Investment Institute
人口

教育與創業精神可以改變生活,還可以為投資者帶來機會

  • 14 一月 2022 (5 分鐘閱讀)

教育和抱負

教育是強大的變革推動力,尤其是當它惠及弱勢群體的時候。在個人層面上,它能改善生計,甚至是提高預期壽命;在國家層面上,它有助於社會穩定並刺激長期經濟增長。

聯合國可持續發展目標四正好反映這一點,其目標是到2030年「確保共融平等的優質教育,使人人享有終身學習機會」1 。很遺憾的是,根據聯合國的資料,新冠肺炎疫情逆轉了在教育方面取得的進展,現在全球將新增1億名兒童的閱讀能力低於其年齡所需的最低水平2

對願意將社會標準融入投資組合的投資者來說,投資教育也許是合適不過的着手點。

多元機會

教育業的挑戰有兩個方面,一是以公平持續的方式擴大教育機會,使所有人不分老少皆可參與其中;二是發展優質有效的教學方法。因此,我們認為新參與者正在湧現,尤其是在教育科技領域,它們為學生提供更有效和個人化的低成本學習解決方案。

在學校領域,網上學生支援平台Chegg宣稱其截至2021年6月底的用戶數達到490萬,突顯出其潛力3 。該平台旨在為自覺承受着壓力的學生提供價格相宜的服務。的確,許多學生為了繳付學費而兼職工作,他們決定退學的情況屢見不鮮。Chegg聲言,許多使用該平台的學生都表示其壓力和焦慮水平有所下降。該公司還提供免費課程,例如是協助學生管理開支的理財教育。

「寓教於樂」是一種非傳統的新穎教學形式,其推動了挪威學習平台Kahoot!的增長。該平台最初專為社會學習而設,現在於學校和其他教育機構用作一種教育技術,包括以個人或小組遊戲形式進行的網上多項選擇題測驗和問卷。Kahoot!最近宣佈其付費用戶數已超過100萬,我們正在密切關注它在新興經濟體和發達經濟體的發展前景4

IDP Education是一家澳洲公司,在全球各地提供留學代辦服務、國際英語測試和英語教學服務。2019年,IDP Education為51,000名學生代辦海外大學升學,其中大部分來自新興國家,尤以亞洲地區最多5

另一方面,Bright Horizons近30多年來一直提供全面的幼兒照管及教育服務,其致力於提供優質解決方案(通常由僱主資助),為孩子提供幼年學習環境並從小進行特徵監管,同時讓父母更能協調工作與生活之間的平衡。該公司持續拓展其服務,例如緊急託兒、教育輔導或夏令營等方面6

支持小企業

聯合國可持續發展目標中的另一個重要目標是「人人獲得體面工作和經濟增長」,而且格外強調創業精神。可持續發展目標八旨在刺激微型企業和中小型企業的增長7 。我們認為支持創業精神能鼓勵創新和創意。當這些微型企業因迎合新需求而取得成功時,它們將創造就業機會,並可協助振興一個地區或國家。在美國,員工少於500人的公司佔國內生產總值(GDP)的比例一直下降,但根據最後一次測量,這類公司仍佔國民經濟的44%8 ,員工人數則佔47%9

其中,國際網上平台Etsy讓人們買賣非批量生產的商品,它既是成功的新創企業,也是新晉創業者的聚集地。由於世界各地的消費者都能查閱產品,Etsy是專為創作獨特禮品和收藏品的自僱人士而設的國際展示平台。在致力提高賣家知名度的同時,它收取產品上架費用,並對達成交易進一步徵費。

美國公司Intuit為小企業經營者和自僱人士提供網上管理、稅務和會計服務。該公司多年來不斷發展壯大,並進駐法國等其他國家,奪取新市佔率。Intuit最近宣佈收購數碼營銷公司MailChimp,以期解決中小企業的頭號問題:吸引並留住新客戶10

Square提供的一體式電子支付解決方案使其擠身為金融科技巨擘之一,其第三季毛利按年上升43%,超過10億美元11 。它特別受獨立交易員和個人歡迎,其服務包括流動支付終端(允許個人與個人之間轉賬的應用程式)以及最近推出的理財服務。強勁增長在一定程度上可歸因於Square直接瞄準小企業的策略,基本上小企業至今仍然不受傳統業者重視。

教育與創業精神互為表裏,它們代表着社會流動性的重要推動因素,而我們相信這些主題亦代表着豐富多元的潛在投資機會。

提述的企業僅作說明之用,不構成安盛投資管理的投資建議或推薦。

  • PGEgaHJlZj0iaHR0cHM6Ly9zZGdzLnVuLm9yZy9nb2Fscy9nb2FsNCI+aHR0cHM6Ly9zZGdzLnVuLm9yZy9nb2Fscy9nb2FsNDwvYT4g
  • PGEgaHJlZj0iaHR0cHM6Ly9uZXdzLnVuLm9yZy9lbi9zdG9yeS8yMDIxLzAzLzEwODgzOTIiPmh0dHBzOi8vbmV3cy51bi5vcmcvZW4vc3RvcnkvMjAyMS8wMy8xMDg4MzkyPC9hPiA=
  • PGEgaHJlZj0iaHR0cHM6Ly9pbnZlc3Rvci5jaGVnZy5jb20vUHJlc3MtUmVsZWFzZXMvcHJlc3MtcmVsZWFzZS1kZXRhaWxzLzIwMjEvQ2hlZ2ctUmVwb3J0cy1TZWNvbmQtUXVhcnRlci0yMDIxLUZpbmFuY2lhbC1SZXN1bHRzLWFuZC1SYWlzZXMtRnVsbC1ZZWFyLUd1aWRhbmNlL2RlZmF1bHQuYXNweCI+aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnZlc3Rvci5jaGVnZy5jb20vUHJlc3MtUmVsZWFzZXMvcHJlc3MtcmVsZWFzZS1kZXRhaWxzLzIwMjEvQ2hlZ2ctUmVwb3J0cy1TZWNvbmQtUXVhcnRlci0yMDIxLUZpbmFuY2lhbC1SZXN1bHRzLWFuZC1SYWlzZXMtRnVsbC1ZZWFyLUd1aWRhbmNlL2RlZmF1bHQuYXNweDwvYT4g
  • PGEgaHJlZj0iaHR0cHM6Ly9rYWhvb3QuY29tL2ludmVzdG9yL2Fubm91bmNlbWVudHMva2Fob290LWdyb3VwLXJlcG9ydHMtdGhpcmQtcXVhcnRlci0yMDIxLWZpbmFuY2lhbC1yZXN1bHRzLyI+aHR0cHM6Ly9rYWhvb3QuY29tL2ludmVzdG9yL2Fubm91bmNlbWVudHMva2Fob290LWdyb3VwLXJlcG9ydHMtdGhpcmQtcXVhcnRlci0yMDIxLWZpbmFuY2lhbC1yZXN1bHRzLzwvYT4g
  • PGEgaHJlZj0iaHR0cHM6Ly9pbnZlc3RvcnMuaWRwLmNvbS9Gb3JtQnVpbGRlci9fUmVzb3VyY2UvX21vZHVsZS92MUFpRUhZTDIwLV9SamUxMVB6a1lBL0ZZMjAlMjBSZXN1bHRzJTIwSW52ZXN0b3IlMjBQcmVzZW50YXRpb24ucGRmIj5odHRwczovL2ludmVzdG9ycy5pZHAuY29tL0Zvcm1CdWlsZGVyL19SZXNvdXJjZS9fbW9kdWxlL3YxQWlFSFlMMjAtX1JqZTExUHprWUEvRlkyMCUyMFJlc3VsdHMlMjBJbnZlc3RvciUyMFByZXNlbnRhdGlvbi5wZGY8L2E+IA==
  • PGEgaHJlZj0iaHR0cHM6Ly93d3cuYnJpZ2h0aG9yaXpvbnMuY28udWsvIj5odHRwczovL3d3dy5icmlnaHRob3Jpem9ucy5jby51ay88L2E+IA==
  • PGEgaHJlZj0iaHR0cHM6Ly9zZGdzLnVuLm9yZy9nb2Fscy9nb2FsOCI+aHR0cHM6Ly9zZGdzLnVuLm9yZy9nb2Fscy9nb2FsODwvYT4g
  • PGEgaHJlZj0iaHR0cHM6Ly9hZHZvY2FjeS5zYmEuZ292LzIwMTkvMDEvMzAvc21hbGwtYnVzaW5lc3Nlcy1nZW5lcmF0ZS00NC1wZXJjZW50LW9mLXUtcy1lY29ub21pYy1hY3Rpdml0eS8iPmh0dHBzOi8vYWR2b2NhY3kuc2JhLmdvdi8yMDE5LzAxLzMwL3NtYWxsLWJ1c2luZXNzZXMtZ2VuZXJhdGUtNDQtcGVyY2VudC1vZi11LXMtZWNvbm9taWMtYWN0aXZpdHkvPC9hPiA=
  • PGEgaHJlZj0iaHR0cHM6Ly9jZG4uYWR2b2NhY3kuc2JhLmdvdi93cC1jb250ZW50L3VwbG9hZHMvMjAyMS8wOC8zMDE0MzcyMy9TbWFsbC1CdXNpbmVzcy1FY29ub21pYy1Qcm9maWxlLVVTLnBkZiI+aHR0cHM6Ly9jZG4uYWR2b2NhY3kuc2JhLmdvdi93cC1jb250ZW50L3VwbG9hZHMvMjAyMS8wOC8zMDE0MzcyMy9TbWFsbC1CdXNpbmVzcy1FY29ub21pYy1Qcm9maWxlLVVTLnBkZjwvYT4g
  • PGEgaHJlZj0iaHR0cHM6Ly9pbnZlc3RvcnMuaW50dWl0LmNvbS9uZXdzL25ld3MtZGV0YWlscy8yMDIxL0ludHVpdC10by1BY3F1aXJlLU1haWxjaGltcC9kZWZhdWx0LmFzcHgiPmh0dHBzOi8vaW52ZXN0b3JzLmludHVpdC5jb20vbmV3cy9uZXdzLWRldGFpbHMvMjAyMS9JbnR1aXQtdG8tQWNxdWlyZS1NYWlsY2hpbXAvZGVmYXVsdC5hc3B4PC9hPiA=
  • PGEgaHJlZj0iaHR0cHM6Ly9zMjkucTRjZG4uY29tLzYyODk2NjE3Ni9maWxlcy9kb2NfZmluYW5jaWFscy8yMDIxL3EzL1NRLTNRLTIwMjEtU2hhcmVob2xkZXItTGV0dGVyLnBkZiI+aHR0cHM6Ly9zMjkucTRjZG4uY29tLzYyODk2NjE3Ni9maWxlcy9kb2NfZmluYW5jaWFscy8yMDIxL3EzL1NRLTNRLTIwMjEtU2hhcmVob2xkZXItTGV0dGVyLnBkZjwvYT4g

相關文章

人口

2030年:「長壽經濟」的關鍵

  • by Peter Hughes , Stephen Kelly
  • 12 四月 2022 (7 分鐘閱讀)
人口

更可及有效的醫療方案:有何社會影響和經濟潛力?

  • by Anne Tolmunen
  • 14 一月 2022 (5 分鐘閱讀)
人口

後疫情時代:重識城鎮的十件「法寶」

  • by Prof. Dagmar Haase
  • 20 十月 2021 (10 分鐘閱讀)

    免責聲明

    本網站由已獲香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會 (以下簡稱「證監會」) 發牌的安盛投資管理亞洲有限公司(以下簡稱「安盛投資香港」)發布,內容僅供一般傳閱及資料參考之用。按照任何適用的法律或法規,本網站並不構成與金融工具交易相關的投資研究或財務分析,也不構成安盛投資管理公司或其關聯公司作出買賣任何投資、產品或服務或進行任何相關交易的要約,並不應被視為招攬或投資、法律、稅務或任何其他建議、投資策略建議或買賣證券的個人化建議。本網站的編寫沒有考慮任何特定人士的具體情況、投資目標、財務狀況、投資知識或特殊需要,亦有可能會隨時更改而恕不另行通知。要約僅會按照相關發行文件中所披露的資料作出。如果閣下不肯定本網站所載任何資訊的含義,請諮詢獨立財務顧問或其他專業顧問。

    由於本網站內容經過簡化,所載內容並不完整並屬於意見;文中的估計和預測具主觀性,如有更改,恕不另行通知,此等意見、估計及預測亦不保證會成真。實際營運結果及成果或存在重大差異。本網站內的資料、數字、聲明、分析、預測和其他資料乃根據我們在建立本網站時的知識狀態提供。本文所載的資訊從相信屬可靠之來源獲得。安盛投資香港有理由相信該等資訊為準確、完整及最新。在法律允許的最大範圍內,安盛投資香港、其關聯公司、董事、高級人員或僱員對第三方所提供的數據(包括該等數據的準確性)概不承擔任何責任。本文件並未載有足以支持作出投資決策的資訊。所提及的公司資料(如有)只供說明之用,並且不應被視作為投資建議或招攬。

    所有投資均涉及風險,包括損失資本。投資價值以及收益可升可跌,過往表現並不保證未來回報,投資者或會無法收回最初的投資金額。投資者不應僅根據本資料作出任何投資決定。 

    本網站列出的某些服務或不適用於零售投資者。

    本網站未經證監會審閱。© 2022年安盛投資管理公司。版權所有。

Investment Institute
Demographics

Education and entrepreneurship can change lives – and deliver opportunities for investors

  • 14 January 2022 (5 min read)

Education and aspiration

Education is a powerful agent of change, especially when it includes the most disadvantaged. At the individual level, it improves livelihoods and even life expectancy. At the country level, it contributes to social stability and stimulates long-term economic growth.

The United Nations Sustainable Development Goal 4 (SDG 4) reflects this and aims to “ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all” by 20301 . Unfortunately, according to the United Nations, the COVID-19 pandemic has reversed the progress achieved in education with an additional 100 million children worldwide now below the minimum reading level required for their age.2

For investors keen to incorporate social criteria into their portfolios, investing in education can be a natural starting point.

Diversity of opportunity

The challenge in education is twofold. First, to widen access and draw in everyone, young and old, in an equitable and continuous manner. Second, to develop quality and effective learning methods. As such, we believe that new players, particularly in education technologies (edtech), are emerging, offering students low-cost solutions for more effective and personalised learning.

In the school sector, the online student support platform Chegg – which claimed 4.9 million subscribers as of end-June 2021 – has highlighted the potential.3 It aims to offer affordable services to students who may find themselves under pressure. Indeed, many students juggle a job to pay for their studies, and it is not uncommon for them to decide to throw in the towel. Chegg claims that many students who use its platform say that their stress and anxiety levels drop. The company also offers free modules, for example one in financial education aimed at helping students manage their budget.

“Learning while having fun” is a less traditional but fashionable form of education that has helped to drive growth at Norwegian learning platform Kahoot!. Originally designed for social learning, it is used as an educational technology in schools and other educational institutions and includes online multiple-choice quizzes and questionnaires, in individual or group-play formats. It recently announced paid subscriptions had moved above one million and we are closely monitoring its development prospects in emerging and developed economies.4

IDP Education is an Australian company that offers student placement services, international English language testing, and English language teaching services around the world. In 2019, IDP Education placed 51,000 students in universities, a majority of which are from emerging countries, particularly in Asia.5

At the other end of the journey is Bright Horizons, a company that has been providing comprehensive childcare and early education services for over 30 years. It aims to offer quality solutions, often subsidised by employers, providing children with access to an early learning environment and quality supervision from a young age, while giving parents a way to better reconcile their work-life balance. The company has continued to expand its services, for example in terms of emergency childcare, educational counselling or summer camps.6

Supporting small business

Another important goal within the UN SDGs is “decent work for all and economic growth”, with particular emphasis on entrepreneurship. SDG 8 aims to stimulate the growth of micro enterprises and small/medium-sized enterprises7 . We believe that supporting entrepreneurship encourages innovation and creativity. When they find success by responding to new needs, these micro enterprises create jobs and can help revitalise a region or country. In the US, the share of GDP attributed to companies with less than 500 employees has been falling, but at the last measure still accounted for 44% of the national economy8 and 47% of employees.9

Among them, Etsy, the international online platform where people buy and sell non-mass produced items, is both an entrepreneurial venture made good – and a hub for new entrepreneurs. With products accessible to consumers around the world, Etsy is an international showcase for self-employed makers of unique gifts and collectables. It charges fees to post product catalogues and a further levy on transactions as it seeks to boost the profiles of its sellers.

US company Intuit offers online management, tax and accounting services for small business owners and the self-employed. The company has expanded over the years and moved into other countries, such as France, to win new market share. Intuit recently announced the acquisition of digital marketing company MailChimp with the ambition to solve the number one problem for SMEs: Attracting and retaining new customers.10  

The all-in-one digital payment solutions offered by Square have made it one of the major fintech players. Gross profit rose by 43% in the third quarter from a year earlier to more than $1bn.11 It has been particularly popular among independent traders and individuals and its services include mobile payment terminals, an app which allows money transfers between individuals, and – more recently – banking services. The strong growth can be partly explained by Square’s strategy of directly targeting small businesses, until now largely neglected by traditional players.

Education and entrepreneurship are two sides of the same coin. They represent important drivers of social mobility and we believe these themes also represent a rich and diversified pool of potential investment opportunities.

The companies are named as an illustration only and do not constitute investment advice or a recommendation from AXA IM.

  • aHR0cHM6Ly9zZGdzLnVuLm9yZy9nb2Fscy9nb2FsNCA=
  • aHR0cHM6Ly9uZXdzLnVuLm9yZy9lbi9zdG9yeS8yMDIxLzAzLzEwODgzOTIg
  • aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnZlc3Rvci5jaGVnZy5jb20vUHJlc3MtUmVsZWFzZXMvcHJlc3MtcmVsZWFzZS1kZXRhaWxzLzIwMjEvQ2hlZ2ctUmVwb3J0cy1TZWNvbmQtUXVhcnRlci0yMDIxLUZpbmFuY2lhbC1SZXN1bHRzLWFuZC1SYWlzZXMtRnVsbC1ZZWFyLUd1aWRhbmNlL2RlZmF1bHQuYXNweCA=
  • aHR0cHM6Ly9rYWhvb3QuY29tL2ludmVzdG9yL2Fubm91bmNlbWVudHMva2Fob290LWdyb3VwLXJlcG9ydHMtdGhpcmQtcXVhcnRlci0yMDIxLWZpbmFuY2lhbC1yZXN1bHRzLyA=
  • aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnZlc3RvcnMuaWRwLmNvbS9Gb3JtQnVpbGRlci9fUmVzb3VyY2UvX21vZHVsZS92MUFpRUhZTDIwLV9SamUxMVB6a1lBL0ZZMjAlMjBSZXN1bHRzJTIwSW52ZXN0b3IlMjBQcmVzZW50YXRpb24ucGRmIA==
  • aHR0cHM6Ly93d3cuYnJpZ2h0aG9yaXpvbnMuY28udWsvIA==
  • aHR0cHM6Ly9zZGdzLnVuLm9yZy9nb2Fscy9nb2FsOCA=
  • aHR0cHM6Ly9hZHZvY2FjeS5zYmEuZ292LzIwMTkvMDEvMzAvc21hbGwtYnVzaW5lc3Nlcy1nZW5lcmF0ZS00NC1wZXJjZW50LW9mLXUtcy1lY29ub21pYy1hY3Rpdml0eS8g
  • aHR0cHM6Ly9jZG4uYWR2b2NhY3kuc2JhLmdvdi93cC1jb250ZW50L3VwbG9hZHMvMjAyMS8wOC8zMDE0MzcyMy9TbWFsbC1CdXNpbmVzcy1FY29ub21pYy1Qcm9maWxlLVVTLnBkZiA=
  • aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnZlc3RvcnMuaW50dWl0LmNvbS9uZXdzL25ld3MtZGV0YWlscy8yMDIxL0ludHVpdC10by1BY3F1aXJlLU1haWxjaGltcC9kZWZhdWx0LmFzcHgg
  • aHR0cHM6Ly9zMjkucTRjZG4uY29tLzYyODk2NjE3Ni9maWxlcy9kb2NfZmluYW5jaWFscy8yMDIxL3EzL1NRLTNRLTIwMjEtU2hhcmVob2xkZXItTGV0dGVyLnBkZiA=

Related Articles

Demographics

Why 2030 will be a pivotal moment for the longevity economy

  • by Peter Hughes , Stephen Kelly
  • 12 April 2022 (7 min read)
Demographics

More accessible and effective health solutions: What is the social impact and economic potential?

  • by Anne Tolmunen
  • 14 January 2022 (5 min read)
Demographics

Ten talismans for a new understanding of cities in post-pandemic times

  • by Prof. Dagmar Haase
  • 20 October 2021 (10 min read)

    Disclaimer

    This website is published by AXA Investment Managers Asia Limited (“AXA IM HK”), an entity licensed by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (“SFC”), for general circulation and informational purposes only. It does not constitute investment research or financial analysis relating to transactions in financial instruments, nor does it constitute on the part of AXA Investment Managers or its affiliated companies an offer to buy, sell or enter into any transactions in respect of any investments, products or services, and should not be considered as solicitation or investment, legal, tax or any other advice, a recommendation for an investment strategy or a personalised recommendation to buy or sell securities under any applicable law or regulation. It has been prepared without taking into account the specific personal circumstances, investment objectives, financial situation, investment knowledge or particular needs of any particular person and may be subject to change at any time without notice. Offering may be made only on the basis of the information disclosed in the relevant offering documents. Please consult independent financial or other professional advisers if you are unsure about any information contained herein.

    Due to its simplification, this publication is partial and opinions, estimates and forecasts herein are subjective and subject to change without notice. There is no guarantee such opinions, estimates and forecasts made will come to pass. Actual results of operations and achievements may differ materially. Data, figures, declarations, analysis, predictions and other information in this publication is provided based on our state of knowledge at the time of creation of this publication. Information herein may be obtained from sources believed to be reliable. AXA IM HK has reasonable belief that such information is accurate, complete and up-to-date. To the maximum extent permitted by law, AXA IM HK, its affiliates, directors, officers or employees take no responsibility for the data provided by third party, including the accuracy of such data. This material does not contain sufficient information to support an investment decision. References to companies (if any) are for illustrative purposes only and should not be viewed as investment recommendations or solicitations.

    All investment involves risk, including the loss of capital. The value of investments and the income from them can fluctuate and that past performance is no guarantee of future returns, investors may not get back the amount originally invested. Investors should not make any investment decision based on this material alone. 

    Some of the services listed on this Website may not be available for offer to retail investors.

    This Website has not been reviewed by the SFC. © 2022 AXA Investment Managers. All rights reserved.