Investment Institute
科技

主題投資一瞥:用可持續科技趨勢重塑投資組合

  • 22 七月 2021 (5 分鐘閱讀)

以科技驅動創新既是應對全球環境及社會挑戰的最可行方式之一,亦能為投資組合帶來正面影響。

事實上,可持續科技適用於不同行業和市場。在健康、運輸、智慧城市、數據保安、資源善用及清潔能源領域上,可持續科技能夠解決全球因人口老化、資源減少、貧窮、社會不公及氣候變化而產生的重大需求。

可持續科技的普及從世界經濟論壇的「2021年技術先鋒」評選之中可見一斑。在100間入選的全球初創及成長期企業中,我們可以看到多個領域的先行者,這些公司從事的業務包括量子網絡安全、用水權數碼化及使用衛星成像技術計算森林的碳捕集量1

雖然上述及其他高速發展的可持續科技行業需要努力才能產生穩定的長期回報,但有關投資正日漸受到歡迎及追捧。

市場傾向主題投資

這同時也反映了主題投資正日漸成為主流,這種投資理念通常采取由上而下的方針,幫助投資者發掘及把握宏觀經濟、地緣政治及科技的長期趨勢。

投資者對主題投資型產品的需求不斷增長。環球金融科技龍頭Broadridge2 的一項新研究進一步印證了投資決策的焦點越來越多地轉移到主題投資這一市場趨勢。

舉例來說,自2018年以來,主題投資類基金的資產年度增長率便達到37%,而在2020年疫情期間,這類資產年增長率更上升至77%。從2017年起,主題式投資組合約佔全球股票基金淨銷售總額合共40%3

主題投資方針有助投資者預測最能從變化中獲利的企業,以建立切合未來的投資組合,而非專注於短期的宏觀市場噪音或投資熱潮。

亞洲市場關注可持續發展及科技投資

亞太區的可持續發展及科技投資特別值得留意。儘管該區需求波動,而且變幻莫測,Broadridge的研究顯示,新興科技成為了資金流最大的宏觀主題,其次是可持續發展

至於微觀主題方面,投資於顛覆性及「另類」科技的基金錄得最大的累計資金流,當中包括主要來自保安/網絡安全、金融科技、半導體、網絡連接及數碼化主題的機遇

Image

 

在新冠肺炎疫情後,投資者對上述主題的興趣明顯增加,原因是科技及數碼化發展對商業運作及消費者行為產生了重大影響。

舉例而言,Deloitte Insights 便預測2030年中國電動車的銷售將會佔國內新車銷售的48%4 。毫無疑問,綠色科技浪潮亦對相關生態系統有利,使電池、零件及半導體行業受惠。

與此同時,亞太區佔全球能源消耗及溫室氣體排放的一半,因此社會格外重視發展可持續能源5

目前,我們急切需要增加對可再生能源的投資。新資金不單可以支持多項發展目標,更可配合中國、日本及南韓政府對減低碳排放、提升空氣質素及改善公眾健康的承諾。除此以外,與化石能源相比,可再生能源投資可以創造多達約三倍的就業機會。

全新焦點:從傳統的行業型投資轉型至對未來趨勢的投資

Broadridge的研究顯示,科技將會成為未來10年的主要重大結構性趨勢,並且決定區內的整體經濟及社會狀況。

由此可見,疫情改變了投資者的習慣及規律,吸引他們買入主題基金產品,藉此從轉變中分一杯羹。

Image

 

過往有人批評主題式基金只能在牛市期間實現資產增值,但上述調查正好反擊有關觀點。事實上,根據該項研究和來自全球各地的大量證據,即使面對像2020年疫情一樣的最嚴峻市況,主題基金仍然具備吸引投資者的特質,并且展現一定的韌性。

話雖如此,在投資者預測現時及未來的可持續科技趨勢,並決定投資組合部署時,他們必須採用清晰的準則界定不同主題。

例如,在各個行業(如科技業)中發掘機遇的基金,與利用特定主題(如機械人

在這個例子中,只有後者才能受惠於智能城市的增長潛力。所謂的智能城市,是以數碼方式連接住屋、公用事業、服務及所有基礎設施,並利用人工智能技術完善貨物及居民流動的城市。在2026年,預期全球智能城市的市場規模將會達到2.5萬億美元6

越來越多的證據表明,從傳統的行業主導方針轉型至主題投資方針,將有助投資者把握可持續科技帶來的全新投資機遇。

  • https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2021/06/technology-pioneers-2021-world-economic-forum/
  • 該項研究於2021年第一季進行,期間訪問了歐洲、亞太區及北美的90間基金挑選者,並按照定性基準了解他們使用主題基金的情況及看法
  • 資料來源:安盛投資管理及Broadridge的研究:「主題投資將會改變資產管理行業?」
  • https://www2.deloitte.com/us/en/insights/focus/future-of-mobility/electric-vehicle-trends-2030.html
  • https://www.unescap.org/blog/sustainable-energy-future-asia-pacific-regions-journey-2030
  • https://nz.finance.yahoo.com/news/global-smart-cities-market-reach-075900787.html

    免責聲明

    本網站由已獲香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會 (以下簡稱「證監會」) 發牌的安盛投資管理亞洲有限公司(以下簡稱「安盛投資香港」)發布,內容僅供一般傳閱及資料參考之用。按照任何適用的法律或法規,本網站並不構成與金融工具交易相關的投資研究或財務分析,也不構成安盛投資管理公司或其關聯公司作出買賣任何投資、產品或服務或進行任何相關交易的要約,並不應被視為招攬或投資、法律、稅務或任何其他建議、投資策略建議或買賣證券的個人化建議。本網站的編寫沒有考慮任何特定人士的具體情況、投資目標、財務狀況、投資知識或特殊需要,亦有可能會隨時更改而恕不另行通知。要約僅會按照相關發行文件中所披露的資料作出。如果閣下不肯定本網站所載任何資訊的含義,請諮詢獨立財務顧問或其他專業顧問。

    由於本網站內容經過簡化,所載內容並不完整並屬於意見;文中的估計和預測具主觀性,如有更改,恕不另行通知,此等意見、估計及預測亦不保證會成真。實際營運結果及成果或存在重大差異。本網站內的資料、數字、聲明、分析、預測和其他資料乃根據我們在建立本網站時的知識狀態提供。本文所載的資訊從相信屬可靠之來源獲得。安盛投資香港有理由相信該等資訊為準確、完整及最新。在法律允許的最大範圍內,安盛投資香港、其關聯公司、董事、高級人員或僱員對第三方所提供的數據(包括該等數據的準確性)概不承擔任何責任。本文件並未載有足以支持作出投資決策的資訊。所提及的公司資料(如有)只供說明之用,並且不應被視作為投資建議或招攬。

    所有投資均涉及風險,包括損失資本。投資價值以及收益可升可跌,過往表現並不保證未來回報,投資者或會無法收回最初的投資金額。投資者不應僅根據本資料作出任何投資決定。 

    本網站列出的某些服務或不適用於零售投資者。

    本網站未經證監會審閱。© 2022年安盛投資管理公司。版權所有。

Investment Institute
Technology

A thematic touch: Transforming portfolios with sustainable technology

  • 22 July 2021 (5 min read)

Technology-driven innovation is one of the most viable ways to tackle the world’s environmental and societal challenges, while at the same time delivering a positive impact on investment portfolios.

Indeed, sustainable technology applies across multiple industries and markets. From health, transport and smart cities to data security, resource optimisation and clean energy, it can solve key global needs stemming from ageing populations, dwindling resources, poverty, inequality and climate change.

This is reflected in the World Economic Forum’s ‘Technology Pioneers of 2021’. Among these 100 early- to growth-stage companies from around the world are pacesetters in areas such as quantum-based cybersecurity, digitisation of water rights and use of satellite imaging to measure carbon captured in forests1 .

For investors, exposure to these and other rapidly-developing sustainable technology sectors is becoming increasingly popular – and sought after – amid efforts to generate reliable long-term returns.

Taking a thematic tilt

This reflects the general mainstreaming of thematic investing – a top-down approach to enable investors to capitalise on identified, longer-term macro-economic, geopolitical and technological trends.

Demand is growing. And new research conducted by Broadridge2 , a global fintech leader, reinforces the widespread shift in focus towards themes in driving investment decisions.

For example, assets in these types of funds had already grown at an annual rate of 37% since 2018; Covid-19 accelerated this to 77% in 2020. In all, since 2017 thematic portfolios have represented almost 40% of all equity fund net sales globally3 .

The rationale of thematic investing is to future-proof portfolios by giving investors better visibility on the trajectories of those companies best positioned for change – rather than focus on short-term macro noise or investment flows.

Eyeing sustainability and tech in Asia

This is especially notable in Asia Pacific. While demand across the region is volatile and changing, the Broadridge research shows emerging tech as the largest macro theme in terms of flows, followed by sustainability.

And in terms of micro themes, the highest cumulative flows go to funds investing in disruptive and ‘other’ tech – which includes the opportunity arising from themes predominately clustered among security / cyber security, fintech, semiconductor, connectivity and digitalisation.

Image

 

Appetite for these has clearly accelerated since Covid-19 as the role of technology and influence of digitalisation have exerted a tight grip on business practices as well as consumer behaviour.

Deloitte Insights, for instance, has forecast that by 2030 electric vehicle (EV) sales will account for 48% of domestic new car sales in China4 . And this green tech evolution inevitably fuels an ecosystem that also includes batteries, parts and semiconductors.

The focus on sustainable energy, meanwhile, is particularly encouraging, given that the Asia Pacific region is responsible for half of the world’s energy consumption and half of global greenhouse gas emissions5 .

Increasing fund flows into renewable forms of energy are in urgent need. Not only will they support multiple development objectives in line with government commitments in China, Japan and South Korea towards lower carbon emissions, cleaner air and improved public health outcomes, the required investments in renewables can also create almost three times as many jobs as investments in fossil energy sources.

A new focus: from traditional sectors to future trends

The Broadridge research suggests that technology will be the dominant structural megatrend that will define economies and societies across the region as a whole over the next 10 years.

It reflects the impact of the pandemic in spurring change in investment habits and patterns – which, in turn, has lured investors to thematic fund products that leverage this evolution.

Image

 

This has shattered previous criticism sometimes levelled against thematic funds – that they are only ever capable of raising assets in a bull market. Instead, the research, among mounting global evidence, shows that these funds are capable of presenting a strong case to investors and remain resilient in even the most distressed market conditions, including the pandemic in 2020.

However, to position portfolios in expectation of current and future trends in sustainable technology, investors need to apply clear criteria in segmenting the theme.

There is an important difference, for example, between funds that identify opportunities by sector, such as technology, and those that identify them by the specific theme, such as developments in robotics and artificial intelligence.

For example, only the latter can leverage the growing potential of smart cities – in which housing, utilities, services and all infrastructure are connected digitally, using artificial intelligence to optimise the flow of goods and people. Indeed, the global smart cities market is projected to reach US$2.5 trillion by 20266 .

This is yet more evidence of how sustainable tech offers new investment opportunities by differentiating thematic approaches from traditional sector-focused ones.

  • aHR0cHM6Ly93d3cud2Vmb3J1bS5vcmcvYWdlbmRhLzIwMjEvMDYvdGVjaG5vbG9neS1waW9uZWVycy0yMDIxLXdvcmxkLWVjb25vbWljLWZvcnVtLw==
  • UmVzZWFyY2ggd2FzIGJhc2VkIG9uIGludGVydmlld3Mgd2l0aCA5MCBmdW5kIHNlbGVjdG9ycyBpbiBFdXJvcGUsIEFzaWEgUGFjaWZpYyBhbmQgTm9ydGggQW1lcmljYSBkdXJpbmcgUTEgMjAyMSwgZXhwbG9yaW5nIHRoZWlyIHVzYWdlIG9mIGFuZCB2aWV3cyBvbiB0aGVtYXRpYyBmdW5kcyBvbiBhIHF1YWxpdGF0aXZlIGJhc2lz
  • U291cmNlOiBBWEEgSU0gYW5kIEJyb2FkcmlkZ2UgcmVzZWFyY2gsIOKAnFRoZW1hdGljIGludmVzdGluZyBzZXQgdG8gdHJhbnNmb3JtIGFzc2V0IG1hbmFnZW1lbnQ/4oCd
  • aHR0cHM6Ly93d3cyLmRlbG9pdHRlLmNvbS91cy9lbi9pbnNpZ2h0cy9mb2N1cy9mdXR1cmUtb2YtbW9iaWxpdHkvZWxlY3RyaWMtdmVoaWNsZS10cmVuZHMtMjAzMC5odG1s
  • aHR0cHM6Ly93d3cudW5lc2NhcC5vcmcvYmxvZy9zdXN0YWluYWJsZS1lbmVyZ3ktZnV0dXJlLWFzaWEtcGFjaWZpYy1yZWdpb25zLWpvdXJuZXktMjAzMA==
  • aHR0cHM6Ly9uei5maW5hbmNlLnlhaG9vLmNvbS9uZXdzL2dsb2JhbC1zbWFydC1jaXRpZXMtbWFya2V0LXJlYWNoLTA3NTkwMDc4Ny5odG1s

    Disclaimer

    This website is published by AXA Investment Managers Asia Limited (“AXA IM HK”), an entity licensed by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (“SFC”), for general circulation and informational purposes only. It does not constitute investment research or financial analysis relating to transactions in financial instruments, nor does it constitute on the part of AXA Investment Managers or its affiliated companies an offer to buy, sell or enter into any transactions in respect of any investments, products or services, and should not be considered as solicitation or investment, legal, tax or any other advice, a recommendation for an investment strategy or a personalised recommendation to buy or sell securities under any applicable law or regulation. It has been prepared without taking into account the specific personal circumstances, investment objectives, financial situation, investment knowledge or particular needs of any particular person and may be subject to change at any time without notice. Offering may be made only on the basis of the information disclosed in the relevant offering documents. Please consult independent financial or other professional advisers if you are unsure about any information contained herein.

    Due to its simplification, this publication is partial and opinions, estimates and forecasts herein are subjective and subject to change without notice. There is no guarantee such opinions, estimates and forecasts made will come to pass. Actual results of operations and achievements may differ materially. Data, figures, declarations, analysis, predictions and other information in this publication is provided based on our state of knowledge at the time of creation of this publication. Information herein may be obtained from sources believed to be reliable. AXA IM HK has reasonable belief that such information is accurate, complete and up-to-date. To the maximum extent permitted by law, AXA IM HK, its affiliates, directors, officers or employees take no responsibility for the data provided by third party, including the accuracy of such data. This material does not contain sufficient information to support an investment decision. References to companies (if any) are for illustrative purposes only and should not be viewed as investment recommendations or solicitations.

    All investment involves risk, including the loss of capital. The value of investments and the income from them can fluctuate and that past performance is no guarantee of future returns, investors may not get back the amount originally invested. Investors should not make any investment decision based on this material alone. 

    Some of the services listed on this Website may not be available for offer to retail investors.

    This Website has not been reviewed by the SFC. © 2022 AXA Investment Managers. All rights reserved.