Investment Institute
宏觀市場觀點

美聯儲和英倫銀行加息,利率升至2008年以來新高,日本干預匯市

  • 26 九月 2022 (3 分鐘閱讀)

您需要知道什麼?

美聯儲和英倫銀行將利率提高至 2008 年金融危機以來的最高水平,以尋求應對通脹。美聯儲連續第三次加息75個基點,利率升至3%-3.25%,市場受此消息影響而下跌。根據利率預期「點陣圖」,官員們預測未來還會有更多加息跡象,到2022年底的預測中值為4.4%,而6月份的預測為3.4%,明年將達到4.6%。美聯儲對2022年GDP的預測從6月份的1.7%下調至0.2%。英倫銀行加息50個基點升至2.25%,此為其連續第七次加息。它預計第三季度的經濟將收縮0.1%,這將使英國陷入技術性衰退。

環球市場

日本自1998年以來首次干預貨幣市場,以買入日元的方式阻止日元大幅下跌。此舉源於本月較早時份,日元兌美元匯率跌至24年低點。財務省負責國際事務的副大臣神田正人稱此舉為「決定性行動」。隨著市場傳出的報導,日元兌美元匯率上漲了約 2%。這一決策作出的原因是由於先前日本央行逆勢而為,堅持將利率維持在-0.1%的歷史低點。日本央行還確認了將利率保持在「當前或更低水平」的承諾。

焦點數字:93美元

本週油價因受到不同消息的衝擊而出現波動。週三,布倫特原油價格高達93美元,因俄羅斯宣布進行部分動員,可能在烏克蘭境內增加30萬名士兵。這一勢頭受到中國對原油需求上升的支持,美國和中東運輸到中國的原油運費達到兩年來新高。然而,美聯儲的加息緩和了漲幅,對美國汽油需求的擔憂將價格推回至接近89美元的水平。週五上午,布倫特原油的交易價格約為90美元,一周內變化不大。

智慧之言:

數字歐元:由歐洲中央銀行和其他各國中央銀行發起的歐元電子化,旨在幫助實現歐洲經濟的數字化。數字歐元將被設計為一種無風險且穩定的支付方式,旨在提高可獲得性。倡議仍處於早期階段,正在測試它可能對立法和金融部門產生的潛在影響。歐洲央行已經選擇了五家公司參與原型設計工作,這將確定最終的用戶界面。該結果將會在2023年初公佈。

最新市場動態?

週一,德國將發布9月Ifo商業景氣指數,而美國一系列房屋銷售和價格數據將於週二公佈。週三,日本央行將公佈最新貨幣政策會議紀要。週四,美國將公佈第二季度GDP增長的最終讀數,以及在同一天,包括最新消費者信心指數、工業景氣指數和經濟景氣指數在內的幾項歐元區指標將公佈。週五將公佈最新的歐元區通脹和失業數據,同時印度儲備銀行將開會決定利率。

Related Articles

宏觀市場觀點

美聯儲會議備忘錄發出「誤解」警示;國際貨幣基金組織預計全球三分之一地區將陷入衰退。

  • by AXA IM Investment Institute
  • 09 一月 2023 (3 分鐘閱讀)
宏觀市場觀點

美國通脹意外放緩提振股市,COP27上呼籲製定漂綠規則

  • by AXA IM Investment Institute
  • 14 十一月 2022 (3 分鐘閱讀)
宏觀市場觀點

每月中國及亞洲市場觀點:中國股市最壞情況已經過去?

  • by 姚遠 , 莊瑋倫
  • 27 五月 2022 (5 分鐘閱讀)

    免責聲明

    本網站由已獲香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會 (以下簡稱「證監會」) 發牌的安盛投資管理亞洲有限公司(以下簡稱「安盛投資香港」)發布,內容僅供一般傳閱及資料參考之用。按照任何適用的法律或法規,本網站並不構成與金融工具交易相關的投資研究或財務分析,也不構成安盛投資管理公司或其關聯公司作出買賣任何投資、產品或服務或進行任何相關交易的要約,並不應被視為招攬或投資、法律、稅務或任何其他建議、投資策略建議或買賣證券的個人化建議。本網站的編寫沒有考慮任何特定人士的具體情況、投資目標、財務狀況、投資知識或特殊需要,亦有可能會隨時更改而恕不另行通知。要約僅會按照相關發行文件中所披露的資料作出。如果閣下不肯定本網站所載任何資訊的含義,請諮詢獨立財務顧問或其他專業顧問。

    由於本網站內容經過簡化,所載內容並不完整並屬於意見;文中的估計和預測具主觀性,如有更改,恕不另行通知,此等意見、估計及預測亦不保證會成真。實際營運結果及成果或存在重大差異。本網站內的資料、數字、聲明、分析、預測和其他資料乃根據我們在建立本網站時的知識狀態提供。本文所載的資訊從相信屬可靠之來源獲得。安盛投資香港有理由相信該等資訊為準確、完整及最新。在法律允許的最大範圍內,安盛投資香港、其關聯公司、董事、高級人員或僱員對第三方所提供的數據(包括該等數據的準確性)概不承擔任何責任。本文件並未載有足以支持作出投資決策的資訊。所提及的公司資料(如有)只供說明之用,並且不應被視作為投資建議或招攬。

    所有投資均涉及風險,包括損失資本。投資價值以及收益可升可跌,過往表現並不保證未來回報,投資者或會無法收回最初的投資金額。投資者不應僅根據本資料作出任何投資決定。 

    本網站列出的某些服務或不適用於零售投資者。

    本網站未經證監會審閱。© 2023年安盛投資管理公司。版權所有。

Latest fraudulent alert - last updated on Apr 2023. To find out more information and how to protect yourself, please click here.

Investment Institute
Macroeconomics

Take Two: Fed and Bank of England raise rates to 2008 highs, Japan intervenes in currency market

  • 26 September 2022 (3 min read)

What do you need to know?

The US Federal Reserve and Bank of England raised interest rates to their highest levels since the 2008 financial crisis as they sought to tackle inflation. The Fed’s third consecutive 75-basis-point (bp) hike took rates to 3%-3.25% and markets fell on the news. The so-called ‘dot plot’ chart of officials’ rate expectations signalled more to come, with a median forecast of 4.4% by the end of 2022, compared to June’s forecast of 3.4%, and reaching 4.6% next year. The Fed’s 2022 GDP forecast was cut to 0.2% from 1.7% in June. The Bank of England raised rates by 50bp to 2.25%, its seventh consecutive increase. It expects the economy to contract by 0.1% in the third quarter (Q3), which would put the UK into a technical recession.

Around the world

Japan intervened in currency markets for the first time since 1998, buying yen to help arrest a sharp decline – earlier this month the yen fell to a 24-year low against the US dollar. Vice Finance Minister for International Affairs Masato Kanda called the move “decisive action” – the yen rose around 2% against the dollar as reports filtered into markets. The decision came after the Bank of Japan bucked the trend among central banks and stuck with ultra-low interest rates at -0.1%. It also confirmed its pledge to leave rates at “present or lower levels”.

Figure in Focus: $93

Oil prices were volatile during the week, buffeted by contrasting news flow. Brent crude moved as high as $93 on Wednesday as Russia announced a planned partial mobilisation that would potentially add 300,000 more soldiers on the ground in Ukraine. That momentum was supported by anticipation of rising Chinese demand for crude oil, with freight rates to China of crude from the US and Middle East reaching a two-year high. The Fed’s rate hike, however, helped to moderate gains, with fears about US gasoline demand pushing the price back close to $89. Brent was trading at around $90 on Friday morning, little changed over the week.

Words of Wisdom:

Digital Euro: The prospect of an electronic form of the euro, initiated by the European Central Bank (ECB) and various other national central banks to help digitalise the European economy. The digital euro would be designed to be a risk-free and stable form of payment with the aim of improving accessibility. The initiative is still in the early stages, testing the potential impact it might have on legislation and the financial sector. The ECB has selected five companies to take part in a prototyping exercise which will determine the eventual user interfaces. The results of that exercise will be published in early 2023.

What’s coming up?

Germany releases its September Ifo business climate index on Monday, while a series of US home sales and prices data are announced on Tuesday. On Wednesday, the Bank of Japan publishes the minutes from its latest monetary policy meeting. A final reading for Q2 US GDP growth is released on Thursday, as are several Eurozone measures, including the latest consumer confidence, industrial and economic sentiment indices. On Friday updated Eurozone inflation and unemployment numbers are reported, while the Reserve Bank of India meets to decide on interest rates.

Related Articles

Macroeconomics

Pesky Data

  • by Gilles Moëc
  • 19 February 2024 (10 min read)
Macroeconomics

Deferred Confidence

  • by Gilles Moëc
  • 05 February 2024 (10 min read)
Macroeconomics

Risk Asymmetry

  • by Gilles Moëc
  • 08 January 2024 (10 min read)

    Disclaimer

    This website is published by AXA Investment Managers Asia Limited (“AXA IM HK”), an entity licensed by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (“SFC”), for general circulation and informational purposes only. It does not constitute investment research or financial analysis relating to transactions in financial instruments, nor does it constitute on the part of AXA Investment Managers or its affiliated companies an offer to buy, sell or enter into any transactions in respect of any investments, products or services, and should not be considered as solicitation or investment, legal, tax or any other advice, a recommendation for an investment strategy or a personalised recommendation to buy or sell securities under any applicable law or regulation. It has been prepared without taking into account the specific personal circumstances, investment objectives, financial situation, investment knowledge or particular needs of any particular person and may be subject to change at any time without notice. Offering may be made only on the basis of the information disclosed in the relevant offering documents. Please consult independent financial or other professional advisers if you are unsure about any information contained herein.

    Due to its simplification, this publication is partial and opinions, estimates and forecasts herein are subjective and subject to change without notice. There is no guarantee such opinions, estimates and forecasts made will come to pass. Actual results of operations and achievements may differ materially. Data, figures, declarations, analysis, predictions and other information in this publication is provided based on our state of knowledge at the time of creation of this publication. Information herein may be obtained from sources believed to be reliable. AXA IM HK has reasonable belief that such information is accurate, complete and up-to-date. To the maximum extent permitted by law, AXA IM HK, its affiliates, directors, officers or employees take no responsibility for the data provided by third party, including the accuracy of such data. This material does not contain sufficient information to support an investment decision. References to companies (if any) are for illustrative purposes only and should not be viewed as investment recommendations or solicitations.

    All investment involves risk, including the loss of capital. The value of investments and the income from them can fluctuate and that past performance is no guarantee of future returns, investors may not get back the amount originally invested. Investors should not make any investment decision based on this material alone. 

    Some of the services listed on this Website may not be available for offer to retail investors.

    This Website has not been reviewed by the SFC. © 2023 AXA Investment Managers. All rights reserved.