晶片短缺:並非數千億美元就能解決的問題

  • 16 十二月 2021 (5 分鐘閱讀)

Image

各國政府公布斥數以十億美元計的資金解決全球晶片短缺問題,但這不太可能在現時有所幫助,而且只會擾亂未來的優先事項。

繼美國和歐盟之後,日本亦宣布對半導體行業投入大量資金,作為其55.7萬億日圓(約合4,880億美元)經濟紓困計劃的一部分。傑富瑞(Jefferies)的分析師指出,今明兩年的總支出可能接近2,000億美元。目前,資金的分配仍然模糊不清,但大多數資金用於未來科技,目標是為半導體供應鏈的絕大部分發展提供資金。

雖然這是值得讚揚的,但它不會解決當前的問題──永遠都不會。這些目的不明確的龐大公共撥款往往會分散各處,最終阻礙實際的科技進步。 此外,我們一直以來聞說的短缺問題主要關乎舊晶片技術(有充分證據支持)。

以日本為例,撥給晶片製造業的68億美元中,很大一部分將由新成立的新能源及工業技術發展組織分配。日本政府在其行業策略文件中表示正在努力提升用於各種電子系統的尖端邏輯半導體、借助「下一代」技術引進本土製造,並加強「設備和材料等阻塞點技術」,以支持全球半導體供應鏈。 

問題是: 這些都不是需要幫助的領域。 試想想用於製造晶片的半導體生產設備(SPE),在週期內的這個階段資助該領域並不明智。晶片的製造時間長達三個月,而生產這些機器需時更久。與此同時,該行業的週期性很強、總是存在結構性短缺,而且80%的市場份額集中於一小撮業者身上。這意味,等到它們都同步時,我們要不落得產能過剩的下場,要不就是機器不再適合我們所需要的晶片。

自出現晶片荒以來,對SPE機器的需求急劇上升。根據野村的資料,代表着需求的北美地區訂單於10月份按年上升36%,前一個月則上升38%。事實上,分析師將增長預期從35.4%上調至39.5%,今年設備總銷售額有望接近1,000億美元。

日本有幾家全球領先的半導體生產公司,包括東京威力科創和SCREEN控股公司,它們的盈利隨着訂單的增加而持續提升。這是因為在早期出現明顯的短缺跡象時,晶片製造商就開始訂購更多機器,這些機器一向按照謹慎調整的平衡運行。SPE製造商提高了產能,當中有些製造商指出,它們並沒有遇到會阻礙發貨的問題;其出口亦持續上升。在這個時間點,補貼這些製造商不會增添多大的價值。事實上,亞洲的晶片相關公司目前表現出樂觀的態度。美光科技公司行政總裁Sanjay Mehrotra最近表示,全球半導體短缺危機趨於緩和。 

毫無疑問,為未來投資是值得的。 但是,如果政府不瞄準真正的瓶頸來源或技術落後的領域,那就白白浪費資金了。事實上,按照工業技術發展的速度,新的融資應該會日益瞄準超越先進、更接近「最尖端」(bleeding edge)的行業。

趁政策制定者對持續近一年的晶片荒作出反應,現在就需要對未來進行重新評估,否則,未來發生關鍵工業零件的短缺危機便不足為奇了。 

 

    免責聲明

    本網站由已獲香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會 (以下簡稱「證監會」) 發牌的安盛投資管理亞洲有限公司(以下簡稱「安盛投資香港」)發布,內容僅供一般傳閱及資料參考之用。按照任何適用的法律或法規,本網站並不構成與金融工具交易相關的投資研究或財務分析,也不構成安盛投資管理公司或其關聯公司作出買賣任何投資、產品或服務或進行任何相關交易的要約,並不應被視為招攬或投資、法律、稅務或任何其他建議、投資策略建議或買賣證券的個人化建議。本網站的編寫沒有考慮任何特定人士的具體情況、投資目標、財務狀況、投資知識或特殊需要,亦有可能會隨時更改而恕不另行通知。要約僅會按照相關發行文件中所披露的資料作出。如果閣下不肯定本網站所載任何資訊的含義,請諮詢獨立財務顧問或其他專業顧問。

    由於本網站內容經過簡化,所載內容並不完整並屬於意見;文中的估計和預測具主觀性,如有更改,恕不另行通知,此等意見、估計及預測亦不保證會成真。實際營運結果及成果或存在重大差異。本網站內的資料、數字、聲明、分析、預測和其他資料乃根據我們在建立本網站時的知識狀態提供。本文所載的資訊從相信屬可靠之來源獲得。安盛投資香港有理由相信該等資訊為準確、完整及最新。在法律允許的最大範圍內,安盛投資香港、其關聯公司、董事、高級人員或僱員對第三方所提供的數據(包括該等數據的準確性)概不承擔任何責任。本文件並未載有足以支持作出投資決策的資訊。所提及的公司資料(如有)只供說明之用,並且不應被視作為投資建議或招攬。

    所有投資均涉及風險,包括損失資本。投資價值以及收益可升可跌,過往表現並不保證未來回報,投資者或會無法收回最初的投資金額。投資者不應僅根據本資料作出任何投資決定。 

    本網站列出的某些服務或不適用於零售投資者。

    本網站未經證監會審閱。© 2022年安盛投資管理公司。版權所有。

• AXA IM
  • A Few Hundred Billion Dollars Won’t Fix All the Shortages
Investment Institute
Macroeconomic Research

A Few Hundred Billion Dollars Won’t Fix All the Shortages

  • 16 December 2021 (5 min read)

Image

Governments are making multibillion-dollar announcements to deal with the global chip shortage. That's unlikely to help at this point and only risks muddying priorities for the future.

Following the U.S. and the European Union, Japan has announced large capital investments in the semiconductor industry as part of a bigger 55.7 trillion yen ($488 billion) economic relief package. All told, over this year and the next, outlays could total close to $200 billion, according to Jefferies analysts. So far, allocation of the funds remains quite vague but much of it is being directed toward future technology, with the goal to fund the build-out of vast parts of the semiconductor supply chain.

While that’s commendable, it doesn’t address the current problem — and never will. Such big, unfocused public allocations tend to get spread all over the place, ultimately impeding actual technological headway. In addition, the shortages we’ve been hearing about are mostly for older chip technology, which has been well-documented.

In Japan’s case, a big part of the $6.8 billion earmarked for the chipmaking industry will be distributed under a freshly established New Energy and Industrial Technology Developmental Organization. In its strategy document for the industry, the government notes that it’s striving to boost cutting-edge logic semiconductors used in various electronic systems, introduce domestic manufacturing “with next-generation” technology, and strengthen “choke points technologies of equipment and materials” that will support the global semiconductor supply chain. 

Here’s the thing: These aren’t the sectors that need the help. Consider semiconductor production equipment, or SPE, the machines used to make the chips. Funding this sector at this point in the cycle doesn’t make sense. Chips take as long as three months to make, while these machines take far longer. Meanwhile, the industry is extremely cyclical, has always run a structural shortage and 80% of it is concentrated with just a handful of players. That means by the time they’re all in sync, we’ll either end up with overcapacity or not the right kind of machines for the chips we need.

Since the shortage took hold, demand for SPE machines has been up sharply. North American billings, a proxy for demand, rose 36% in October from a year earlier, and were up 38% in the prior month, according to Nomura. The analysts, in fact, raised their growth projections to 39.5% from 35.4%, with total equipment sales to be close to $100 billion this year.

Japan is home to a few of the global leaders, including Tokyo Electron Ltd and SCREEN Holdings Co. Their earnings have continued to rise along with orders. That’s because early on, when obvious signs of shortages appeared, chipmakers started ordering more of the machinery that always runs on a carefully calibrated balance. The SPE makers have increased production capacity and some have noted they aren’t running up against issues that would hold back their shipments. Their exports have continued to rise, too. Subsidies to these makers, at this point, wouldn’t add much value. In fact, chip-related companies in Asia are now striking an optimistic tone, with Micron Technology Inc. Chief Executive Officer Sanjay Mehrotra recently saying that the global semiconductor crunch is easing

It’s worth investing for the future, no doubt. However, if governments don’t target the areas that are truly sources of bottlenecks, or those that lag behind technologically, then it ends up being misspent. In fact, at the rate industrial technology is evolving, fresh financing should increasingly be targeted toward sectors that are beyond the leading edge, closer to the bleeding edge.

As policy makers react to the almost one-year-old shortage, a reassessment for the future needs to happen now. Without that, it won’t be surprising to see shortages and crunches of vital industrial parts in the future. 

 

    Disclaimer

    This website is published by AXA Investment Managers Asia Limited (“AXA IM HK”), an entity licensed by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (“SFC”), for general circulation and informational purposes only. It does not constitute investment research or financial analysis relating to transactions in financial instruments, nor does it constitute on the part of AXA Investment Managers or its affiliated companies an offer to buy, sell or enter into any transactions in respect of any investments, products or services, and should not be considered as solicitation or investment, legal, tax or any other advice, a recommendation for an investment strategy or a personalised recommendation to buy or sell securities under any applicable law or regulation. It has been prepared without taking into account the specific personal circumstances, investment objectives, financial situation, investment knowledge or particular needs of any particular person and may be subject to change at any time without notice. Offering may be made only on the basis of the information disclosed in the relevant offering documents. Please consult independent financial or other professional advisers if you are unsure about any information contained herein.

    Due to its simplification, this publication is partial and opinions, estimates and forecasts herein are subjective and subject to change without notice. There is no guarantee such opinions, estimates and forecasts made will come to pass. Actual results of operations and achievements may differ materially. Data, figures, declarations, analysis, predictions and other information in this publication is provided based on our state of knowledge at the time of creation of this publication. Information herein may be obtained from sources believed to be reliable. AXA IM HK has reasonable belief that such information is accurate, complete and up-to-date. To the maximum extent permitted by law, AXA IM HK, its affiliates, directors, officers or employees take no responsibility for the data provided by third party, including the accuracy of such data. This material does not contain sufficient information to support an investment decision. References to companies (if any) are for illustrative purposes only and should not be viewed as investment recommendations or solicitations.

    All investment involves risk, including the loss of capital. The value of investments and the income from them can fluctuate and that past performance is no guarantee of future returns, investors may not get back the amount originally invested. Investors should not make any investment decision based on this material alone. 

    Some of the services listed on this Website may not be available for offer to retail investors.

    This Website has not been reviewed by the SFC. © 2022 AXA Investment Managers. All rights reserved.