.

Putting the pieces together

To conclude our brief overview and outlook of the rates space, we list the main factors determining our view for the direction of Treasury yields (Exhibit 6): Given the current market and macro setup, Treasury yields are more likely to rise than to fall within a medium-term horizon.

Exhibit 6: Qualitative Treasury yield scorecard

Image

 

We conclude with three additional observations:

  1. The absolute yield level matters for regulated bond demand, i.e. flows originating from compliance with financial regulation. One example is the complex relationship between asset/liability valuations and the demand for government bonds by insurance companies. Therefore, we believe that this type of demand is going to be staggered at best and won’t be a permanent force acting upon bond prices.
  2. The speed at which yields rise also matters for overall risk appetite/aversion. The Fed’s 2013 tapering and the German bund’s 2015 value-at-risk shock are perfect examples of the effect of fast markets on dealers’ ability to warehouse and to process risk. A similar scale variation, albeit spanning over a longer time horizon, might have had only a limited spill-over into other asset classes.
  3. Almost by definition, lags between central banks will affect cross-market spreads as well as currencies’ valuation and hedging costs. We are already observing a close link between the widening two-year Treasury versus Schatz spread and the declining euro/dollar exchange rate. The precise sequence and timing of central banks lifting off their rates floor is therefore key in understanding and capturing the relative value between international bond markets in 2022.

    Disclaimer

    This website is published by AXA Investment Managers Asia Limited (“AXA IM HK”), an entity licensed by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (“SFC”), for general circulation and informational purposes only. It does not constitute investment research or financial analysis relating to transactions in financial instruments, nor does it constitute on the part of AXA Investment Managers or its affiliated companies an offer to buy, sell or enter into any transactions in respect of any investments, products or services, and should not be considered as solicitation or investment, legal, tax or any other advice, a recommendation for an investment strategy or a personalised recommendation to buy or sell securities under any applicable law or regulation. It has been prepared without taking into account the specific personal circumstances, investment objectives, financial situation, investment knowledge or particular needs of any particular person and may be subject to change at any time without notice. Offering may be made only on the basis of the information disclosed in the relevant offering documents. Please consult independent financial or other professional advisers if you are unsure about any information contained herein.

    Due to its simplification, this publication is partial and opinions, estimates and forecasts herein are subjective and subject to change without notice. There is no guarantee such opinions, estimates and forecasts made will come to pass. Actual results of operations and achievements may differ materially. Data, figures, declarations, analysis, predictions and other information in this publication is provided based on our state of knowledge at the time of creation of this publication. Information herein may be obtained from sources believed to be reliable. AXA IM HK has reasonable belief that such information is accurate, complete and up-to-date. To the maximum extent permitted by law, AXA IM HK, its affiliates, directors, officers or employees take no responsibility for the data provided by third party, including the accuracy of such data. This material does not contain sufficient information to support an investment decision. References to companies (if any) are for illustrative purposes only and should not be viewed as investment recommendations or solicitations.

    All investment involves risk, including the loss of capital. The value of investments and the income from them can fluctuate and that past performance is no guarantee of future returns, investors may not get back the amount originally invested. Investors should not make any investment decision based on this material alone. 

    Some of the services listed on this Website may not be available for offer to retail investors.

    This Website has not been reviewed by the SFC. © 2022 AXA Investment Managers. All rights reserved.