Investment Institute
CIO觀點

通脹重回哪年代?

  • 29 四月 2022 (7 分鐘閱讀)

假如說發達經濟體的物價和工資動態會在短短一年內回復到四十年前的水平,那將使人驚嘆不已吧。核心通脹和工資增長加快,某程度上對環球物價造成了第二輪衝擊,但要斷言我們將長期處於高通脹環境(即通脹率持續處於最少2%-4%或更高水平)則未免言之尚早。由於各個經濟體的結構有別,通脹表現將有所不同,彼此的差異可能擴大。如情況屬實,我們可預期貨幣和利率波動將會加劇。

通脹之年

根據超過12個月的數據顯示,美國核心個人消費平減指數高於2.0%。該指數向來是聯邦儲備局(聯儲局)偏好的通脹指標,中期目標為2.0%。1980年代以來,數據未曾達到現時的高位。從長時間的圖表看,目前通脹率似乎急升,但5年期平均水平仍只有2.1%。可以想像,通脹大升的主因是疫情肆虐及俄羅斯入侵烏克蘭,兩者均導致全球經濟錯位。誠然,我們無法斷定以上說法是否準確,但反過來想像一下,如果沒有疫情,普京沒有發動入侵,通脹仍會這樣高嗎?

制度有何對策?

假想推斷並不重要,現實就是通脹高企。眾多評論都圍繞著「制度」改變。制度是指有組織的系統以管理政治或經濟情況,但制度(貨幣政策)會否因應環境變化而永久改變仍言之尚早。如未來通脹上升,貨幣政策制度便需要由產生通脹,轉變為以降低通脹為目標。經濟學理論指出,如通脹是由經濟體邁向正產出差距所引致,補救措施便是把需求降至低於潛在水平。直接地說,就是低GDP增長和高失業率。因此,新制度理論的另一種說法是央行必須充分加息(及收緊整體貨幣環境),以達致低增長和高失業率。可是沒有人能保證,現時反映的利率高位足以達成此目標。

通脹蔓延全球

環顧全球,通脹上升。在經合組織的國家,平均消費物價通脹率已飆升至超過6%(2022年3月)。同時,國家之間的差異也慢慢擴大。差異程度雖不及1990年前,但數據上升反映了各國近期的通脹表現有別。我們仍然身處通脹環境,主要驅動因素屬全球性,並波及到所有國家。與1970至1980年代相比,現時各國的分散度仍然相對偏低(見下圖)。如情況持續,在環球物價(能源、供應短缺)影響減退時,整體通脹將回落至接近先前的區間。

圖1:發達經濟體的通脹升溫

Image

通脹迅速演變?

如認為所有國家會突然回復至更高的通脹動態,無疑是過度詮釋。畢竟,過去近二十年造成低通脹的所有原因——數碼化、零工經濟(勞動力減少)、人口結構、全球化——會否因為油價上漲而消失?現階段仍不足以下判斷,我們應該保持開放態度觀其變化。

通脹差異  息滙波動

然而,如全球通脹的主要組成部分價格上升及波動較大,各國的通脹表現可能出現更大差異。高通脹率可能在一些國家較頑固,而在另一些國家較受控,就如過去一樣。通脹表現的差異擴大,將影響貨幣走勢,即不同貨幣的利率差異將更大。管理通脹能力較弱的地區,為保持競爭力可能希望貨幣較為弱勢。英國可能是通脹較為頑固的經濟體(目前似乎如此,但我會觀望更多分析以支持或否定這一點)。如情況屬實,未來英鎊可能出現危機。

通脹取決於經濟行為

這問題主要取決於集體經濟行為。如集體行為傾向回復1970至1980年代的通脹動態,各個經濟體將出現更大差異,政策回應也會不同。債市以至股市表現之間的相關性可能降低。資產國際化和貨幣多元化,可能成為更重要的投資策略。實際利率與風險資產之間的負相關性亦可能再次出現。然而,如集體行為偏向1990年代初的情況,則通脹可能迅速返回2%-3%的常態。全球和國內競爭力將擔當主導,而數碼化和自動化將繼續令資金比勞動力更吸引。為了解我們步入的方向,未來需繼續留意核心通脹和工資的動向。

遠期實際利率

看看現時的利率和普遍通脹率,會讓人產生實際利率深陷負數的錯覺。我們應更理性地以前瞻角度看待金錢成本,以及商品和服務成本。如您在現時借貸,利率將適用於該信貸的未來成本,即利息支付來自未來收入。因此,您應該關注未來收入(價格)的變化。通脹率會否保持在8%?還是明年會回落?美國各銀行目前的優惠貸款利率為3.5%,現時普遍預期2023年第二季的通脹率為2.3%。在這種情況下,實際利率為正數。考慮到未來通脹,如實際利率開始轉為正數,我們應開始看到信貸和經濟增長在未來數月和數季放緩。

儲局趨鷹 美國固定收益更吸引

我們可以相同的邏輯,套用至固定收益投資嗎?現時的收益率(反映明年的回報率)只有在通脹下降時才具吸引力。根據現時的通脹預測,10年期國債的到期收益率處於正數區間,但英國和德國國債仍未達標。市場普遍預測美國的通脹率比歐洲更快回落,這支持了美元持續強勢,並偏好美國固定收益。高收益和信貸方面,美國市場的預期總回報,高於現時對明年的通脹預測。以債券而言,這並非壞事。

重回哪年代?情況未明 利率續升

話說回來,環球經濟前景從未曾同時遇到以下因素:疫情後迅速復甦、供應問題持續、歐洲戰爭以及大部分經濟活動需併棄過去兩個世紀長期依賴化石燃料的生態。所以如果通脹走向更高及更不穩定,實在不足為奇。至於通脹會否像1970至1980年代般成為常態仍屬未知之數,當時社會通過集體談判尋求工資增長,且盛行以指數化釐定物價。英國已有初步跡象出現超市價格戰,而科技顛覆肯定會為企業提供機會,提升價格競爭力。中國遲早會解決新冠疫情,因此供應可望恢復,運輸積壓將緩和,能源價格亦會下降。另一方面,央行需要正常化,其中一部分意味著所有資產類別的風險溢價增加。因此,投資者不應期望牛市很快便會重臨。

Related Articles

CIO觀點

熱浪來襲 市場漸見光明

  • by Chris Iggo
  • 22 七月 2022 (5 分鐘閱讀)
CIO觀點

債券終於錄得正面回報!

  • by Chris Iggo
  • 15 七月 2022 (7 分鐘閱讀)
CIO觀點

約翰遜黯然離任的啓示

  • by Chris Iggo
  • 08 七月 2022 (5 分鐘閱讀)

    免責聲明

    本網站由已獲香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會 (以下簡稱「證監會」) 發牌的安盛投資管理亞洲有限公司(以下簡稱「安盛投資香港」)發布,內容僅供一般傳閱及資料參考之用。按照任何適用的法律或法規,本網站並不構成與金融工具交易相關的投資研究或財務分析,也不構成安盛投資管理公司或其關聯公司作出買賣任何投資、產品或服務或進行任何相關交易的要約,並不應被視為招攬或投資、法律、稅務或任何其他建議、投資策略建議或買賣證券的個人化建議。本網站的編寫沒有考慮任何特定人士的具體情況、投資目標、財務狀況、投資知識或特殊需要,亦有可能會隨時更改而恕不另行通知。要約僅會按照相關發行文件中所披露的資料作出。如果閣下不肯定本網站所載任何資訊的含義,請諮詢獨立財務顧問或其他專業顧問。

    由於本網站內容經過簡化,所載內容並不完整並屬於意見;文中的估計和預測具主觀性,如有更改,恕不另行通知,此等意見、估計及預測亦不保證會成真。實際營運結果及成果或存在重大差異。本網站內的資料、數字、聲明、分析、預測和其他資料乃根據我們在建立本網站時的知識狀態提供。本文所載的資訊從相信屬可靠之來源獲得。安盛投資香港有理由相信該等資訊為準確、完整及最新。在法律允許的最大範圍內,安盛投資香港、其關聯公司、董事、高級人員或僱員對第三方所提供的數據(包括該等數據的準確性)概不承擔任何責任。本文件並未載有足以支持作出投資決策的資訊。所提及的公司資料(如有)只供說明之用,並且不應被視作為投資建議或招攬。

    所有投資均涉及風險,包括損失資本。投資價值以及收益可升可跌,過往表現並不保證未來回報,投資者或會無法收回最初的投資金額。投資者不應僅根據本資料作出任何投資決定。 

    本網站列出的某些服務或不適用於零售投資者。

    本網站未經證監會審閱。© 2022年安盛投資管理公司。版權所有。

Investment Institute
Viewpoint CIO

Back to which future?

  • 29 April 2022 (7 min read)

It would be extraordinary if advanced economies had reverted to the price and wage setting behaviours of forty years ago in the space of just one year. It is true that global price shocks have been followed by some second round effects as core inflation and wage growth is higher. But it is too early to say that we are permanently in a higher inflation environment (meaning inflation rates in a persistent range of at least 2%-4% or higher). Yet there could be more differentiation across economies as structural differences result in different inflation performances. If so, we should expect more currency and rate volatility. If, however, the default is the competitiveness and technology disruption of the last decade, inflation will fall back. In which case bond yields, at least in the US, don’t look too bad.

A year of inflation 

We have now had more than 12 months of data showing the US core personal consumption deflator being above 2.0%. The index has been the Federal Reserve’s (Fed) preferred measure of inflation and 2.0% has been its medium-term target. It has not been as high as it currently is since the 1980s. On a long-term time series chart, the current situation looks like a significant jump in the inflation rate, but the 5-year average is still just 2.1% and, conceivably, the spike in inflation could be largely related to the dislocations in the world economy caused by the pandemic and, more recently, the Russian invasion of Ukraine. The counter-factual is impossible to know but would inflation be this high if it wasn’t for COVID and Putin?

And the response is coming

The counter-factual doesn’t matter. The reality is that inflation is high. So, a lot of the commentary is around “regime” change. Regime suggests an organised system of managing a situation (political or economic) and it is perhaps too early to say whether the regime (monetary policy) is permanently changing in response to changed conditions. If inflation is going to be higher going forward, then the monetary policy regime has to change from one that was geared towards generating inflation to one that is geared towards collapsing inflation. Textbook economics would say that if inflation is now a result of economies moving into a positive output gap then the remedy is to bring demand down to below potential. Straight talking that means lower GDP growth and higher unemployment. So one adaption of the new regime thesis is that central banks have to raise rates enough (and tighten monetary conditions more generally) to achieve lower growth and higher unemployment. There is no guarantee that the current implied peak in interest rates is sufficient to do that.

Everywhere

Inflation is going up everywhere. Across OECD countries, the average consumer price inflation rate has jumped to above 6% (March 2022). At the same time, dispersion between countries is also slowly rising. Dispersion is not as high as it was pre-1990 but it has picked up, suggesting differentials in recent inflation performance across countries. So far we are still in an inflation condition where the principal drivers are global and impacting on all countries. Dispersion is still relatively low compared to the 1970s and 1980s (see Chart below). If that remains the case, then when global price influences subside (energy, supply shortages) overall inflation will move back down close to its previous range.

Chart1: Inflation rising in advanced economies

Image

Have things moved that quickly?

It would be a stretch to think that all countries had suddenly reverted to a higher inflation dynamic; a model whereby inflationary cost pressures are rapidly passed via second round effects to broader price and wage increases. It would be a stretch to think that institutional price/wage behaviour is moving simultaneously and quickly away from the low inflation regime of the last twenty years. Is it feasible that all the reasons that contributed to low inflation over the last two decades or so – digitalisation, the gig-economy (reduced labour power), demographics, globalisation – have disappeared in a puff of higher petrol prices? It is too early to say but it pays to keep an open mind even if you might be described as an inflation denier.

Differentiation would mean more FX and rate volatility

However, it is  plausible there will be more differentiation in the inflation performance of countries if the big global principal inflation components are higher and more volatile. Higher inflation rates could be more embedded in some countries and better managed in others – as has been the case in the past. Greater differentials in inflation performance would have implications for how currencies behave and would mean more significant interest rate differentials across currencies. Those less able to manage inflation might seek weaker currencies for competitive reasons. The UK could be an economy where inflation becomes more embedded (anecdotally that appears to be the case at the moment, but I will let more considered analysis support or disprove that). If so, a sterling crisis is on the cards at some point.

Back to which future?

Much depends on collective economic behaviour. If the collective trait is to revert to the inflation dynamics of the 1970s and 1980s then there will be more differentiation across economies and also different policy responses. This in turn would loosen correlations between bond markets and possibly equity market performance. International and currency diversification might become a more important investment strategy. It might also restore more of a negative correlation between real rates and risk assets. If, however, the collective behavioural trait is the one learned since the early 1990s, then inflation could quickly return to the 2%-3% norm. Global and domestic competitive forces would prevail while digitalisation and automation would continue to make capital more attractive than labour. In order to understand which way, we are going we need to continue to watch what happens with core inflation and wages.

Real rates forward 

Looking at today’s levels of interest rates and prevailing inflation rates gives the illusion that real interest rates are deeply negative. It is more rational is to look at both the cost of money and the cost of goods and services in a forward looking way. If you borrow money today then the interest rate applies to the cost of that credit going forward – interest payments come out of future income. So, what you should be concerned about is what happens to future income (prices). Is inflation going to remain at 8%? Or will it fall over the next year? The current prime lending rate at US banks is 3.5% and the current consensus inflation rate for Q2 2023 is 2.3%. So real rates are positive in this case. If real rates are already starting to be positive when considered against future inflation, then we should start to see credit and economic growth slowing in the months and quarters ahead.

US fixed income more attractive despite more hawkish Fed 

Can we apply the same logic to fixed income investing? Current yields – implying the rate of return over the next year – are only attractive if inflation is going to fall. On the basis of the current consensus inflation forecast, 10-year Treasury yields to maturity are in positive territory, but UK gilts and German bunds are not yet. The consensus forecasts are for US inflation to fall more quickly than in Europe, which supports the continued strength of the dollar and the preference for US fixed income. In high yield and credit, prospective total returns in the US market are higher than the current inflation forecast for the next year. It’s not all bad in bond land.

Gen-X’s or Grandparents’ inflation? We don’t know but rates are still going up

Having said all that, the global economic outlook has never before been shaped by the effects of a rapid recovery from a pandemic, ongoing supply issues, a European war and an existential need to shift the basis of most economic activity away from a two century-long dependence of fossil fuels. It would not be a surprise if inflation is going to be higher and more volatile. What is not clear is whether inflation becomes institutionalised as it was in the 1970s and 1980s when wage increases were sought by collective bargaining and when indexation was rife in price setting. In the UK there have been some early signs of a potential supermarket price war and disruptive technologies are surely going to provide opportunities for firms to seek price competitiveness. At some point China will have dealt with COVID so supply can resume, shipping backlogs will ease, and energy prices will come down. In the meantime, however, central banks need to normalize and part of that will mean higher risk premiums across all asset classes. So, don’t expect a return to bull markets soon.

Related Articles

Viewpoint CIO

Windmills of your mind

  • by Chris Iggo
  • 24 June 2022 (7 min read)
Viewpoint CIO

Introducing the AXA IM Investment Institute

  • by Chris Iggo
  • 10 June 2022 (7 min read)
Viewpoint CIO

Summer blooms or temporary displays?

  • by Chris Iggo
  • 27 May 2022 (7 min read)

    Disclaimer

    This website is published by AXA Investment Managers Asia Limited (“AXA IM HK”), an entity licensed by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (“SFC”), for general circulation and informational purposes only. It does not constitute investment research or financial analysis relating to transactions in financial instruments, nor does it constitute on the part of AXA Investment Managers or its affiliated companies an offer to buy, sell or enter into any transactions in respect of any investments, products or services, and should not be considered as solicitation or investment, legal, tax or any other advice, a recommendation for an investment strategy or a personalised recommendation to buy or sell securities under any applicable law or regulation. It has been prepared without taking into account the specific personal circumstances, investment objectives, financial situation, investment knowledge or particular needs of any particular person and may be subject to change at any time without notice. Offering may be made only on the basis of the information disclosed in the relevant offering documents. Please consult independent financial or other professional advisers if you are unsure about any information contained herein.

    Due to its simplification, this publication is partial and opinions, estimates and forecasts herein are subjective and subject to change without notice. There is no guarantee such opinions, estimates and forecasts made will come to pass. Actual results of operations and achievements may differ materially. Data, figures, declarations, analysis, predictions and other information in this publication is provided based on our state of knowledge at the time of creation of this publication. Information herein may be obtained from sources believed to be reliable. AXA IM HK has reasonable belief that such information is accurate, complete and up-to-date. To the maximum extent permitted by law, AXA IM HK, its affiliates, directors, officers or employees take no responsibility for the data provided by third party, including the accuracy of such data. This material does not contain sufficient information to support an investment decision. References to companies (if any) are for illustrative purposes only and should not be viewed as investment recommendations or solicitations.

    All investment involves risk, including the loss of capital. The value of investments and the income from them can fluctuate and that past performance is no guarantee of future returns, investors may not get back the amount originally invested. Investors should not make any investment decision based on this material alone. 

    Some of the services listed on this Website may not be available for offer to retail investors.

    This Website has not been reviewed by the SFC. © 2022 AXA Investment Managers. All rights reserved.