• 首頁
  • 體面住屋權與基本建設──社會及金融機會
Investment Institute
社會

體面住屋權與基本建設──社會及金融機會

  • 14 一月 2022 (7 分鐘閱讀)

社會投資與表現

若說新冠肺炎危機有一個好處,那就是社會優先事項獲得正確的審視。個人健康已成為不容商榷的價值觀,國家試圖盡可能保護民眾的工作和資源,企業亦力圖確保員工的安全和價值鏈的維持。

對環境和社會問題的日益關注在這場疫情中起到促進作用,而圍繞個人和集體責任的討論則影響了公共和私營界別的反應。

這段時期亦釐清了「責任金融」的價值主張及其在社會中的作用。有許多行業、主題和理念需要重新評估──住屋權就是一個很好的例子。投資者有可能本着雙重目標行事:分配資本謀求財務回報,同時對社會問題產生正面、顯著的影響。

中產階層的興起或有利於部分房地產市場

在美國心理學家馬斯洛(Abraham Maslow)提出的經典人類需求金字塔中,住屋位於第一層:基本需求及任何家庭預算的重要一部分。早在新冠肺炎危機之前,經濟合作暨發展組織(經合組織)成員國的住屋成本便已大幅上升,租客面對的情況尤其嚴峻,因為「可負擔住屋」供不應求。

要找到可負擔得起的住屋不容易,對低收入或入息不穩的族群、年輕人、有小孩的家庭和長者來說難度就更大了,有需要就此採取行動。舉例來說,為了防止中產階層被迫搬離市中心,德國政府正試圖實施市區政策,目的是控制甚至限制國內某些地區的租金價格。

TAG Immobilien是一家德國上市房地產公司,專營租金不超過每平方米6歐元的低租金領域。TAG Immobilien在德國擁有90,000多個住宅物業,在我們看來,其增長態勢平穩,物業出租率也高。隨着2020年收入增至3.23億歐元,這家房地產公司所產生的利潤重新投入到新項目,使其能夠在波蘭等新市場中發展。1 我們認為該行業不但保留中期升值前景,還具有抗逆力且風險相對較低。

在日本,房地產價格很高。世界銀行指出,若樓房價格超過個人年薪的四倍,即認為住屋權不可負擔。根據東京房地產市場研究公司Tokyo Kantei22 的資料,日本房價收入比為8.1倍。我們認為這為Katitas提供了有利的環境,該公司專門翻新老舊物業,並以合理價格將其出售。我們相信,這家別樹一幟的營運商可以奪走傳統房地產發展商的市佔率。這類房屋一般是為了收入或退休金不再增長並因此希望盡可能地根據其需要調整開支的人群而設。

美國方面,Sun Communities是一家具發展潛力的公司,其致力在南部和中西部地區提供優質而價廉的房屋。在這些地區,低收入家庭和退休人群的人口前景依然向好。Sun Communities於全國各地擴展其流動住宅和車屋社區,在向租客和購房者提供經濟實惠的住屋選擇方面發揮着重要作用。

  • 就買入而言,一套流動住宅的價格約為美國人年收入中位數的兩倍,而一套傳統住宅的價格約為美國人年收入中位數的7倍。
  • 在租出的情況下,Sun Communities聲稱其流動住宅的租戶可以獲得比傳統租屋多25%的空間,而且每平方米價格低約51%3

在新興國家,由於上市房地產公司往往定位高檔市場,投資領域尚未完全滿足我們自訂的影響力標準,我們的投資方法因而受到規限。

為了應對住屋這一社會問題及投資於房地產,我們深信我們必須更關注企業的業務模式,而不是它們所擁有或銷售的資產。因此,住屋權或許是推動社會進步、使正視這些問題的企業增長的真正力量。

  • https://www.tag-ag.com/fileadmin/content/geschaeftsberichte/TAG-IR-GB2020_ENG_einseitig_geschuetzt.pdf
  • https://resources.realestate.co.jp/living/how-affordable-is-it-to-buy-a-home-in-japan-compared-to-other-countries/
  • Sun Communities, Investor Presentation, June 2021

Related Articles

社會

英國失業率回落的真象

  • by Modupe Adegbembo
  • 29 四月 2022 (5 分鐘閱讀)
社會

擁有金融服務是為了融入社會。有何潛在投資機會?

  • by Anne Tolmunen
  • 14 一月 2022 (5 分鐘閱讀)
環境

烏克蘭危機如何影響氣候變化

  • by David Page , Olivier Eugène
  • 07 六月 2022 (10 分鐘閱讀)

    免責聲明

    本網站由已獲香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會 (以下簡稱「證監會」) 發牌的安盛投資管理亞洲有限公司(以下簡稱「安盛投資香港」)發布,內容僅供一般傳閱及資料參考之用。按照任何適用的法律或法規,本網站並不構成與金融工具交易相關的投資研究或財務分析,也不構成安盛投資管理公司或其關聯公司作出買賣任何投資、產品或服務或進行任何相關交易的要約,並不應被視為招攬或投資、法律、稅務或任何其他建議、投資策略建議或買賣證券的個人化建議。本網站的編寫沒有考慮任何特定人士的具體情況、投資目標、財務狀況、投資知識或特殊需要,亦有可能會隨時更改而恕不另行通知。要約僅會按照相關發行文件中所披露的資料作出。如果閣下不肯定本網站所載任何資訊的含義,請諮詢獨立財務顧問或其他專業顧問。

    由於本網站內容經過簡化,所載內容並不完整並屬於意見;文中的估計和預測具主觀性,如有更改,恕不另行通知,此等意見、估計及預測亦不保證會成真。實際營運結果及成果或存在重大差異。本網站內的資料、數字、聲明、分析、預測和其他資料乃根據我們在建立本網站時的知識狀態提供。本文所載的資訊從相信屬可靠之來源獲得。安盛投資香港有理由相信該等資訊為準確、完整及最新。在法律允許的最大範圍內,安盛投資香港、其關聯公司、董事、高級人員或僱員對第三方所提供的數據(包括該等數據的準確性)概不承擔任何責任。本文件並未載有足以支持作出投資決策的資訊。所提及的公司資料(如有)只供說明之用,並且不應被視作為投資建議或招攬。

    所有投資均涉及風險,包括損失資本。投資價值以及收益可升可跌,過往表現並不保證未來回報,投資者或會無法收回最初的投資金額。投資者不應僅根據本資料作出任何投資決定。 

    本網站列出的某些服務或不適用於零售投資者。

    本網站未經證監會審閱。© 2022年安盛投資管理公司。版權所有。

Access to decent housing and basic infrastructure – a social and financial opportunity

  • 14 January 2022 (7 min read)

Social investment and performance

If the coronavirus crisis has had one virtue, it is that of putting societal priorities into perspective. The health of individuals has been established as a non-negotiable value, states have attempted to preserve – as far as possible – the jobs and resources of individuals, and companies have sought to ensure the safety of their employees and the maintenance of their value chains.

The growing concern for environmental and social issues has found an accelerator in this pandemic, while the debate around individual and collective responsibility has helped shape the public and private response.

This period has also clarified the value proposition of responsible finance and its role in society. There are many sectors, topics and philosophies that have had to be reassessed – access to housing is a case in point. For an investor, it is possible to act with a double objective: To allocate capital for a financial return while having a positive and measurable impact on social issues.

The emergence of the middle class may benefit part of the real estate market

In the classic pyramid of human needs set out by the US psychologist Abraham Maslow, housing sits squarely in the first tier: A fundamental need and a significant part of any household budget. Even before the COVID-19 crisis, housing costs had risen substantially in countries belonging to the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development. This was especially so for renters, as the supply of affordable housing had failed to keep up with demand.

Finding affordable housing can be difficult, especially for people with low or unstable incomes, for young people, families with children and the elderly. This has required action. As an example, to prevent the middle classes from being forced to leave city centres, the German government is trying to put in place urban policies aimed at controlling or even capping the price of rents in certain areas of the country.

TAG Immobilien is a listed German real estate company operates in the low-rent segment that does not exceed €6 per square metre (m2). Owner of more than 90,000 residential properties in Germany, TAG Immobilien has, in our view, a stable growth profile and high occupancy rates. With revenues rising to €323m in 2020, the profits generated by the real estate company are reinvested in new projects, which allows it to develop in new markets, such as Poland.1 We consider the sector to be resilient and relatively lower risk, as well as retaining medium-term revaluation prospects.

In Japan, real estate prices are high. According to the World Bank, if the price of a house or an apartment exceeds four times the annual salary of an individual, then access to housing is considered unaffordable – in Japan, that ratio was 8.1 according to Tokyo Kantei2 , a Tokyo-based real estate market research firm. We think this offers a supportive environment for Katitas, a company specialising in the renovation and marketing of older properties at affordable prices. We believe this differentiated operator could take market share from more traditional property developers. These houses are generally intended for a segment of the population whose income or pension is no longer increasing and who therefore wish to adjust their expenses as closely as possible to their needs.

In the US, one prospect is Sun Communities, which aims to provide quality, low-cost housing in the southern and Midwest regions where the demographic outlook for low-income families and retirees remains favourable. Sun Communities is expanding its community of mobile homes and motorhomes across the country and is playing an important role in offering tenants and home buyers very affordable housing options.

  • In the case of a purchase, the cost of a mobile home represents about two times the median annual US salary, while a traditional house will cost about seven times the median salary.
  • In the case of a rental, Sun Communities claims a tenant of one of their mobile home could benefit from 25% more space and a price per m2 about 51% lower than for another traditional rental3 .

In emerging countries, our approach has been limited by an investment universe that does not yet fully meet the impact criteria that we have set for ourselves, with listed real estate companies often positioned in high-end segments.

To respond to this social issue of housing and to invest in real estate, our conviction is that we must focus more on the business models of companies than on the assets they own or market. Access to housing can therefore be a real driver of social progress and growth for companies that take these issues head on.

  • https://www.tag-ag.com/fileadmin/content/geschaeftsberichte/TAG-IR-GB2020_ENG_einseitig_geschuetzt.pdf
  • https://resources.realestate.co.jp/living/how-affordable-is-it-to-buy-a-home-in-japan-compared-to-other-countries/
  • Sun Communities, Investor Presentation, June 2021

Related Articles

Social

Division of labour

  • by Modupe Adegbembo
  • 29 April 2022 (5 min read)
Social

More accessible and effective health solutions: What is the social impact and economic potential?

  • by Anne Tolmunen
  • 14 January 2022 (5 min read)
Social

To exist financially is to exist socially. What are the potential investment opportunities?

  • by Anne Tolmunen
  • 14 January 2022 (5 min read)

    Disclaimer

    This document is for informational purposes only and does not constitute investment research or financial analysis relating to transactions in financial instruments as per MIF Directive (2014/65/EU), nor does it constitute on the part of AXA Investment Managers or its affiliated companies an offer to buy or sell any investments, products or services, and should not be considered as solicitation or investment, legal or tax advice, a recommendation for an investment strategy or a personalized recommendation to buy or sell securities.

    Due to its simplification, this document is partial and opinions, estimates and forecasts herein are subjective and subject to change without notice. There is no guarantee forecasts made will come to pass. Data, figures, declarations, analysis, predictions and other information in this document is provided based on our state of knowledge at the time of creation of this document. Whilst every care is taken, no representation or warranty (including liability towards third parties), express or implied, is made as to the accuracy, reliability or completeness of the information contained herein. Reliance upon information in this material is at the sole discretion of the recipient. This material does not contain sufficient information to support an investment decision.

    Disclaimer

    This website is published by AXA Investment Managers Asia Limited (“AXA IM HK”), an entity licensed by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (“SFC”), for general circulation and informational purposes only. It does not constitute investment research or financial analysis relating to transactions in financial instruments, nor does it constitute on the part of AXA Investment Managers or its affiliated companies an offer to buy, sell or enter into any transactions in respect of any investments, products or services, and should not be considered as solicitation or investment, legal, tax or any other advice, a recommendation for an investment strategy or a personalised recommendation to buy or sell securities under any applicable law or regulation. It has been prepared without taking into account the specific personal circumstances, investment objectives, financial situation, investment knowledge or particular needs of any particular person and may be subject to change at any time without notice. Offering may be made only on the basis of the information disclosed in the relevant offering documents. Please consult independent financial or other professional advisers if you are unsure about any information contained herein.

    Due to its simplification, this publication is partial and opinions, estimates and forecasts herein are subjective and subject to change without notice. There is no guarantee such opinions, estimates and forecasts made will come to pass. Actual results of operations and achievements may differ materially. Data, figures, declarations, analysis, predictions and other information in this publication is provided based on our state of knowledge at the time of creation of this publication. Information herein may be obtained from sources believed to be reliable. AXA IM HK has reasonable belief that such information is accurate, complete and up-to-date. To the maximum extent permitted by law, AXA IM HK, its affiliates, directors, officers or employees take no responsibility for the data provided by third party, including the accuracy of such data. This material does not contain sufficient information to support an investment decision. References to companies (if any) are for illustrative purposes only and should not be viewed as investment recommendations or solicitations.

    All investment involves risk, including the loss of capital. The value of investments and the income from them can fluctuate and that past performance is no guarantee of future returns, investors may not get back the amount originally invested. Investors should not make any investment decision based on this material alone. 

    Some of the services listed on this Website may not be available for offer to retail investors.

    This Website has not been reviewed by the SFC. © 2022 AXA Investment Managers. All rights reserved.