Investment Institute
每週市場速報(Take 2)

英鎊跌至歷史新低位,英倫銀行出手干預,歐元區通脹創新紀錄

  • 03 十月 2022 (3 分鐘閱讀)

您需要知道什麼?

英倫銀行(BoE) 表示將購買被稱為金邊債券的英國國債,以應對市場對財政大臣夸滕(Kwasi Kwarteng)宣布財政計劃後產生的劇烈反應。這項無資金支援的減稅(unfunded tax cuts)方案,使英鎊兌美元匯率在反彈之前跌至歷史新低,而英國的利率預期則大幅走高,30 年期英國國債收益率達到5%以上,這是2002年以來的最高水平。在英倫銀行進行干預之後,收益率回落至4%以下,並稱從現在到10月14日期間,將根據「任何必要的規模」購買長期金邊債券。這項稅收方案受到各界廣泛批評,其中包括國際貨幣基金組織。英國第二季度GDP增長率從-0.1%修正為0.2%,經常賬戶赤字佔GDP的比例從第一季度修正後的7.2%(此前預估值為8.3%) 下降到5.5%。

環球市場

9月份歐元區同比通脹率升至10%,再度創下歷史新高,高於市場預期,亦高於8月份的9.1%。德國通脹處於70年來的最高水平,人們對歐洲中央銀行大幅加息的預期有所增加。在此背景下,歐盟委員會公佈的經濟景氣指數跌幅超過預期。上週較早時候,歐洲央行行長拉加德重申,儘管預計的經濟活動將「大幅放緩」,歐洲央行仍將繼續加息。她還表示,各國政府的財政干預措施過於寬泛,並未為最需要幫助的人量身定制。

焦點數字:2.8%

根據世界銀行的數據,今年中國的經濟增長預計將落後於東亞和太平洋地區,這是自1990年以來首次。由於繼續受疫情及房地產行業危機影響,中國將2022年GDP增長預測從4月份預測的5%下調至2.8%,遠低於2021年報告的8.1%。中國製造業活動情況好壞參半,9月份公佈的採購經理人指數 (PMI) 從8月份的49.4回升至50.1,而私人財新PMI從49.5下降至48.1。

智慧之言:

氣候智慧型農業(CSA):一種將綠色和適應氣候變化相結合的農業方法,以應對糧食安全、發展和氣候變化的挑戰。CSA旨在通過提高生產力、最大限度地減少與氣候相關的風險以及減少農業溫室氣體排放,來改變農業食品系統。上週,美國總統拜登政府宣佈,將為一個由70個項目組成的試點方案提供28億美元的資金,以激勵採用這些農業技術,也作為使該國農業部門更具可持續性的努力的一部分。

最新市場動態

週一,日本央行將公佈其9月會議的意見摘要,即經濟展望。澳大利亞儲備銀行在9月份將現金利率提高50個基點,升至 2.35%後,將於週二召開10月份貨幣政策會議。週三將看到美國、 英國和歐元區9月份的最終採購經理人指數。週四,印度將公佈採購經理人指數,週五,美國將公佈最新的就業數據。

Related Articles

每週市場速報(Take 2)

中國經濟增長放緩,人口減少; 全球債券發行量激增

  • by AXA Investment Managers
  • 23 一月 2023 (3 分鐘閱讀)
每週市場速報(Take 2)

美聯儲和歐洲央行表示未來將進一步加息,新能源宣布重大突破

  • by AXA Investment Managers
  • 19 十二月 2022 (3 分鐘閱讀)
每週市場速報(Take 2)

中國放寬防疫限制; G7設定俄羅斯石油價格上限

  • by AXA IM Investment Institute
  • 12 十二月 2022 (5 分鐘閱讀)

    免責聲明

    本網站由已獲香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會 (以下簡稱「證監會」) 發牌的安盛投資管理亞洲有限公司(以下簡稱「安盛投資香港」)發布,內容僅供一般傳閱及資料參考之用。按照任何適用的法律或法規,本網站並不構成與金融工具交易相關的投資研究或財務分析,也不構成安盛投資管理公司或其關聯公司作出買賣任何投資、產品或服務或進行任何相關交易的要約,並不應被視為招攬或投資、法律、稅務或任何其他建議、投資策略建議或買賣證券的個人化建議。本網站的編寫沒有考慮任何特定人士的具體情況、投資目標、財務狀況、投資知識或特殊需要,亦有可能會隨時更改而恕不另行通知。要約僅會按照相關發行文件中所披露的資料作出。如果閣下不肯定本網站所載任何資訊的含義,請諮詢獨立財務顧問或其他專業顧問。

    由於本網站內容經過簡化,所載內容並不完整並屬於意見;文中的估計和預測具主觀性,如有更改,恕不另行通知,此等意見、估計及預測亦不保證會成真。實際營運結果及成果或存在重大差異。本網站內的資料、數字、聲明、分析、預測和其他資料乃根據我們在建立本網站時的知識狀態提供。本文所載的資訊從相信屬可靠之來源獲得。安盛投資香港有理由相信該等資訊為準確、完整及最新。在法律允許的最大範圍內,安盛投資香港、其關聯公司、董事、高級人員或僱員對第三方所提供的數據(包括該等數據的準確性)概不承擔任何責任。本文件並未載有足以支持作出投資決策的資訊。所提及的公司資料(如有)只供說明之用,並且不應被視作為投資建議或招攬。

    所有投資均涉及風險,包括損失資本。投資價值以及收益可升可跌,過往表現並不保證未來回報,投資者或會無法收回最初的投資金額。投資者不應僅根據本資料作出任何投資決定。 

    本網站列出的某些服務或不適用於零售投資者。

    本網站未經證監會審閱。© 2023年安盛投資管理公司。版權所有。

Latest fraudulent alert - last updated on Apr 2023. To find out more information and how to protect yourself, please click here.

Investment Institute
Weekly Market Update

Take Two: BoE intervenes after sterling hits record low, Eurozone inflation hits record

  • 03 October 2022 (3 min read)

What do you need to know?

The Bank of England (BoE) said it would buy UK government debt – known as gilts – to address a dramatic market reaction to Chancellor Kwasi Kwarteng’s announced fiscal plans. Proposed unfunded tax cuts had seen sterling hit a record low against the US dollar before rallying, while UK interest rate expectations moved sharply higher and 30-year gilt yields reached more than 5%, the highest since 2002. Yields moved back below 4% after the BoE intervened, saying it would buy long-dated gilts “on whatever scale is necessary” – strictly until 14 October. The tax plans were widely criticised, including by the International Monetary Fund. UK second quarter (Q2) GDP growth was revised to 0.2% from -0.1%, and the current account deficit fell to 5.5% of GDP from Q1’s downward revised 7.2% (from 8.3%).

Around the world

Eurozone year-on-year inflation hit a record 10% in September, ahead of expectations and up from 9.1% in August. Inflation in Germany was at levels not seen in 70 years and expectations increased for a significant rate hike from the European Central Bank (ECB). Against this backdrop, the European Commission’s economic sentiment index fell more sharply than expected. Earlier in the week, ECB President Christine Lagarde reiterated the bank would continue to raise interest rates even though economic activity was expected to “slow substantially”. She also said fiscal interventions from national governments had been too broad rather than tailored for those most in need.

Figure in focus: 2.8%

China’s economic growth is expected to lag the East Asia and Pacific region this year for the first time since 1990, according to the World Bank. Citing COVID-19 outbreaks and difficulties in the real estate sector, it cut its 2022 GDP growth forecast to 2.8% from 5% predicted in April – down from 8.1% reported for 2021. There was a mixed picture from China manufacturing activity with the official Purchasing Managers’ Index (PMI) back in positive territory at 50.1 for September from 49.4 in August, while the private Caixin PMI showed a decline to 48.1 from 49.5.

Words of wisdom:

Climate Smart Agriculture (CSA): An approach to agriculture which integrates green and climate-resilient practices to address challenges of food security, development and climate change. CSA aims to transform agri-food systems by enhancing productivity, minimising climate-related risks and reducing sectoral emissions. Last week, US President Joe Biden’s administration announced $2.8bn in financing for a pilot programme of 70 projects that will incentivise the adoption of these farming techniques, as part of efforts to make the country’s agriculture sector more sustainable.

What’s coming up

On Monday, the Bank of Japan publishes its Summary of Opinions – its economic outlook – from its September meeting. The Reserve Bank of Australia, after raising its cash rate by 50 basis points to 2.35% in September, convenes for its October monetary policy meeting on Tuesday. Wednesday sees final PMIs covering September, for the US, UK and the Eurozone. On Thursday, India’s PMIs are published and on Friday the latest US jobs numbers are announced.

Related Articles

Weekly Market Update

Take Two: US inflation rises; Japan avoids recession as Q4 GDP revised up

  • by AXA Investment Managers
  • 18 March 2024 (3 min read)
Weekly Market Update

Take Two: ECB “not sufficiently confident” to start cutting rates yet; China sets 2024 growth target

  • by AXA Investment Managers
  • 11 March 2024 (3 min read)
Weekly Market Update

Take Two: Eurozone inflation falls by less than expected; global stocks hit fresh highs

  • by AXA Investment Managers
  • 04 March 2024 (3 min read)

    Disclaimer

    This website is published by AXA Investment Managers Asia Limited (“AXA IM HK”), an entity licensed by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (“SFC”), for general circulation and informational purposes only. It does not constitute investment research or financial analysis relating to transactions in financial instruments, nor does it constitute on the part of AXA Investment Managers or its affiliated companies an offer to buy, sell or enter into any transactions in respect of any investments, products or services, and should not be considered as solicitation or investment, legal, tax or any other advice, a recommendation for an investment strategy or a personalised recommendation to buy or sell securities under any applicable law or regulation. It has been prepared without taking into account the specific personal circumstances, investment objectives, financial situation, investment knowledge or particular needs of any particular person and may be subject to change at any time without notice. Offering may be made only on the basis of the information disclosed in the relevant offering documents. Please consult independent financial or other professional advisers if you are unsure about any information contained herein.

    Due to its simplification, this publication is partial and opinions, estimates and forecasts herein are subjective and subject to change without notice. There is no guarantee such opinions, estimates and forecasts made will come to pass. Actual results of operations and achievements may differ materially. Data, figures, declarations, analysis, predictions and other information in this publication is provided based on our state of knowledge at the time of creation of this publication. Information herein may be obtained from sources believed to be reliable. AXA IM HK has reasonable belief that such information is accurate, complete and up-to-date. To the maximum extent permitted by law, AXA IM HK, its affiliates, directors, officers or employees take no responsibility for the data provided by third party, including the accuracy of such data. This material does not contain sufficient information to support an investment decision. References to companies (if any) are for illustrative purposes only and should not be viewed as investment recommendations or solicitations.

    All investment involves risk, including the loss of capital. The value of investments and the income from them can fluctuate and that past performance is no guarantee of future returns, investors may not get back the amount originally invested. Investors should not make any investment decision based on this material alone. 

    Some of the services listed on this Website may not be available for offer to retail investors.

    This Website has not been reviewed by the SFC. © 2023 AXA Investment Managers. All rights reserved.