Investment Institute
科技

解說元宇宙:遊戲

  • 01 九月 2022 (5 分鐘閱讀)

虛擬世界 真實機會

元宇宙概念近年大幅演進。在了解其投資機會時,首要認清元宇宙並不是短暫或抽象的趨勢。元宇宙延續了突破性科技發展,讓消費者和企業等可以受惠,並將隨著人口結構大舉轉投網上娛樂、社交、工作和交流而加快發展。

四大重要主題

元宇宙的範圍廣泛,其中我們尤其看好四個主題的機會。在這篇網誌,我們首先深入探討第一個主題 ── 遊戲。

元宇宙誕生以來,遊戲便與之關係密切,而這個主題目前是我們認為發展得最前的範疇。虛擬世界在遊戲行業並非新鮮事,隨著成功例子增加,研發數目也越來越多。上一代的虛擬世界,或大型多人網上遊戲(MMO)如Second Life或Runescape等互聯網小眾玩意,現已被魔獸世界以及Fortnite和Roblox等取而代之。這些遊戲得到主流接納,在不同年齡層受到歡迎。轉變的關鍵在於科技能力大幅躍升、便利程度增加和遊戲機價格下降。遊戲公司發展的另一項優勢,是購買遊戲的過程不再是一次過完成。可下載內容、訂閱模式、升級和付費角色頭像,可以提升玩家在元宇宙的形象。這些交易金額雖然微小,卻能為遊戲公司貢獻穩定收入流。

遊戲不再是熟悉科技人士的專利。遊戲和娛樂之間的界線模糊化,這種趨勢在疫情之前已經存在,但在過去兩年隨著網上互動成為常態而迅速加快。任天堂Switch以至Switch Lite在封鎖期間持續售罄。New Horizons推出的遊戲動物森友會,讓玩家可以通過角色過著虛擬生活,創造田園般島嶼世界。遊戲推出適逢其時,讓玩家擺脫封鎖和旅遊限制,與朋友在網上聯繫,尋找家居娛樂,這比單單觀看電視節目互動性更高。Pokémon GO是流行遊戲系列的網上版本,為消費者提供了另一種存取方式,讓他們通過流動設備接觸擴增實境,即使玩家身處室內,也能讓遊戲與現實生活互相融合。1

年輕一代在互聯網環境下成長,身處快速廉價的先進Wi-Fi時代,早已習慣一直保持網絡連繫,而兩年的實際社交隔離令此習慣更加根深蒂固。未來,全球探索元宇宙的興趣只會持續增長。規模也是值得考慮的重要因素。傳統實體音樂會門票的需求,往往遠超供應。擁有大量歌迷的樂隊,現在可以利用元宇宙發掘巨大機會,無需再受到物理限制和流動問題阻礙。這種趨勢在2000年代初始於韓國流行音樂,並在Duran Duran成為首個全球藝人舉辦大型虛擬音樂會後,獲得了重要動力。這支英國樂隊過去在1980年代初幫助開創音樂影片以來,向來以率先採用科技聞名,過去便曾經在2006年於Second Life平台演出。2 當時,Second Life的虛擬用戶不足400,000人。現時情況已大為不同,較受歡迎的藝人正改寫過去規則。2020年,美國流行音樂製作人與DJ Marshmello通過遊戲Fortnite,向逾1,000萬虛擬觀眾演唱。此趨勢不但為樂隊、唱片公司和科技供應商開闢了更多受眾,另一個好處,是讓行動不便,或因其他身體障礙而難以參加實體音樂會的人士,可以更安全及輕易地參加音樂和活動。當然,我們也要考慮網上表演的安全問題,我們將在日後的網誌再進一步討論,網絡安全為「推動者」主題的一部分。

選擇您的角色

元宇宙有著許多令人興奮的遊戲機會。這些範圍包括純遊戲,如Electronic Arts,為目前許多大作的開發商,包括模擬人生、Apex Legends和各種星球大戰遊戲。上文提到的熱門平台Roblox,為元宇宙領域的領導者,每日有超過5,000萬活躍用戶使用其獨家遊戲引擎Roblox Studio,在網上社區創造、分享和買賣遊戲。Take-Two Interactive Software擁有Rockstar Games等公司,即Grand Theft Auto和Red Dead Redemption等大作的開發商。Square Enix憑藉勇者鬥惡龍和最終幻想系列,以及面向休閒玩家的互動故事(如Life is Strange系列),成功吸引另一部分市場。值得注意的是,其54%收盈來自流動和網上服務。

併購活動也為遊戲股產生巨大影響。行業競爭激烈,大型開發商一般傾向採取策略,把新晉和成熟的成功遊戲收歸旗下,就像食鬼般不斷吞併其他公司。早前,微軟便宣佈計劃以690億美元的高價,收購知名遊戲公司動視暴雪。這筆交易正等待監管部門批准,如成功完成將令微軟成為全球第三大遊戲公司。假設是次收購獲通過,將可為其遊戲庫增添強大的沉浸式和協作體驗,如決勝時刻、魔獸世界、鬥陣特攻和暗黑破壞神。公司亦擁有因智能手機而興起的熱門手機遊戲Candy Crush。2022年,幾乎您認識的每一個人,都隨身攜帶著小巧方便的遊戲設備。

透過支持科技和設備製造商(如Sony Group),將可令遊戲主題進一步多元化。這間重要的科技推動者正開發下一代虛擬實境(VR)耳機,增強遊戲、虛擬活動和表演的沉浸式效果。隨著虛擬體驗像真度增加,這些活動的受歡迎程度只會上升。推動元宇宙發展和成功的另一個重要元素,在於遊戲引擎開發商,他們支援用戶體驗,並提供必要工具渲染強大的3D世界,使模擬世界有著高水平質素、速度和解像度。

上文所述公司僅供說明,截至2022年7月15日。本文不構成與金融工具交易相關的投資研究或財務分析,也不構成買賣任何投資,產品或服務的要約,並不應被視為招攬或投資、法律或稅務建議、投資策略建議或買賣證券的個人化建議。

  • SG93IFBva8OpbW9uIEdPICdrZXB0IHBlb3BsZSBzYW5lJyBkdXJpbmcgbG9ja2Rvd24gfCBUaGUgTGlnaHRob3VzZSAobXEuZWR1LmF1KQ==
  • RHVyYW4gRHVyYW4gZ2V0cyBhIFNlY29uZCBMaWZlIC0gQ05FVA==

    免責聲明

    本網站由已獲香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會 (以下簡稱「證監會」) 發牌的安盛投資管理亞洲有限公司(以下簡稱「安盛投資香港」)發布,內容僅供一般傳閱及資料參考之用。按照任何適用的法律或法規,本網站並不構成與金融工具交易相關的投資研究或財務分析,也不構成安盛投資管理公司或其關聯公司作出買賣任何投資、產品或服務或進行任何相關交易的要約,並不應被視為招攬或投資、法律、稅務或任何其他建議、投資策略建議或買賣證券的個人化建議。本網站的編寫沒有考慮任何特定人士的具體情況、投資目標、財務狀況、投資知識或特殊需要,亦有可能會隨時更改而恕不另行通知。要約僅會按照相關發行文件中所披露的資料作出。如果閣下不肯定本網站所載任何資訊的含義,請諮詢獨立財務顧問或其他專業顧問。

    由於本網站內容經過簡化,所載內容並不完整並屬於意見;文中的估計和預測具主觀性,如有更改,恕不另行通知,此等意見、估計及預測亦不保證會成真。實際營運結果及成果或存在重大差異。本網站內的資料、數字、聲明、分析、預測和其他資料乃根據我們在建立本網站時的知識狀態提供。本文所載的資訊從相信屬可靠之來源獲得。安盛投資香港有理由相信該等資訊為準確、完整及最新。在法律允許的最大範圍內,安盛投資香港、其關聯公司、董事、高級人員或僱員對第三方所提供的數據(包括該等數據的準確性)概不承擔任何責任。本文件並未載有足以支持作出投資決策的資訊。所提及的公司資料(如有)只供說明之用,並且不應被視作為投資建議或招攬。

    所有投資均涉及風險,包括損失資本。投資價值以及收益可升可跌,過往表現並不保證未來回報,投資者或會無法收回最初的投資金額。投資者不應僅根據本資料作出任何投資決定。 

    本網站列出的某些服務或不適用於零售投資者。

    本網站未經證監會審閱。© 2022年安盛投資管理公司。版權所有。

Investment Institute
Technology

Metaverse Academy: Gaming

  • 01 September 2022 (5 min read)

Virtual worlds, real opportunities

The concept of the Metaverse has evolved significantly in recent years and is more prevalent than ever when discussing the future of investible technology, its capabilities and opportunities. When seeking to understand what the Metaverse is all about and how it can be of use to investors, it’s key to realise that this is not an ephemeral nor abstract trend. It’s a continuation of the ground-breaking and increasingly sophisticated advances in technologies available to consumers and businesses alike, accelerated by the significant demographic shift towards online entertainment, socialising, working, and communicating.

Level up your portfolio

We see opportunities associated with the growth of the Metaverse in four key sub-themes. In this blog, we aim to dive deeper into the sub-theme that arguably started it all – gaming.

Gaming has been closely associated with the Metaverse since its genesis, and this theme is currently where we find the most advanced developments as a result. Virtual worlds are nothing new to the gaming industry and have been subject to increasing amounts of research and development as their success grew. Older generation virtual worlds or massively multiplayer online games (MMOs) such as Second Life or Runescape, once a more niche part of the internet, have been succeeded by hugely popular platforms such as World of Warcraft, and more recently Fortnite and Roblox. These have achieved mainstream acceptance and are popular with a range of age groups. Key to this shift are those huge leaps forward in technological capabilities, and crucially the accessibility and pricing of gaming consoles. The advances in the 3D worlds these programs provide require significant PC-based hardware investment, but consoles - with their powerful gaming engines - have a single price point and are far more wallet-friendly for consumers. Another tailwind for investing in gaming is that the process of buying a game is no longer a one-off. Downloadable content, subscription models, upgrades and paid-for character avatars to boost one’s appearance on the Metaverse mean that gaming companies benefit from a regular revenue stream from these microtransactions.

Gaming is no longer the preserve of the technically minded. The line between gaming and entertainment has blurred, which is a trend that existed before the COVID-19 pandemic, but which has accelerated significantly over the past two years as online interactions became the norm. Nintendo’s Switch console – so named due to its ability to double as both a TV dock and handheld gaming device – as well is its smaller cousin, the Switch Lite, sold out repeatedly during lockdown. The Animal Crossing: New Horizons game, which allows people to live vicariously through an avatar and create idyllic island worlds, came out at just the right time to fulfil a need for people to escape the immediate confines of lockdown and travel and connect with friends online for a more interactive form of home-based entertainment than, say, binge-watching TV shows. Pokémon GO, the online version of the popular video game franchise, provided another accessible way for consumers to access augmented reality capabilities through their mobile devices and overlay them with their immediate real-life environment, even when confined indoors.1

It’s worth noting that younger generations have grown up with the internet at an advanced stage of fast, relatively low-cost wi-fi capabilities and are used to always being connected, further entrenched by two years of physical social isolation. The increased appetite for the world exploring via the Metaverse is only likely to grow with time. It’s also important to consider scale. The demand for tickets to traditional, physical concerts often outstrips supply. Bands with large fan bases can now use the Metaverse to tap into a huge opportunity without the confines and logistics of physical space. This trend first began in the Korean pop genre in the early 2000s but gained considerable traction when Duran Duran became the first globally popular artists to play a large-scale virtual concert. The British band, well known for their early adoption of technology since helping to pioneer the music video in the early 1980s, performed via the Second Life platform in 2006.2 At the time, Second Life had a virtual population of under 400,000 users. Today is a very different story – chart-topping current artists are tearing up the rulebook. Popular American music producer and DJ Marshmello played to a virtual audience of over ten million people in 2020 via the video game Fortnite. This trend not only opens up a much wider audience for bands, record labels and technology providers, but it also has an additional benefit of making music and events safer and more accessible to people with mobility issues or other barriers to attending physical concerts. There is, of course, the safeguarding aspect of online performances to consider, and we’ll discuss this further on a future blog alongside cybersecurity, part of the ‘Enablers’ sub-theme.

Choose your players

There are numerous exciting gaming opportunities within the Metaverse universe. These range from the pure gaming plays such as Electronic Arts, who are the developers behind many current and robust gaming franchises such as The Sims, Apex Legends, and various Star Wars games. Roblox, the popular platform mentioned earlier, is a leader in the Metaverse space with over 50 million daily active users who use its proprietary gaming engine, Roblox Studio, to create, share, and buy and sell games with an online community. Take-Two Interactive Software owns names such as Rockstar Games, the developer behind such gaming behemoths as Grand Theft Auto and Red Dead Redemption. Square Enix appeals to another part of the market with its Dragon Quest and Final Fantasy franchises, as well as interactive stories aimed at more casual players such as its Life is Strange series. It’s also notable for deriving 54% of its revenue from mobile and online services.

M&A activity also has a huge impact on gaming stocks. Due to the competitiveness of this industry, the big developers are often keen to add both emerging and established success stories to their portfolio of franchises strategically and have been gobbling up other companies in a manner reminiscent of Pac-Man. Microsoft announced plans to acquire the high-profile gaming company Activision Blizzard at the seismic price of $69 billion. Whilst the deal is pending regulatory approval, this transaction would see Microsoft become the third biggest gaming company in the world. If the acquisition were to go through, it would add a strong suite of immersive and collaborative experiences to its armoury such as Call of Duty, World of Warcraft, Overwatch and Diablo. It also owns the popular Candy Crush mobile game which takes advantage of the smart phone transition. In 2022, it’s likely that almost everyone you know is carrying around a small convenient gaming device in their pocket.  

The gaming sub-theme can diversify further by considering the enabling technology and equipment manufacturers, such as Sony Group. This key technology enabler is developing a next-generation virtual reality (VR) headset which will amplify the immersive effects of both gaming, and virtual events and performing. The popularity of these occasions is only likely to rise as the virtual experience becomes more and more like the real thing. Equally key to driving the growth and success of the Metaverse are gaming engine developers, which underpin the user experience and provide the crucial tools needed to render powerful 3D worlds and simulate them to believable quality, speeds and resolutions. Tencent Holdings acquired a 40% share of Epic Games in 2012, the software company behind Fortnite and the commercially available Unreal game engine.3 Unity Software with its proprietary 3D gaming engine has made a series of acquisitions such as Weta Digital, the special effects studio used by popular film director Peter Jackson (Lord of the Rings franchise, amongst others). Unity added another revolutionary string to its bow by acquiring Ziva Dynamics in 2022, a leading simulation developer with real-time artificial intelligence (AI) creation and sophisticated machine learning abilities, bringing artificial characters and their appearance and behaviour within the Metaverse closer to reality and help continue to make it an increasingly exciting and realistic place to be for participants.4

Companies shown are for illustrative purposes only as of 15/07/2022. It does not constitute investment research or financial analysis relating to transactions in financial instruments, nor does it constitute an offer to buy or sell any investments, products or services, and should not be considered as solicitation or investment, legal or tax advice, a recommendation for an investment strategy or a personalised recommendation to buy or sell securities.

Checkpoint - Save your progress?

We hope you enjoyed reading about the exciting gaming sub-theme of the Metaverse and have a renewed appreciation for just how pervasive the Metaverse is becoming into our daily lives and continues to gain scale, acceptance and credibility when finding real-world, attractive opportunities for long-term growth. Stay connected for our next piece which will take a closer look at the ‘socialising’ sub-theme.

  • SG93IFBva8OpbW9uIEdPICdrZXB0IHBlb3BsZSBzYW5lJyBkdXJpbmcgbG9ja2Rvd24gfCBUaGUgTGlnaHRob3VzZSAoPGEgaHJlZj0ibXEuZWR1LmF1Ij5tcS5lZHUuYXU8L2E+KQ==
  • RHVyYW4gRHVyYW4gZ2V0cyBhIFNlY29uZCBMaWZlIC0gQ05FVA==

    Disclaimer

    This website is published by AXA Investment Managers Asia Limited (“AXA IM HK”), an entity licensed by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (“SFC”), for general circulation and informational purposes only. It does not constitute investment research or financial analysis relating to transactions in financial instruments, nor does it constitute on the part of AXA Investment Managers or its affiliated companies an offer to buy, sell or enter into any transactions in respect of any investments, products or services, and should not be considered as solicitation or investment, legal, tax or any other advice, a recommendation for an investment strategy or a personalised recommendation to buy or sell securities under any applicable law or regulation. It has been prepared without taking into account the specific personal circumstances, investment objectives, financial situation, investment knowledge or particular needs of any particular person and may be subject to change at any time without notice. Offering may be made only on the basis of the information disclosed in the relevant offering documents. Please consult independent financial or other professional advisers if you are unsure about any information contained herein.

    Due to its simplification, this publication is partial and opinions, estimates and forecasts herein are subjective and subject to change without notice. There is no guarantee such opinions, estimates and forecasts made will come to pass. Actual results of operations and achievements may differ materially. Data, figures, declarations, analysis, predictions and other information in this publication is provided based on our state of knowledge at the time of creation of this publication. Information herein may be obtained from sources believed to be reliable. AXA IM HK has reasonable belief that such information is accurate, complete and up-to-date. To the maximum extent permitted by law, AXA IM HK, its affiliates, directors, officers or employees take no responsibility for the data provided by third party, including the accuracy of such data. This material does not contain sufficient information to support an investment decision. References to companies (if any) are for illustrative purposes only and should not be viewed as investment recommendations or solicitations.

    All investment involves risk, including the loss of capital. The value of investments and the income from them can fluctuate and that past performance is no guarantee of future returns, investors may not get back the amount originally invested. Investors should not make any investment decision based on this material alone. 

    Some of the services listed on this Website may not be available for offer to retail investors.

    This Website has not been reviewed by the SFC. © 2022 AXA Investment Managers. All rights reserved.