Investment Institute
科技

探索元宇宙的投資機會

  • 22 三月 2022 (5 分鐘閱讀)

從置身虛擬世界中的沉浸式遊戲體驗,到為建立廠房機械建立數位模型,再到使用擴張實境(AR)來識別問題,元宇宙正在切實改變我們的生活和工作方式。

從娛樂和社交到在家辦公,以至在辦公室、工廠和倉庫工作,科技正日益融入日常生活。如果「Web 1.0」是將人與資訊聯絡起來,「Web 2.0」是透過由寬頻驅動的社交媒體革命將人們連結起來,元宇宙就是將人與人、地點和事物連結起來的「Web 3.0」。元宇宙允許個人以前所未有的方式在共用的線上空間中相互交流,進行工作、購物以及即時觀看音樂會等各種活動。

元宇宙已有一定規模,而且正在快速增長。研究估計,2020 年價值約 5000 億美元的元宇宙市場在 2022 年可能增長到 6850 億美元,到 2024 年,整個行業的規模或達近 8000 億美元。 年複合增長率約為 13%。

我們將整個元宇宙市場劃分為遊戲、社交、工作和賦能(enabling)四大領域,我們認為這四大領域將會提供具吸引力的長期投資機會。

元宇宙遊戲

遊戲可被視為元宇宙的第一塊基石,我們可以在其中找到一些最先進的沉浸式、大規模的體驗,該市場正在增長。

例如,虛擬實境和擴張實境現應用於遊戲以及工作許多方面,相關頭戴式顯示器的出貨量,預計將從 2021 年的 400 萬個增加到 2025 年的 4200 萬個,增幅達四倍多。1

Roblox 是元宇宙遊戲公司中的領先企業,平均每日活躍用戶近 5500 萬。在 2021 年,其年收入增長了 108%,達到 19 億美元。2 除允許人們玩和設計自己的遊戲外,Roblox 還與包括 Nike 在內的品牌建立了夥伴關係,玩家可購買品牌虛擬服裝和配飾來裝扮自己的人物。3 其他希望利用元宇宙建立品牌知名度的公司還包括奢侈服裝品牌 Gucci 和汽車厰商現代。4

為該等虛擬世界提供軟體的公司亦提供了潛在的投資機會。例如,Unity Software 是一款跨平臺遊戲引擎,去年有超過 200,000 款遊戲使用該平臺,這使其收入比 2020 年增長了 44%。5

該公司最近收購了多家企業,其中包括為《復仇者聯盟4:終局之戰》、《阿凡達》以及《哈比人》和《魔戒三部曲》等好萊塢大片製作視覺特效的公司 Weta Digital。6 我們相信 Unity 擁有構建日益複雜的元宇宙體驗的工具,同時它亦在工程、建築和航空航太等遊戲外的領域有所進展。

創造新的社交體驗

社交活動日益從線下走到線上,形成了元宇宙的基本支柱。隨著個人在尋求更多的聯網機會,我們預計該領域會獲得持續發展。Meta Platforms(原 Facebook)執行長馬克·祖克柏對打造元宇宙做出了重大承諾,並宣佈今年的資本支出為 290 - 340 億美元,包括對人工智慧和機器學習之投資,而去年該數字為 190 億美元。7 Meta 還宣佈了一項耗資 5000 萬美元的全球研究計劃,希望與夥伴組織合作,負責任地開發元宇宙。8

由於受眾熱衷於享受新的虛擬體驗,我們相信 Snap 是另一家有能力從元宇宙發展中受益的公司。該公司稱,在美國、英國、澳大利亞、法國和荷蘭,平均每天有 3.19 億活躍使用者使用 Snapchat 社交網路應用,佔 13 至 34 歲年齡段人群的 75% 以上。9 Snapchat不僅僅可用於與朋友聯絡,還允許使用者利用增強現實試穿服裝、試用美容品,在購買之前看清楚商品。10

未來工作之機會

元宇宙亦為未來的工作創造新模式,讓我們能夠更加身臨其境地合作和會面。我們可能會在辦公室或者員工在家辦公、在線上協作的混合辦公模式中看到這一點。

虛擬實境還有助我們在醫療保健等領域取得巨大進步。其中一例是醫療器械製造商 Penumbra。它為需要神經康復的患者建立了一個虛擬實境系統,患者可在完全沉浸的世界中完成治療,同時該系統還可用於錄取資料,以便訂造鍛煉計劃,幫助康復。11

元宇宙在工業上亦有應用。例如,軟體公司 Autodesk 致力於支援包括製造和工程在內的行業創建數位雙胞胎——真實物體的 3D 版本。這樣製作之原型有助使設計過程更具成本效益,提升效率和安全性,並促進更大創新。

另一個擁抱元宇宙的行業是房地產。Matterport 的平臺將現實生活空間轉化為數位模型,因此房地產經紀人可為潛在買家提供虛擬參觀房產的機會。Matterport 表示,這有助確保平均售價高出 4% 至 9%,並使買家參觀房產更加高效和方便。12 由於住宅房地產的競爭有限,我們認為 Matterport 是元宇宙中對真實世界數字版之需求增加的一大受益者。

賦能引擎是決定步伐之關鍵

這一切的背後是賦能引擎,例如半導體、網路基礎設施和使應用能夠運作的技術,以及數位支付公司和網路安全公司。賦能引擎將是支援元宇宙發展步伐的關鍵,包括可靠性、延遲性(資料傳輸速度)和頻寬。

我們相信,半導體公司 Nvidia 將在未來幾年有望成為該領域的重要參與者——其 Omniverse 平臺支援 3D 模擬和設計,並很可能成為元宇宙的基石。例如,Meta Platforms 正在 Nvidia 的系統上構建其人工智能「超級電腦」,該系統的一大功能是為多種語言的即時翻譯提供支援,以允許大量人員同時協作,無論是研究項目還是玩遊戲。13

潛在的長期投資主題

與任何長期增長主題一樣,我們相信隨著元宇宙的發展,涉足其中的公司必然有贏家和輸家。因此,我們認為股票篩選非常關鍵。

毫無疑問,元宇宙將繼續以我們甚至無法想像的方式影響我們的生活。無論是社交、遊戲、工作或行業,還是其他尚待開發之領域,我們相信元宇宙可以新的方式將人們聚集在一起——它如今只是剛剛嶄露頭角。我們相信,我們正處於一個長期趨勢的早期階段,它正在快速增長,涉及廣大的全球公司和潛在投資機遇。

文中所述公司僅作說明用途,不應被視為投資建議。

  • 6LOH5paZ5L6G5rqQ77yaIElEQywgQ3JlZGl0IFN1aXNzZQ==
  • Um9ibG94IC0gUm9ibG94IOeZvOS9iCAyMDIxIOW5tOesrOWbm+Wto+W6puWSjOWFqOW5tOiyoeWLmealree4vg==
  • TmlrZSDoiIcgUm9ibG94IOiBr+aJi+aJk+mAoOiZm+aTrOS4lueVjCBOaWtlbGFuZCAoPGEgaHJlZj0iY25iYy5jb20iPmNuYmMuY29tPC9hPik=
  • 6LWw6YCyIEd1Y2NpIOWSjCBSb2Jsb3gg55qE5YWo5paw6Jmb5pOs5LiW55WMIHwgVm9ndWUgQnVzaW5lc3M=
  • VW5pdHkgVGVjaG5vbG9naWVzIC0gVW5pdHkg55m85L2IIDIwMjEg5bm056ys5Zub5a2j5bqm5ZKM5YWo5bm06LKh5YuZ5qWt57i+
  • 5b2x54mH6ZuG6YymIHwgV2V0YSBEaWdpdGFsICg8YSBocmVmPSJ3ZXRhZnguY28ubnoiPndldGFmeC5jby5uejwvYT4p
  • IE1ldGEgLSBGYWNlYm9vayDnmbzkvYggMjAyMSDlubTnrKzkuInlraPluqbmpa3nuL4gKDxhIGhyZWY9ImZiLmNvbSI+ZmIuY29tPC9hPik=
  • 6LKg6LKs5Lu75Zyw5qeL5bu65YWD5a6H5a6ZIHwgTWV0YSAoPGEgaHJlZj0iZmIuY29tIj5mYi5jb208L2E+KQ==
  • U25hcCBJbmMuIC0g5oqV6LOH6ICF6Zec5L+C
  • U25hcCBJbmMuIOWuo+S9iOeCuiBTbmFwY2hhdHRlcuOAgeWFp+WuueWJteS9nOiAheWSjOS8gealreaOqOWHuuaWsOeahOWinuW8t+ePvuWvpuW3peWFt+WSjOebuOapn+mrlOmplyB8IEJ1c2luZXNzIFdpcmU=
  • 6Zec5pa85oiR5YCRIC0gUkVBTCBTeXN0ZW0=
  • M0Qg55u45qmf5ZKM6Jmb5pOs5peF6YGK5bmz6Ie6IC0gTWF0dGVycG9ydA==
  • TWV0YSDmlJzmiYsgTlZJRElBIOmWi+eZvOS6uuW3peaZuuaFp+i2hee0mumbu+iFpiB8IE5WSURJQSBCbG9n

Related Articles

科技

解說元宇宙:遊戲

  • by Pauline Llandric
  • 01 九月 2022 (5 分鐘閱讀)
科技

數碼經濟:在2022年保持樂觀的原因

  • by AXA Investment Managers
  • 25 一月 2022 (5 分鐘閱讀)
科技

機械人行業繼續強勢增長

  • by Tom Riley
  • 12 一月 2022 (5 分鐘閱讀)

    免責聲明

    本網站由已獲香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會 (以下簡稱「證監會」) 發牌的安盛投資管理亞洲有限公司(以下簡稱「安盛投資香港」)發布,內容僅供一般傳閱及資料參考之用。按照任何適用的法律或法規,本網站並不構成與金融工具交易相關的投資研究或財務分析,也不構成安盛投資管理公司或其關聯公司作出買賣任何投資、產品或服務或進行任何相關交易的要約,並不應被視為招攬或投資、法律、稅務或任何其他建議、投資策略建議或買賣證券的個人化建議。本網站的編寫沒有考慮任何特定人士的具體情況、投資目標、財務狀況、投資知識或特殊需要,亦有可能會隨時更改而恕不另行通知。要約僅會按照相關發行文件中所披露的資料作出。如果閣下不肯定本網站所載任何資訊的含義,請諮詢獨立財務顧問或其他專業顧問。

    由於本網站內容經過簡化,所載內容並不完整並屬於意見;文中的估計和預測具主觀性,如有更改,恕不另行通知,此等意見、估計及預測亦不保證會成真。實際營運結果及成果或存在重大差異。本網站內的資料、數字、聲明、分析、預測和其他資料乃根據我們在建立本網站時的知識狀態提供。本文所載的資訊從相信屬可靠之來源獲得。安盛投資香港有理由相信該等資訊為準確、完整及最新。在法律允許的最大範圍內,安盛投資香港、其關聯公司、董事、高級人員或僱員對第三方所提供的數據(包括該等數據的準確性)概不承擔任何責任。本文件並未載有足以支持作出投資決策的資訊。所提及的公司資料(如有)只供說明之用,並且不應被視作為投資建議或招攬。

    所有投資均涉及風險,包括損失資本。投資價值以及收益可升可跌,過往表現並不保證未來回報,投資者或會無法收回最初的投資金額。投資者不應僅根據本資料作出任何投資決定。 

    本網站列出的某些服務或不適用於零售投資者。

    本網站未經證監會審閱。© 2022年安盛投資管理公司。版權所有。

Investment Institute
Technology

All across the metaverse: What is it and what investment opportunities does it present?

  • 22 March 2022 (5 min read)

From playing computer games set in virtual worlds, to building a digital model of a water treatment plant and using augmented reality to identify problems, the metaverse is truly changing the way we live and work.

Technology is increasingly being layered onto everyday life, from entertainment and socialising to working at home, in offices, factories and warehouses. If ‘web 1.0’ was about connecting people to information, and ‘web 2.0’ was about linking people via the social media revolution, powered by broadband, the metaverse is ‘web 3.0’ – connecting people to people, places and things. The metaverse allows individuals to interact with each other in shared online spaces, for example working, shopping or watching a concert in real time, in a way that has never been possible before.

The metaverse is already sizeable and growing at rapid pace. Research estimates the metaverse market, worth some $500bn in 2020, could grow to $685bn in 2022 – and the sector as a whole could reach nearly $800bn by 2024.1 That represents a compound annual growth rate of around 13%.

Across the metaverse, we have identified four main sectors - gaming, socialising, working and enabling - all of which we believe present potentially exciting long-term investment opportunities.

Metaverse gaming

Gaming can be considered as the first building block of the metaverse, where we can find some of the most advanced developments in immersive, large-scale experiences – and the market is growing.

For example, the number of virtual and augmented reality headsets shipped – used in gaming but also in many aspects of the world of work – is expected to more than quadruple from four million in 2021 to 42 million in 2025.2

Roblox is one of the leading metaverse gaming companies with almost 55 million average daily active users and in 2021 it increased its annual revenue by 108% to $1.9bn.3 As well as allowing people to both play and design their own games, Roblox has launched partnerships with brands including Nike, where players can purchase branded virtual clothing and accessories to dress their avatars.4 Other companies looking to use the metaverse to build brand awareness include luxury clothing label Gucci and car manufacturer Hyundai.5

There are also potential investment opportunities in the companies providing the software to power these virtual worlds. For example, Unity Software is a cross-platform gaming engine which was used by more than 200,000 games last year, helping grow its revenue by 44% from 2020.6   

It has acquired a number of firms recently including Weta Digital, the visual effects company behind a plethora of Hollywood blockbusters including Avengers: End Game and Avatar, as well as The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings trilogies.7 We believe Unity has the tools to build increasingly sophisticated metaverse experiences, while it is also making headway in sectors outside gaming, such as engineering, construction and aerospace.

Creating new social experiences

Socialising is taking place increasingly online and forms a fundamental pillar of the metaverse. We expect to see continued developments in this space as individuals seek greater opportunities to connect. Meta Platforms’ (formerly Facebook) chief executive Mark Zuckerberg has made a significant commitment to building the metaverse, and announced capital expenditure of $29bn to $34bn this year – compared to $19bn last year - including investing in artificial intelligence and machine learning.8 Meta has also announced a $50m global research programme working with partner organisations to ensure the metaverse is developed responsibly.9

With an audience keen to enjoy new virtual experiences, we believe that Snap is another company which is well positioned to benefit from the development of the metaverse. With an average of 319 million daily active users, over 75% of people aged 13 to 34 in the US, UK, Australia, France and the Netherlands use its Snapchat social networking app, according to the company.10 And it goes beyond simply connecting with friends - for example, users can try on clothing and beauty products using augmented reality, to see how something will look before they purchase.11

Opportunities for the future of work

The metaverse also brings exciting opportunities for the future of work, allowing us to collaborate and meet in a more immersive way. We are likely to see this in offices and hybrid working models where employees work from home and connect and collaborate online.

Virtual reality also allows great strides to be made in areas such as healthcare. One such example is medical device creator Penumbra. It built a virtual reality system for patients needing neurological rehabilitation where patients can complete their therapy in a fully immersive world, while the system also captures data and means exercises can be tailored to aid recovery.12

There are also applications in industry; for example, Autodesk is a software company supporting industries including manufacturing and engineering in creating digital twins - 3D versions of real objects. Such prototypes can help make the design process more cost-effective, efficient, safer, and allow even greater innovation.

Another sector that is embracing the metaverse is real estate. Matterport’s platform transforms real-life spaces into digital models, so estate agents can provide prospective homebuyers with virtual reality viewings of properties, which Matterport says secures an average of 4% to 9% higher sales price, as well as making viewings more efficient and convenient for the buyers.13 With limited competition in residential real estate, we view Matterport as one of the key beneficiaries from the increased demand for digital versions of the real world in the metaverse.

Enablers key to setting the pace

Behind all this sits the enablers – such as semiconductors, network infrastructure and the technologies that enable apps to run, as well as digital payment companies and cyber security firms. Enablers will be key to support the pace of development for the metaverse, including reliability, latency (how fast data can travel) and bandwidth.

We believe semiconductor company Nvidia is positioned to be a potentially important player in this space over the coming years – its Omniverse platform enables 3D simulation and design and is likely to be a building block of the metaverse. Meta Platforms, for example, is building its artificial intelligence ‘supercomputer’ on Nvidia’s systems, which aims to – among other things – power real-time translations from multiple languages to allow large groups of people to collaborate together, whether that is on a research project or playing a game.14

A potential long-term investment theme

As with any long-term growth theme, we believe there will be winners and losers among companies that are exposed to the metaverse, as the investment universe develops over time. As such, we believe that stock selection is crucial.

Without a doubt, the metaverse will continue to impact our lives, in ways that perhaps we can’t even imagine. Whether it is socialising, gaming, working or industry, or something else yet to be developed, we believe that the metaverse can bring people together in new ways – with the potential only just being tapped. We believe we are at the early stages of a long-term trend which is growing rapidly, addressing a broad range of global companies and potential investment opportunities.

  • U291cmNlOiBCbG9vbWJlcmcgSW50ZWxsaWdlbmNl
  • U291cmNlOiBJREMsIENyZWRpdCBTdWlzc2U=
  • Um9ibG94IC0gUm9ibG94IFJlcG9ydHMgRm91cnRoIFF1YXJ0ZXIgYW5kIEZ1bGwgWWVhciAyMDIxIEZpbmFuY2lhbCBSZXN1bHRz
  • TmlrZSB0ZWFtcyB1cCB3aXRoIFJvYmxveCB0byBjcmVhdGUgYSB2aXJ0dWFsIHdvcmxkIGNhbGxlZCBOaWtlbGFuZCAoY25iYy5jb20p
  • SW5zaWRlIEd1Y2NpIGFuZCBSb2Jsb3jigJlzIG5ldyB2aXJ0dWFsIHdvcmxkIHwgVm9ndWUgQnVzaW5lc3MgLyBIeXVuZGFpIE1vdG9yIHZpdGFsaXplcyBmdXR1cmUgbW9iaWxpdHkgaW4gUm9ibG94IE1ldGF2ZXJzZSBTcGFjZSwgSHl1bmRhaSBNb2JpbGl0eSBBZHZlbnR1cmU=
  • VW5pdHkgVGVjaG5vbG9naWVzIC0gVW5pdHkgQW5ub3VuY2VzIEZvdXJ0aCBRdWFydGVyIGFuZCBGdWxsIFllYXIgMjAyMSBGaW5hbmNpYWwgUmVzdWx0cw==
  • RmlsbW9ncmFwaHkgfCBXZXRhIERpZ2l0YWwgKHdldGFmeC5jby5ueik=
  • TWV0YSAtIEZhY2Vib29rIFJlcG9ydHMgVGhpcmQgUXVhcnRlciAyMDIxIFJlc3VsdHMgKGZiLmNvbSk=
  • QnVpbGRpbmcgdGhlIE1ldGF2ZXJzZSBSZXNwb25zaWJseSB8IE1ldGEgKGZiLmNvbSk=
  • U25hcCBJbmMuIC0gSW52ZXN0b3IgUmVsYXRpb25z
  • U25hcCBJbmMuIEFubm91bmNlcyBOZXcgQXVnbWVudGVkIFJlYWxpdHkgVG9vbHMgYW5kIENhbWVyYSBFeHBlcmllbmNlcyBmb3IgU25hcGNoYXR0ZXJzLCBDcmVhdG9ycywgYW5kIEJ1c2luZXNzZXMgfCBCdXNpbmVzcyBXaXJl
  • QWJvdXQgVXMgLSBSRUFMIFN5c3RlbQ==
  • M0QgQ2FtZXJhIGFuZCBWaXJ0dWFsIFRvdXIgUGxhdGZvcm0gLSBNYXR0ZXJwb3J0
  • TWV0YSBDb2xsYWJvcmF0ZXMgd2l0aCBOVklESUEgb24gQUkgUmVzZWFyY2ggU3VwZXJjb21wdXRlciB8IE5WSURJQSBCbG9n

Related Articles

Technology

Singles Day: What you need to know about the world’s biggest retail event

  • by AXA Investment Managers
  • 10 November 2022 (5 min read)
Technology

Metaverse Academy: Working

  • by Pauline Llandric
  • 20 October 2022 (5 min read)
Technology

Biotech: How strong tailwinds could support a growing opportunity set

  • by Linden Thomson , Peter Hughes
  • 19 October 2022 (7 min read)

    Disclaimer

    This website is published by AXA Investment Managers Asia Limited (“AXA IM HK”), an entity licensed by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong (“SFC”), for general circulation and informational purposes only. It does not constitute investment research or financial analysis relating to transactions in financial instruments, nor does it constitute on the part of AXA Investment Managers or its affiliated companies an offer to buy, sell or enter into any transactions in respect of any investments, products or services, and should not be considered as solicitation or investment, legal, tax or any other advice, a recommendation for an investment strategy or a personalised recommendation to buy or sell securities under any applicable law or regulation. It has been prepared without taking into account the specific personal circumstances, investment objectives, financial situation, investment knowledge or particular needs of any particular person and may be subject to change at any time without notice. Offering may be made only on the basis of the information disclosed in the relevant offering documents. Please consult independent financial or other professional advisers if you are unsure about any information contained herein.

    Due to its simplification, this publication is partial and opinions, estimates and forecasts herein are subjective and subject to change without notice. There is no guarantee such opinions, estimates and forecasts made will come to pass. Actual results of operations and achievements may differ materially. Data, figures, declarations, analysis, predictions and other information in this publication is provided based on our state of knowledge at the time of creation of this publication. Information herein may be obtained from sources believed to be reliable. AXA IM HK has reasonable belief that such information is accurate, complete and up-to-date. To the maximum extent permitted by law, AXA IM HK, its affiliates, directors, officers or employees take no responsibility for the data provided by third party, including the accuracy of such data. This material does not contain sufficient information to support an investment decision. References to companies (if any) are for illustrative purposes only and should not be viewed as investment recommendations or solicitations.

    All investment involves risk, including the loss of capital. The value of investments and the income from them can fluctuate and that past performance is no guarantee of future returns, investors may not get back the amount originally invested. Investors should not make any investment decision based on this material alone. 

    Some of the services listed on this Website may not be available for offer to retail investors.

    This Website has not been reviewed by the SFC. © 2022 AXA Investment Managers. All rights reserved.