Investment Institute
人口

更可及有效的醫療方案:有何社會影響和經濟潛力?

  • 14 一月 2022 (5 分鐘閱讀)

情勢走峭

根據經濟合作暨發展組織(經合組織)的資料,預計到2030年,發達國家公共衛生支出佔GDP的比例將達到近9%,及至2060年將上升到14%1

在此背景下,尤其是考慮到全球人口老化,世界各國政府和民眾的首要考慮之一是改善優質醫療服務可及性並限制其社會成本,也就不足為奇了。

最近,新冠肺炎疫情清楚地突顯出完善預防措施的必要性,以及公眾支持科學研究的重要性。

近幾十年來的科學發現進展和技術進步,使我們能夠構想出更可及、更有效以及最重要的──更個人化的醫學。

安盛投資管理力求投資於此類創新,投資目標是正視這些問題並能夠為世界上無數醫療難題提供解決方案的公司。

醫療業創新者

DexCom的使命是協助糖尿病患者掌控他們的病情。這家加州公司已開發出一種使用離散感測器的尖端系統,可透過個人智能手機持續監測血糖水平,因此毋須抽取血液樣本。

該公司不斷創新,致力於提升其產品的可靠性、連接性、設計和成本效益。

麥肯錫指,現時遠程醫療的使用比疫情前水平高出38倍2 。我們相信虛擬服務有助於緩解超負荷的醫療系統,透過減少獲得醫療的障礙加強預防醫學,以及降低醫療成本。

Teladoc Health為虛擬醫療領域的龍頭公司,在全球擁有7,000多萬名會員3 ,服務涵蓋日常健康照護(類似於家庭醫生提供的服務)以及專科醫生轉介。該公司還提供兒科、精神健康、保健和預防服務。

另外還有美國醫療保險公司Centene,它主要充當國家資助醫療計劃的中介,例如聯邦醫療補助(Medicaid)佔其收入約67%(截至2020年12月31日)。聯邦醫療補助是為低收入家庭而設的政府資助醫療保險計劃iv。

Veeva Systems是為生命科學行業提供雲端軟件解決方案的供應商。該公司擁有1,100多個客戶,當中不乏大型製藥集團和生物科技公司v。由Veeva Systems開發的應用程式(包括Veeva Vault Clinical、Veeva Vault RIM和Veeva Safety)有助於加快臨床研發、提高安全性及簡化新療法的監管審批。

印度家庭對更佳醫療設施和優質照護服務有強烈需求。儘管印度仍然在很大程度上醫療服務不足(尤其是在農村地區),診斷檢測是一個重要的增長領域。位於德里的診斷及相關醫療檢測供應商Dr Lal PathLabs已在印度建立一個全國性的實驗室網絡,並提供多種診斷檢測,因而能夠進行疾病預防、監測和治療。

雖然我們不對大型製藥集團進行巨額投資,但阿斯利康(AstraZeneca)是個例外。

阿斯利康銳意在2025年前透過其多項醫療普及計劃觸及5,000萬人4 。該公司主要聚焦於非傳染性疾病(例如腫瘤、心血管、腎臟和代謝、呼吸系統和免疫學),這些疾病影響全球數以百萬計的人。阿斯利康與牛津大學合作生產和分銷一款新冠疫苗,該公司承諾在疫情期間以非營利價格提供疫苗,並將永久向低收入國家提供疫苗而不牟利。阿斯利康積極參與「新冠肺炎疫苗實施計劃」(COVAX計劃),該計劃旨在為200個國家提供平等的新冠疫苗接種機會。

保護主題:強烈的社會和經濟層面

新療法的開發,以及診症和預防方面的進步使民眾的生活質素和壽命得以提高。科技民主化亦推動快速變革,徹底改變得不到充分醫療服務的人口獲得基本服務的方式。

當中存在着重大的社會和經濟挑戰,我們認為從長遠來看,創新和國際發展的前景光明。

提述的企業僅作說明之用,不構成安盛投資管理的投資建議或推薦。

  • Telehealth: A post-COVID-19 reality? | McKinsey
  • eladoc Health, Inc. - Teladoc Health Issues Inaugural Corporate Social Responsibility Report
  • https://investors.centene.com/news-events/press-releases/detail/998/centene-corporation-reports-third-quarter-2021-results
  • ttps://www.astrazeneca.com/content/dam/az/Sustainability/2021/pdf/Sustainability_Report_2020.pdf

相關文章

人口

2030年:「長壽經濟」的關鍵

  • by Peter Hughes , Stephen Kelly
  • 12 四月 2022 (7 分鐘閱讀)
人口

教育與創業精神可以改變生活,還可以為投資者帶來機會

  • by Anne Tolmunen , Caroline Moleux
  • 14 一月 2022 (5 分鐘閱讀)
人口

後疫情時代:重識城鎮的十件「法寶」

  • by Prof. Dagmar Haase
  • 20 十月 2021 (10 分鐘閱讀)

    免責聲明

    本網站由已獲香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會 (以下簡稱「證監會」) 發牌的安盛投資管理亞洲有限公司(以下簡稱「安盛投資香港」)發布,內容僅供一般傳閱及資料參考之用。按照任何適用的法律或法規,本網站並不構成與金融工具交易相關的投資研究或財務分析,也不構成安盛投資管理公司或其關聯公司作出買賣任何投資、產品或服務或進行任何相關交易的要約,並不應被視為招攬或投資、法律、稅務或任何其他建議、投資策略建議或買賣證券的個人化建議。本網站的編寫沒有考慮任何特定人士的具體情況、投資目標、財務狀況、投資知識或特殊需要,亦有可能會隨時更改而恕不另行通知。要約僅會按照相關發行文件中所披露的資料作出。如果閣下不肯定本網站所載任何資訊的含義,請諮詢獨立財務顧問或其他專業顧問。

    由於本網站內容經過簡化,所載內容並不完整並屬於意見;文中的估計和預測具主觀性,如有更改,恕不另行通知,此等意見、估計及預測亦不保證會成真。實際營運結果及成果或存在重大差異。本網站內的資料、數字、聲明、分析、預測和其他資料乃根據我們在建立本網站時的知識狀態提供。本文所載的資訊從相信屬可靠之來源獲得。安盛投資香港有理由相信該等資訊為準確、完整及最新。在法律允許的最大範圍內,安盛投資香港、其關聯公司、董事、高級人員或僱員對第三方所提供的數據(包括該等數據的準確性)概不承擔任何責任。本文件並未載有足以支持作出投資決策的資訊。所提及的公司資料(如有)只供說明之用,並且不應被視作為投資建議或招攬。

    所有投資均涉及風險,包括損失資本。投資價值以及收益可升可跌,過往表現並不保證未來回報,投資者或會無法收回最初的投資金額。投資者不應僅根據本資料作出任何投資決定。 

    本網站列出的某些服務或不適用於零售投資者。

    本網站未經證監會審閱。© 2022年安盛投資管理公司。版權所有。

Investment Institute
Demographics

More accessible and effective health solutions: What is the social impact and economic potential?

  • 14 January 2022 (5 min read)

A steepening trajectory

According to the OECD, public health spending in developed countries is expected to reach nearly 9% of GDP by 2030 before rising to 14% by 2060.1

Given this backdrop, it is unsurprising that one of the main priorities for governments - and individuals - worldwide is to get better access to quality medical cover, and to limit the cost to society, especially given the planet’s ageing population.

Most recently, the COVID-19 pandemic has starkly highlighted the need for robust preventive measures - as well as the importance of public support for scientific research.

The advances made in recent decades in terms of scientific discoveries and technological progress now make it possible to envisage medicine that is more accessible, more effective and, above all, more personalised.

At AXA IM, we seek to invest in such innovation by targeting companies tackling these issues head on and are able to provide solutions to the world’s myriad of medical challenges.

Medical innovators

DexCom’s mission is to help patients with diabetes take charge of their disease. The California-based firm has developed a cutting-edge system using discreet sensors, whereby through an individual’s smart phone, their blood glucose levels can be continuously monitored, so there is no need to take blood samples.

The company continues to innovate and aims to improve the reliability, connectivity, design and cost-benefit of its products.

According to McKinsey, telehealth use is now 38 times higher than pre-pandemic levels.2 We believe that virtual services can help relieve congested medical systems, strengthen preventive medicine by lowering barriers to access and reduce health costs.

Teladoc Health is a global leader in virtual care and which has more than 70 million members worldwide.3 Its services cover daily care, similar to that offered by a family doctor - as well as referrals to specialists. The company also offers paediatric, mental health, wellness, and prevention services.

There is also US health insurer Centene. It which mainly acts as an intermediary for state-funded healthcare programmes – such as Medicaid – which represents some 67% of its revenues (as of 31/12/2020). Medicaid is a government-funded health insurance programme for low-income households.iv

Veeva Systems, is a provider of cloud-based software solutions for the life sciences industry. The company has more than 1,100 customers including large pharmaceutical groups and biotechnology companies.v Applications developed by Veeva Systems (including Veeva Vault Clinical, Veeva Vault RIM and Veeva Safety) help accelerate clinical development, improve safety, and simplify regulatory approval of new therapies.

Indian households are demanding better health facilities and quality care. Diagnostic testing is a major growth area, although the country remains largely under-served (especially in rural areas). Dr Lal PathLabs, a Delhi-based provider of diagnostic and related healthcare tests, has established a nationwide network of laboratories in India and provides a range of diagnostic tests, enabling disease prevention, surveillance and treatment.

While we do not invest vast amounts in large pharmaceutical groups, AstraZeneca is an exception.

Through its various access programmes, AstraZeneca aims to reach 50 million people by 2025.4 It focuses primarily on non-communicable diseases (e.g. oncology, cardiovascular, renal and metabolism, respiratory and immunology), which affect millions of people around the world. AstraZeneca has partnered with the University of Oxford to produce and distribute one of the COVID-19 vaccines. The company is committed to providing the vaccine for zero profit during the pandemic and will make it available to low-income countries for no profit in perpetuity. AstraZeneca has actively participated in Covax, an initiative that aims to provide equitable access to vaccination against COVID-19 in 200 countries.

The theme of protection, a strong social and economic dimension

The development of new therapies, as well as advances in disease diagnosis and prevention enable an improvement in the quality of life and longevity of populations. Technological democratisation is also driving rapid change by transforming the way under-served populations can access essential services.

There are significant social and economic challenges, and we consider the prospects for innovation and international development to be promising in the long term.

The companies are named as an illustration only and do not constitute investment advice or a recommendation from AXA IM.

  • VGVsZWhlYWx0aDogQSBwb3N0LUNPVklELTE5IHJlYWxpdHk/IHwgTWNLaW5zZXk=
  • ZWxhZG9jIEhlYWx0aCwgSW5jLiAtIFRlbGFkb2MgSGVhbHRoIElzc3VlcyBJbmF1Z3VyYWwgQ29ycG9yYXRlIFNvY2lhbCBSZXNwb25zaWJpbGl0eSBSZXBvcnQ=
  • aHR0cHM6Ly9pbnZlc3RvcnMuY2VudGVuZS5jb20vbmV3cy1ldmVudHMvcHJlc3MtcmVsZWFzZXMvZGV0YWlsLzk5OC9jZW50ZW5lLWNvcnBvcmF0aW9uLXJlcG9ydHMtdGhpcmQtcXVhcnRlci0yMDIxLXJlc3VsdHM=
  • dHRwczovL3d3dy5hc3RyYXplbmVjYS5jb20vY29udGVudC9kYW0vYXovU3VzdGFpbmFiaWxpdHkvMjAyMS9wZGYvU3VzdGFpbmFiaWxpdHlfUmVwb3J0XzIwMjAucGRm

Related Articles

Demographics

Why 2030 will be a pivotal moment for the longevity economy

  • by Peter Hughes , Stephen Kelly
  • 12 April 2022 (7 min read)
Demographics

Education and entrepreneurship can change lives – and deliver opportunities for investors

  • by Anne Tolmunen , Caroline Moleux
  • 14 January 2022 (5 min read)
Demographics

Ten talismans for a new understanding of cities in post-pandemic times

  • by Prof. Dagmar Haase
  • 20 October 2021 (10 min read)

    Disclaimer

    This website is published by AXA Investment Managers Asia Limited (“AXA IM HK”), an entity licensed by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (“SFC”), for general circulation and informational purposes only. It does not constitute investment research or financial analysis relating to transactions in financial instruments, nor does it constitute on the part of AXA Investment Managers or its affiliated companies an offer to buy, sell or enter into any transactions in respect of any investments, products or services, and should not be considered as solicitation or investment, legal, tax or any other advice, a recommendation for an investment strategy or a personalised recommendation to buy or sell securities under any applicable law or regulation. It has been prepared without taking into account the specific personal circumstances, investment objectives, financial situation, investment knowledge or particular needs of any particular person and may be subject to change at any time without notice. Offering may be made only on the basis of the information disclosed in the relevant offering documents. Please consult independent financial or other professional advisers if you are unsure about any information contained herein.

    Due to its simplification, this publication is partial and opinions, estimates and forecasts herein are subjective and subject to change without notice. There is no guarantee such opinions, estimates and forecasts made will come to pass. Actual results of operations and achievements may differ materially. Data, figures, declarations, analysis, predictions and other information in this publication is provided based on our state of knowledge at the time of creation of this publication. Information herein may be obtained from sources believed to be reliable. AXA IM HK has reasonable belief that such information is accurate, complete and up-to-date. To the maximum extent permitted by law, AXA IM HK, its affiliates, directors, officers or employees take no responsibility for the data provided by third party, including the accuracy of such data. This material does not contain sufficient information to support an investment decision. References to companies (if any) are for illustrative purposes only and should not be viewed as investment recommendations or solicitations.

    All investment involves risk, including the loss of capital. The value of investments and the income from them can fluctuate and that past performance is no guarantee of future returns, investors may not get back the amount originally invested. Investors should not make any investment decision based on this material alone. 

    Some of the services listed on this Website may not be available for offer to retail investors.

    This Website has not been reviewed by the SFC. © 2022 AXA Investment Managers. All rights reserved.